We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great snorkeling and diving options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Warm welcome at reception, very friendly staff. Good breakfastbuffet, Service bit slow, lunch Restaurant offers very good food, nice beach bar. Free wifi. Snorkeling possibilities right in front of the resort!!! A variety of boat excursions to Klein Bonaire (a must!!!!). It is only a 5 minute walk to Kralendijk downtown with a lot of great restaurants and bars. To explore this wonderful island a car is very helpful, for slagbaai national park 4wheel drive is required. Resort needs a little bit of renovation, but we loved it!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms at Second floor Beach front side
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moxypeppercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing our hotel during your trip to Bonaire. We are so happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and hope we see you again very soon. As you may have already read, we will be starting our renovation this August.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The resort is fairly typical for Caribbean travel that isn't a 4 star hotel. We spent the first couple of days with no hot water, but as the weather was hot didn't really mind it. Also the walls are pretty thin, so our neighbors television at 3 am was almost loud enough for us to listen to the show.

We go there for the on-site dive shop and shore diving at Calabas reef. The food on-site is decent, not gourmet. It's close to town and some really good restaurants. The reef had a few more lionfish than I would have liked to see, but they are trying to hunt them and keep the population down. It's a lot better than other islands, we've been too. We do love the ease of diving from the boat dock with the dive lockers right there.

The thing that annoyed me was that we booked the reservation for 2 couples on one credit card and the other couple used another credit card to settle the bill for the in-house charges that they made. The check-out clerk made a mistake and didn't charge them for the full bill, and that afternoon we received an email that they charged the difference to my credit card that made the original reservation. So beware that if they make a mistake, they will charge you and won't pay attention to what credit card you used or wait to confirm the charges with you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Debi,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Divi. We are very happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and thank you for all of your comments. We have since fixed the issue with the hot water in all of our buildings, and I am sorry this was not complete prior to your stay with us.
We understand that the issue with the credit card charge must have been very frustrating, and we apologize for the inconvenience of the issue. We as a hotel will investigate and correct any issue with billing or charges that may happen to our guests.

Debi, thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. We hope you will return again in the future.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in the timeshare section with a mini kitchen, the room was clean, nice screened in deck, dive shop right on site. Two restaurants on site that alternate open times, service at the restaurants can be a little slow especially at lunch time so if you need to catch a dive boat you may want to let them know as soon as you get there or go elsewhere, but the food is excellent. They have a great happy hour at the bar which many locals show up at and again the service is typical " island time" they spend a lot of time talking with each other and the locals even when its not busy.
Parking at night ( after 6Pm) in the lots can be difficult do to the locals coming to the casino & happy hour, there are no "hotel guest" reserved spots. The pool at the timeshare section has local kids sneaking in daily to use it but they seem pretty respectful and did not seem to be a problem, they do have security that monitors this but one in particular was too busy looking and talking on his phone than actually doing his job. WiFI was free this trip which was a nice surprise and was available all over the resort. Not sure what bugs are out during this time of year but if you are going around the June / July timeframe bring some really good bug spray!
There is also a meal plan available which we purchased this time for both restaurants on property and seemed well worth it, this must be purchased in advance of your arrival.
The dive shop is first rate and have very roomy boats for your boat dives, hand carts to bring your tanks to your car for shore diving and there is a gate close to the dive shop that you can bring your car around to save you some lugging of tanks and gear. The lockers are large and the rinse tanks are large and frequently changed, the house reef is a great dive any time of day and you can spend some time right under the dock looking for little critters.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Bill,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and value your comments and suggestions. We hope to welcome you back again soon and invite you to contact us directly for meal plan packages etc. We do offer a pre-order lunch at breakfast, which is a favorite of our divers who want to eat lunch quickly. We promise you that we would remove all mosquitoes from the property if we could, but until then we do offer bug spray at the Front Desk for anyone who needs it.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My return visit found the diving to be fantastic..dive operation well run, boats roomy, dive guides first rate! Serge runs a top notch operation! Docks and lockers are convenient and easy to reach.
The resort is in need of updates and sprucing up! WiFi this year available at no extra cost.....was a pleasant surprise! Food service was slow and lacking at times! Dinner one night was a good 2 1/2 hour event at the Chibi Chibi with terrible service......but the food was good! Food at the Calabas was average for the most part, with one lunch buffet that looked like leftovers! Our first night we had no hot water, when a hot shower would have really felt good, but it was hot the rest of the week after complaining.
The resort is located close to town...an easy walk! Many great restaurants close by.
I know the new manager has only been there a few weeks, so I am hoping things will change! I sure would like to see the resort match the top notch dive operation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Gayla,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We are so happy you were pleased with our Dive Department and we thank you for your great comments regarding Serge's Operation. We are beginning our renovation in just a few weeks and as I hope your future visits with us will prove, the changes are all in the areas that needed them; including our bathrooms, rooms, grounds, restaurants and much more.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was traveling with a small group of divers for a return trip to Divi Flamingo Resort. We have been staying here since 1994, so we are quite familiar with the status of the rooms and amenities. The bonus this week was the wifi service. In the past, it was more of an aggravation. This year-no problems with the wifi.. Not so true about the hot water situation. At least half the days, there was no hot water. After several complaints in the morning, the afternoon maintenance man would look into the situation. the word was that there is an ongoing boiler issue that has been a problem for some time for our side of the resort. The last two days of our stay, we had plenty of hot water, 3 out of the first 4, we had none. The "cold" water is not intolerable, just not comfortable. The diving more than makes up for any shortfalls in the rooms. The food is excellent, and getting two managers rum parties was great. The Friday night band was a pleasure to listen to while enjoying those 2 for 1 drinks. Rofino and Max were outstanding divemasters, and we look forward to diving with them again next year. As well as a return stay at the Divi Flamingo resort. The view from our ocean front lanai is second to none. the king size bed was very comfortable. And the fish were everywhere, more than any of us remember.

Room Tip: ask for the ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Chuck,

Thank you for your review and your great comments about your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and are equally as thrilled that you are such loyal return guests of Bonaire and Divi. I am very sorry for the issues you encountered with the hot water during your stay. We are working on a solution for these issues, and I promise you that when you return the problem will have already been resolved.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our dive shop returned for another week of great diving, staying again at the Divi Flamingo. This is a basic dive resort, clean, with outstanding staff. The dive operation, Divi Dive, is superb, directed by Serge & they do a great job caring for the divers. The food is good, & the pasta night at the resort was tremendous & enjoyed by all 19 in our group. The rooms are clean, basic, & the support staff was very good. We look forward to returning to Divi Flamingo soon & enjoying the outstanding diving.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Divi Flamingo. We thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, Dive Operation, and quality of food.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a week a Divi Flamingo with large dive group. This is a very well managed dive resort with an excellent staff of professional dive instructors and dive masters. Boats are well maintained . Excellent shore diving from their dock ..esp for night dives. A short walk to downtown area for shopping. Just remember to set your watch to " Island Time " and relax and enjoy the relaxed and easy going atmosphere. Very enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisonH804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to Bonaire and your stay at Divi Flamingo. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: £112 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing