We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky Caribbean beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“funky Caribbean beach hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The time-share apartments (#717 - 720) are big and convenient with everything you need; kitchen & appliances, fridge, micro wave etc. perfect for a stay with kids. The kids loved the pool, the big chess board, fitness area and Kralendijk at walking distance.
Do not expect a luxury resort, just a cozy friendly place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meesterkunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Meesterkunst,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    370
    139
    47
    23
See reviews for
152
343
47
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Went into the hotel on a day package for sunbathing and using the pool. For us it was a fabulous day, good beds, nice pool etc but I can understand the reviews about the place being tired and the staff were not exactly friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gribjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear gribjul,

Thank you for taking the time to review your day experience at our hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your time on our property and apologize for any issue you may have had with our staff. We promise you we are constantly working to improve and motivate our staff's commitment to guest service.

We hope to welcome you back to our beach and piers again in the future!

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was not happy with this resort. Both the property condition and the attitude of the staff were lacking. When we came to check in, no one said "hi" or "welcome" to us. We just stood there in front of the desk and waited while the 2 people behind the desk ignored us and worked with the one other person in line. After 5-10 minutes one of them finally looked up and said "Name?". No "hello" or anything. Very rude. Then they told us that it would be an hour til the room was ready. But we arrived at 4pm and the resort says check in time is 3pm. So that was irritating, especially combined with the lack of friendliness. The property has lots of little maintenance things that could be fixed (broken fixtures, torn lounge chairs, old peeling paint on buildings, etc.) but these seem to be simply ignored by the management. The maid did not clean the room very well. She made the bed but didn't change the sheets. Sometimes we got fresh towels but never a full set. There was dirt on the curtains, bed spreads, and kitchen appliances that was there when we arrived, and still there when we left. On the plus side, there were some good things too. The location is nice. You're a short walk to some great restaurants (we rarely ate at the resort) and the downtown shopping of Kralendijk. We had hamburgers and fries from the resort bar at lunch a few times and they were really good. So I rate this hotel a C- or D+.

Room Tip: Go to a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorianBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we continually strive to best serve our customers during their stay with us at Divi Flamingo. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible. And if you did this and our management team still let you down then I'm sorry for that.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you were able to return home with favorable memories of your stay on Bonaire.

Sincerely,

Hetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Started with over 2 hours late in getting room, not ready. Large turnover day, broken washing machine...not my problem. Arrived in plenty of time for a stress free vacation. This was a dive trip. Don't the dive shop and resort talk to each other? Finished check out diving Sunday and got to restaurant a bit after noon. Had to be back on the boat for afternoon dive at 1:30 pm. We sat for over 1 hour waiting for lunch. Had to stuff it down, then get ready for our first dive. Couldn't get a table large enough (put tables together) for dinner on Tues night (Taco night) and we had to eat alone at a separate table for 2 and not with our group. Not set up for groups at all. We thought there would be 2 restaurants to choose from for meals. Not so, many nights only 1 open ala carte. Good thing town was close. The sorry restaurant closed, only 1 open gas shortage..what! And the final was going to get a chair and read a book by the bar after afternoon dive. Only to find yellow and white striped towels or other colors on at least a dozen lounge chairs. NOT Divi towels. Turns out they allow, even when TOTALLY booked, cruise ship passengers to use the resort for $10. UMMMM think I paid for at least a chair! So had to go back to the room deck and read. Dive operation 5 star! Nice rooms, had ocean front. But way toooo many other issues, especially allowing cruise ship passengers on the property during a FULL week! Food was just ok, nothing special. Breakfast was the best. For sure too not for groups.

Room Tip: ocean view, lower level the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear RichRick,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry for the issues you encountered with your group's stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback as it will help us to know where we need to improve for the future. I promise you that we are committed to providing our groups with a high level of consistant service, and understand that during your stay, we failed you. We have identified where and how the issues you encountered took place and have performed corrective action and new procedures to avoid guests leaving our hotel feeling disatisfied. Please know that while all hotels and venus of Bonarie are welcoming our cruise ship guests to our beaches and facilities, we have since changed our procedure and are limiting our day passes to ensure that our hotel guests will always have a place to sit and relax anywhere on our property.

We apologize again for the lack of service and attention your received and hope that we can make it up to you and show you our true level of service on a future visit.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Basic accommodations were fine but the interactions with staff was consistently poor - just a general lack of professionalism that I believe is less about the individual employees and more about the expectations and training provided by management. Many opportunities were lost as well, such as service by poolside wherein additional revenues could be generated. Attitude toward guests is minimalist. Also, the hotel must provide a computer station/printer service for printing boarding passes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear RT Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Divi Flamingo. We appreciate your comments and are taking your suggestions very seriously. We appologize for the lack of service and professionalism you encountered and promise that we are working to correct this issue. We hope for an opportunity to change your opinion of our service and quality of staff including our management.

I welcome you to contact me directly should you wish to return to Bonaire and Divi Flamingo Beach Resort. It would be my pleasure to ensure that your stay with us represents our mission of providing our guests with an excellent hotel and service experience.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire
flam.admin@diviflamingo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Once again the Donkeys went to the lovely island of Bonaire. We always stay at Divi Resort. It is wonderful to see our old friends and make new ones every year. This year we meet the new property manager Hetty van den. Hetty has the place looking wonderful. She has made some subtle changes that really have made the flow of our trip better. Divi resort has made a large investment in a new boat. It is a great ride. But all of the improvements will not ever change what we go there for, the people. Surge’s dive operation is by far the best on the island. Our top shelf boat captain and dive master Maxx and new dive master Andew. He really has the special touch to make every dive fun. I cant finish a review of the resort without thanking our state side contact Bonnie Hanley, She always makes the process of getting the Donkeys booked fun and easy. That is a tough job. Thanks to all of the staff, we will see you in Oct

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear GregC,

As always it is our pleasure to host you and your group. From all the staff at Divi to you - Thank you for your continued loyal support of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time!!! Until then...

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Divi on a last minute time share trade.
Had a problem at check-in (fault of Divi headquarters, not the resort). Resort did a decent job resolving it. Front desk was efficient and friendly
Unit was decent size: sitting area, bedroom, kitchenette, small batbroom with shower, and screened in porch. The shower pressure was mediocre. The free wifi was inconsistent - very good to very poor. The unit was old and dated - in serious need of refurbishing.
Resort has a nice setting and location. Tropical with 2 swimming pools. It is on the water, but no sand beach. There are a few wide piers with lounge chairs and tables. Steps on the side of the piers make easy access to the calm water for swimming or snorkling.
The location is great. Walking distamce to town with shops and restaurants. It is very close to a small limited and "nasty" grocery store.
There are restaurants, a casino and dive shop on premises.
With refurbished rooms definitely in the 4 to 5 star category.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear RScharfer9,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We are currently using a preventative maintenance program and have special key projects planned for low season to update and renovate our rooms. Please also know that we were having some issues with our WIFI system during the timeperiod of your stay, however those issues have been resolved with our internet provider and we have been enjoying trouble free internet ever since.

Thank you for your staying with us. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Administrative Assistant
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
53 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#4 of 21 in Kralendijk
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Property: Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing