We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADA Dive Club Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The resort was very organized and made sure that all of the arrangements for my dive club happened as planned. We got a very complete orientation by Alvine on the first day at the dive shop and a dedicated boat and crew for the week. The breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful and the food at the Chibi restaurant was also very good and reasonable compared to most of the restaurants in town. They helped put together a barbeque party on our last day at a very reasonable cost which made out late day there very memorable. Overall, the dive operation run by Serge was excellent and the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: The rooms had good size refrigerators and the hotel is only a block from the BV Sunshine store which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Daryl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and truly enjoyed having you as guests of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our group of 8 lady divers and 2 snorklers spent last week at Divi Flamingo and had a great time. We had breakfast and lunch included in the package. Reception staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful.
ROOMS: We had an ocean view room which was literally on the edge of the surf, and was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the sea and killer sunsets. Two in our group had a studio looking out on one of the pools, which had the advantage of a screened-in porch, a sofa, 2 roomy closets, and a kitchen with a large fridge and gas stove. But it didn't have our spectacular view!

The dive operation is well-run by Manager Serge (who seems to always be there!). He was wise and helpful and went out of his way to help me with some equipment problems I had. Our Divemasters, Luis and Rood, were good underwater guides, informative about various Bonaire topics, and entertaining with their clever jibing each other. The scuba lockers are right on the dock which is so superior to most places where you have to lug your gear back to your room at the end of each dive day. The system for shore-diving is convenient too, with the tank -shack located in the parking lot so you can pull right up to it.

The breakfast buffet was good with omelet-pancake grill for make-to-order. The lunch is menu-order in the lovely colorful open air restaurant. The waitress staff is fine but we all were exasperated at how slow the kitchen was at producing our lunch orders. It was bad for divers who finished the morning dives at noon and only had an hour and a half to be back at the boat. Always had to rush to eat as it took so long to get food. When it finally arrived it was delicious. Try the ceviche which is a meal in itself.

This was my 4th dive trip to Bonaire, having stayed at Sanddollar, Buddy's, and Plaza. I will choose Divi Flaningo for my next trip. Proximity to town is an additional advantage. ALSO WIFI no problems.

Room Tip: Ocean front if view is most important, studios if you want a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Lynn,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and we are so thankful you will be back for your 5th visit to Bonaire. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff, restaurants, Wifi, rooms and Dive Operation. We are working on a new system with our restaurant and we hope by your next visit we can reduce the lunch wait time.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our 4th stay here, with the best dive operation we have ever encountered. Serge does an amazing job running the dive op, and the dive masters are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We always ask for Luis, and will add Enrique as well to our favorites. Everything is meticulously organized, and everyone is willing to go out of their way to exceed your expectations. We have travelled to many places to dive, this will always be our favorite spot, and we will return every year. It's like visiting old friends..... how nice to be remembered.
Resort location is perfect, easy stroll to restaurants and town, and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: the studio suites have a nice screened in patio, and supply a large refrigerator, micro/convection a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarbeach205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback and mentions of our Dive Operation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay!

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just came back from yet another great stay at the Divi Flamingo. Just on arriving you already feel welcome. The receptionstaff are very friendly and take their time for you. All the bright colours of the hotel make this so much fun to begin with. The room had its cosy balcony at the sea, fishes swam just beneath our feet..soooo relaxing. The hotel has two restaurants which served good food.
They remember your name after a days stay. The bar at the pier is a local meetingpoint and makes it easy to get to know other people. We just wanna come back. Thnx people

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterZandstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Pieter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your July stay. We truly appreciate all of you kind mentions of our Front Office Staff, colors, location, and food. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I decided to wait a little bit after our trip so I would let our experience sit and not just blast off something in reaction to our stay. We were very excited to go to Bonaire because of the great things we heard about the diving and we chose Divi on the recommendation of our dive shop in Denver. Let me say that the diving accomodations are awesome. We had excellent service from Serge and his diving staff and we couldn't ask for more. If we go back to Bonaire, we will dive at Divi but we won't stay there. I see some of the comments of nice rooms and amenities and there appears to be a definite difference between the time share suites and the regular rooms. Our travel agent booked us in a room down by the water and those rooms are in terrible condition. Moldy curtains, noisy air conditioners, broken clothesline meant to hang wet clothes in the bathroom, inoperative phone in the room. The grounds have also been neglected. The pool by our room was low, the "game" court, consisting of a big chess board which was kind of cool, had a shuffleboard area with some broken pieces and the shuffleboard area has missing or broken tiles. The workout room has some old and clunky pieces. Overall, it just doesn't have the impresison of a place that gets much attention. We found the food staff to be equally inattentive. There is an outdoor bar by the water (there is no beach) with some tables but the staff doesn't beleive they should serve the tables so you have to walk up to the bar. I understand we are talking about "tough problems" (I will take having to walk up to the bar in Bonaire over traffic on the way to work) but I do kind of expect someone will wait on tables set up by the bar. We got someone to reluctantly come over one or two of the days but one time, there were three people behind the bar, no one sitting at the bar, and no one would come over to get anyone's order. Again, somewhat indicative of the vibe given off by the place which is "we got you here, we don't have to do anything else." Loved the diving experience, extremely disappointed in everything else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank JJProchnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to read your review and hear of your experience while staying at our property. It would never be our intention to have any of our guests feel the way you did when you left and we are sincerely sorry for the poor impression we gave you during your stay. I am happy to speak directly with you, and ask you to please contact me directly regarding your stay and experience with us.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our Dive Operation and promise you we have taken all of your comments very seriously. Our hotel will be undergoing a renovation beginning this August that will focus on our overall appearance, grounds, restaurants, and rooms. Our phone system will be completely replaced and we have ordered a new shuffle board set as well.
The poor service you received at the bar is not acceptable and it is something that we are currently working to improve and make consistent.

I hope for the chance to speak with you directly and to welcome you back in the future. I know that we can do better, and I hope we the have the opportunity to give you a great experience in the future.

Thank you again for your comments, we truly appreciate them.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
admin@diviflamingo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the second time I lead a group dive trip to Bonaire. This year my group of 25 stayed at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort just south of the capital city of Kralendijk. Divi Flamingo is one of the oldest dive resorts on the island and is starting to show it's age, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The A/C worked great and we had a refrigerator (and TV!) in the room as well. The free Wi-Fi was a plus and worked great. I'm glad we got the deluxe guestrooms with the ocean view - the sunsets were great and the sound of the ocean at night can't be beat. The only thing I did not like about the room was the sewer smell in the bathroom....and the random woman pounding on the door asking if everything was okay. She wasn't our cleaning lady (maybe a housekeeping manager??), but it happened a few times where she would pound on our door and very loudly ask if everything was okay. Taking a nap here!! LOL

The resort grounds were spacious but in need of TLC. There were weeds everywhere and a general unkempt look about the property. In the entire week, other than setting out a sprinkler, I never saw anyone doing any landscaping. With a little effort, the grounds could be amazing. The same goes for general repair and upkeep around the resort. Again, with regular daily maintenance, the resort could be beautiful, instead of just okay. Fix things as soon as they need fixing; clean things as soon as they need cleaning.

The resort location is fantastic, within walking distance of town and right on the water, with dive sites easily accessible by boat. Our package included a daily buffet breakfast, though I got a little tired of the same menu by mid-week. We were on our own for lunch and dinner, but there many restaurant choices on the island (my favorite was the Unbelievable Restaurant) and a couple of warehouse grocery stores to stock up on snacks. Many of us paid ahead for the themed buffet dinners - they have pasta night, taco night and BBQ night. It's worth upgrading for the price...although next time, I'll skip the taco dinner, which was bland. The other two dinners were great and it was nice not to have to go into town to find dinner.

The highlight of this resort is their well-organized dive shop. Not only was dive shop manager, Serge, well-prepared for our group, but he stayed on top of every detail throughout the week, including assisting my divers with equipment issues. Our dive group was put on one boat, which was a little crowded...with only one divemaster and a captain. They took turns diving with us, but we only had one divemaster in the water with us at a time. For as large a group as we had, I felt the diver to divemaster ratio was too high. Luckily most of us were experienced divers and felt comfortable diving independently.

Many of our divers took advantage of the easy and convenient diving from the resort dock for day and night diving. Several divers loaded up tanks (available 24/7) in rental trucks to explore the famous Bonaire shore-diving, but I think the general consensus was that shore-diving is a lot of work and can be challenging even in Bonaire. Boat dives were easy with little or no current. I found the underwater vegetation to be very healthy, with an abundance of macro marine life and schools of colorful fish. Large pelagics are rare in Bonaire. The biggest fish of the week was the tarpon - plentiful during the night dive. It's a little shocking to have a 4-foot tarpon sidle up beside you, waiting for you to shine your light on his evening meal. We did our night dives right off the resort dock. The easy access to tanks and dockside lockers made night dives very convenient.

This resort definitely caters to divers and snorkelers. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is not it. There is not much in the way of dining and nightly entertainment, unless you like to gamble (they have an on-site casino). Let's face it, most people who go to Bonaire go for the diving...but divers appreciate clean and well-maintained resorts too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank titademaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your group's stay at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and thank you for all of your comments. We have mentioned it before, however I would like to note that we will be beginning our renovation in just a few weeks. We have listened to the feedback we have received; and the scope of the upgrade is specific to the things that we know we need to address from our guest's comments such as yours.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your group back again in the near future; and we look forward to showing you all of our positive changes that you have helped to happen.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great diving, friendly staff, great food. Convenient to town and shopping. Great rooms and amenities, room had full kitchen and screened porch. free wireless internet. Great breakfast buffet was included in our package.

Room Tip: studio rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Micheal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your comments! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Hilgers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,095 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: £116 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing