We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not go here.”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Been here several years ago for a diving medicine conference, back for the same thing this past week. The rooms have been redone, the "Grand Suites" were nicely done but have the typical weird quirks of a tiny Caribbean country. Can't shut the door without slamming it really hard, a/c just can't keep up, door locks are UNDER the doorknobs, Broken stair nosings, etc. Only two glasses in the room, no coasters to protect the brand new furniture, not one single drawer in the entire room - shelves only. Lots of furniture but no drawers. We had the all-inclusive plan where we wore a red hospital-style bracelet (which I found extremely annoying) and never had to pay or sign for any food or beverages. You can seriously die of old age getting served. Seriously. 1/2 hour between ordering and receiving food. Even when there are only 3 or 4 people in the restaurant. We almost left the dinner table to go to bed last night because it took 45 minutes to get dessert. Bugs are horrid -- these are not just mosquitos, noseeums leave purple/red welts that will itch for weeks after. We were first attacked checking in at 10:30pm. The reefs are very damaged around the island. A fair amount of fish, not much else. The dive people were in a rush to get us on the boat, in the water, out, back in the water and back to the resort. So they could go do things. Food is edible, barely. Key lime pie and tiramisu are fabulous. Tosti is the best - ham and cheese panini. Had a cheese burger that was dry as sawdust. Excellent french fries. You can order off the menu or do the buffet. Buffet is typical cheap food, lots of starches, bare minimum veggies. They insist on tiny little glasses for Coke and other drinks. Like 6 ounces. So the bartenders spend all their time making drinks over and over and over. There was one guy who parked himself at the beach bar for hours every afternoon puffing on a stinking stogie. The cigarette addicts are bad enough, but Mr. Cigar was impossible to get away from. He insisted on sitting upwind from everyone. If you have never been there, Bonaire really has nothing to recommend it. It's hot, humid, buggy, no scenery, piles of garbage everywhere. All of the staff were very nice but slightly incompetent - we had a private dive boat, we had 8 divers, 8 other people claim they were told by resort staff that they were on our boat and got pissy when we told them it was a private boat. Shopping is tourist junk or expensive jewelry. They have a program where you get a $5 credit for every day you do not use maid service. HOWEVER, there is no place at the resort to spend it if you are on the all-inclusive plan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojosail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation at Plaza Resort Bonaire. I would like to apologize for the experience that you have had with us and we didn't meet your expectations, we take note of your comments in order to satisfy the necessities of the guest.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    352
    179
    91
    68
See reviews for
172
388
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at the Plaza 5 years ago and found it to be very nice. I read some reviews written over the past 2 years and read about its decline. I stayed there last week (Yes the diving is terrific) and was very happy to see that the resort looked very good. The rooms were recently updated and very nice. The big thing is even the Jr. Suites are very spacious. There is plenty of room for you and your dive gear. The housekeeping staff also was terrific, as the rooms were kept cleaner than anywhere I have stayed in the Caribbean. My room was cleaner than many I have had at good hotels stateside.

We had an all-inclusive package and found the food to be good but nothing exceptional. I was not expecting fine dining but was pleased with what we received and certainly more than enough to eat. The dining service can use a little kick or maybe a few more bodies. Service was a little slow.

The bar however was very friendly and efficient. They were working hard and keeping the folks happy. The appetizers that appeared during happy hour were also a nice surprise.

Toucan diving: We were on Peter’s boat for the week and were treated very well topside as well as underwater. Very open to doing your own dive or following around and seeing many hidden treasures pointed out. He even brought some smoked Lion fish for us to try. A very tasty surprise. They could use some larger lockers for your gear dockside. The dive shop was very god and reasonably priced on a few repairs we needed during the week.

We were told by staff that the hotel had changes owners over a year ago and he is revitalizing the resort. They are delivering on that and certainly should be high on your list for places to stay in Bonaire.

Room Tip: Save some money and stay in aJr Suite They are very large. Ocean or Lagoon is personal choice. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I just returned from the Plaza resort for a week's stay Oct. 5-13th. The room was available right away as our flight arrived at 5:30 am, so that was wonderful.
I dived all week with Toucan divers on the premises. They are very professional, friendly and helpful. All of the dives were 60 minutes.
The food at Tipsy Seagull is fantastic. We ate there every night, so did not eat off the buffet dinner except at breakfast and lunch. We had the all- inclusive, which I would highly recommend.
You're allowed a $36 credit for dinner at Tipsey Seagull, which easily covers the meal. All drinks are included.
The pool is beautiful , and the diving is great. For the price, I believe the Plaza Resort is a very good choice. I will definitely choose to stay here again when I return to Bonaire.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenKuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and it is our pleasure to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the tail end of our honeymoon. We had an ocean view grand suite which was very nice. The layout was a little odd, very modern in comparison to the rest of the hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon and stopped by the Banana Tree restaurant for lunch which wasn't very good at all. We decided to avoid all other eating options on the property. Beware, the beach is very very rocky here; invest in water shoes if you don't have any.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to your liking. We take our guest’s comments very seriously. I will take note about your suggestions in order to improve our day to day services and if there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito-Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We (wife and 12 years son) went to Bonaire for 2 weeks (July 1 to 14 -2012) and stayed at the Plaza Resort. The rooms are ok, the service is great, but the food could be better; the breakfast buffet was the same everyday and the choices were poor.
The shore diving is great from the hotel beach and you take the boats at the hotel dock.

Putting aside the food issue I highly recommend this hotel.

regards
Roberto

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms located closer to the boat docks at the back of the hotel, the mosquitoes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobowhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay at Plaza Resort Bonaire. I will take note about the issues that you mentioned in your report in order to improve our day to day services. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

my wife and i just returned from a week at the plaza (9-1-12 through 9-8-12). we really had a great time. the room was very nice (ocean front deluxe) and the food and service were excellent. we had a bit of an issue with the A/C, but they sent a maintenance person right over and they got it going. the food at the Tipsy Seagull was first rate, and the buffet at the banana tree was great too. my wife taught the bartender how to make a cosmo, so she was set for the week. the only bad thing there are the mosquitos, and you can't hold the plaza responsible for those...just take plenty of OFF...and they even have that at the restaurants and bar if you forget! the diving was really fantastic. very easy and the reefs are beautiful. we saw eels,turtles, tarpon and manata rays right at the 18 palms dive which is the home reef for the plaza. we made 11 boat dives with Peter and Herman on the Golden Eye. they took good care of us and made sure to point out some frog fish and sea horses. all in all a great week and we would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you have had such a fantastic time during your vacation here with us. We are grateful for your comments about our facilities,restaurants,room and staff as we work continuously to make our guests vacation memorable.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to your visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My daughter Lesley and I have traveled all over the world, but we had never been to the Caribbean so we gave the Plaza Resort Bonaire and snorkeling a try. I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before we booked or I might have had second thoughts, but we had a wonderful time and we did not experience any of the "challenges" noted by other reviewers. In fact, we plan on going again next year with additional people and again doing the "everything included" (resort, food, drinks, car, etc.) package.

Our room was nice and big. The views, the balcony with private table, the AC, the cleanliness, were all great. The beds were comfortable. And best of all THE BATHTUB WAS FULL SIZED! Nothing irks me more than a postage size bathtub. The bathroom was spacious and lovely (marble countertops, double sink, toilet in a separate room, glass block shower, etc.). OK, the place isn't new and it's not on the same level as the Las Vegas Bellagio, but neither are the prices. And we came for the Caribbean experience not to sit in the hotel room!!!

We never used the pool as we did all of our swimming in the ocean, and we never went into the casino room, but people seemed to enjoy them. There were plenty of cabanas and lounge chairs on the beach. The outdoor restaurant was very good (best breakfast croissants ever and they were WARM!) and handy. I can't understand people complaining about it - one evening we had the buffet which included salad fixings (including toasted pine nuts, how often do you see that?), potatoes, rice, three kinds of shish kebabs (shrimp, chicken, and beef). and 5 star quality key lime pie. Another night they BBQ'd prime rib. And, hey, if the buffet theme wasn't to your liking you could order off a menu. The wait staff were very helpful and kept us in drinks. We had no complaints with the food whatsoever. Once we went to the resort's upscale restaurant, the Tipsy Seagull, and the food was incredible (try the cheese desert plate and the carpaccio) and believe it or not they took something like $40 bucks per person off the bill because we didn't eat at the free buffet. Wow.

We were thrilled to find that we could snorkel just off the resort's white coral beach - and less than 25 feet out we saw moray eels, cuttle fish, tarapin, parrot fish, an octopus, and a sea turtle. Because the snorkeling was so good so close to the building we even went out night snorkeling with flashlights without fear of getting lost.

I suppose people could complain that the walkways were dirty - but for crying out loud, there were hundreds of big iguanas and geckos and other lizards everywhere leaving poo presents all over the tile. The staff were constantly cleaning up after them - I'm certainly not going to fault the staff for not keeping up with the iguanas who probably outnumbered them 100 to one!

The bar on the beach was awesome. Very nice bartenders who knew their business and kept our glasses full of well-mixed drinks. Given that the drinks were included in the package deal I was surprised at how focused the staff were on keeping our glasses full and our evenings late.

Bottom line: we had a wonderful time and we are going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazaresortbonaire1, Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review and thank you for your positive comments. It was a great pleasure having you at the Plaza Resort Bonaire and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
579 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sorobon Beach & Wellness Resort
2.4 mi away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#4 of 21 in Kralendijk
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Bonaire

Property: Plaza Resort Bonaire
Address: J.A. Abraham Blvd 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort Bonaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoyment without limits, an all-inclusive vacation at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. This resort offers 126 spacious air conditioned oversized Suites, both Junior Suites and Grand Suites located either next to the Caribbean Sea or next to the marina laguna. Everything is included: from a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet in our restaurant with sea view to water sport activities, a diving school and a cozy beach bar. With the best beach on Bonaire and a beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing that will stop you from having a vacation to always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Resort Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Hotel Bonaire
Plaza Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Resort Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing