We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving!!!!”
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Dive
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great diving!!!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Dove Bonaire for the first time and had a blast! Stayed at the resort for a week. Prices were good, staff was helpful, dive tanks were plenty!! The vehicle that we used to drive around the island was dependable. Plenty spots to dive on from the shore, I felt it was more productive to dive from the shore vice using the boats. I highly recommend this resort and I will dive with them again. The room we stayed in was 3 bedrooms, very clean bathrooms, a/c's worked well in all bedrooms. Breakfast buffet was good, plenty of food and choices. Restaurant at resort was good. Grounds were well kept. Looking forward to going back, possibly February !! Martin...have the punch ready!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    289
    113
    52
    21
See reviews for
125
254
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bailey, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here with a group of divers from our home town. We arrived on the "red eye" and were taxied to the front desk around 4am. Out of the ten rooms reserved for our group, all rooms were ready for guests except for ours. The guest staying in our room did not check out until late afternoon, even AFTER the managment contacted them. Needless to say, I spent well over 36 hours in the same outfit with no sleep and no place to relax, I was NOT a happy camper. That being said, the rest of our stay was very nice. The food is decent, and the accomodations included breakfast daily. They are set up conveniently and the only issue with breakfast is the fact that the birds tend to land on your table if you get up and leave anything they might think is edible. We solved that issue by always having someone seated and the birds kept their distance.
Our room was comfortable enough. A typical tropical furnished room with clean bathroom and comfortable kitchen and living area. You could forgo eating out and save some money if you wanted to. We were in the end unit closest to the water near the pool and our room was in a great spot. The restaurant doesnt serve dinners every night of the week, so eating out and getting around is a necessity.. unless you cook your own food. I suggest you get the restaurant schedule upon arrival and plan accordingly. Also, purchase food when you can find it, fresh fruit only arrives with the ships and if the weather is bad and the ships do not port, you might be stuck with canned foods. Our rooms came with rental trucks and the shore diving was excellant. Having the truck gave us several options. But dont expect any "frills" from the rentals.(NO A/C and manual transmission) I also suggest not expecting to bring valuables in the vehicles unless you dont intend on parking anywhere. They will break into your vehicle if they suspect anything valuable inside, even out in the more remote areas. The pool was well kept, the grounds were pretty, and the staff was excellant. I look forward to staying there again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familygal845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We travelled to Buddy Dive in August 2013 with a scuba group from Spring Texas. I was the sole snorkeler and did not dive. We had a very large room with kitchen area and separate bedroom. The AC only works in the bedroom but it was very cold. The rest of the apartment was warm. We were on the first floor and enjoyed a nice patio and view. My husband, daughter and son in law all dived here with the dive group. I know they enjoyed themselves. They enjoyed diving right off the dock here for several night dives as it is clean and pristine. The dive shop was helpful and friendly. There is a breakfast included with fresh fruit, juice, coffee and omelets made to order. My only complaint here is that the breakfast room is not that big and all the divers are eating at the same time. We enjoyed the onsite restaurant for lunch and dinner as well as a restaurant on top that was very nice. Our group had trucks to use from the resort as well as tanks. The trucks are very beat up but perfect for hauling tanks and cruising the island. Although not luxurious by any means it was a good place for a dive trip. I enjoyed snorkeling right off the dock and there is a pool and area for chairs in the sand to enjoy the view. One additional comment is that for several days we had a gas odor in our room. Since we did not spend much time there we just put up with it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodlandsKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The land of Beer and Cheese
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

While I appreciate the many 5 star reviews, I think people need to take the amazing diving experiences out the rating and review the resort for what it truly is... Mediocre

The Bad:
When we arrived at 3pm (check in time) we had to wait for someone to check to see if our room was ready. After 15 minutes the woman returned and stated that she found us a room. We unloaded all of our suitcases and dive gear from our truck and took it to the room. When we got into the room we noticed a faint odor, and opened the bathroom door. A hefty waft of raw sewage nearly knocked us over. I initially thought we could air it out by opening the door to the patio, which was warped, but it didn't work. I returned to the front desk and they offered to place us in another room. The second room had a much better view, but still had issues. We had ants skittering around and the door to the patio couldn't be open unless you put your shoulder into it. Not wanting to waste anymore time, we dealt with the ants and the door.

As mentioned by others the resort needs a lot of work in most common areas. The roads were awful, the beach chairs had rips and the garden area needed love. Nothing better than to roll your ankle on a poorly lit walk at night... come on, put some effort into your upkeep.

Continuing on the same "we really don't care to maintain our resort" train, I was extremely happy we didn't rent a car from Buddy Dive. Their rates, especially with insurance, are too high and half the vehicles need to be take to the scrap yard.

Pricing at the dive shop was ridiculously high on some items... 4 pack of batteries were labeled $12.98! We were told by a staff member of another resort that offers much better pricing, if not better than your LDS (I verified this with two LDS)

The drive thru tank exchange was convenient, but never once did someone offer to help load or unload anyone's tanks (despite what their website states). More often than not the attendants were more concerned about their cell phones than much else. Also, check your tank pressure, as about 25% of the tanks I checked were under pressure, some by more than 1k!

The good:
We did enjoy the few meals we ate at the resort. The pizza at Ingredients was tasty, the drinks were poured well at the bar, and the Friday Night BBQ was very good. The waitstaff at both locations were friendly.

The diving area, rental desk, and gear room were great! It was immensely convenient to be able to store our wet gear in the gear room 24/7. The ability to pick up a tank at any time day or night to dive the house reef was awesome. Outside of Augusto the people were very helpful and cordial. We did do a 2-tank boat dive, but they maxed out the boat and it was a really tight fit for the amount of people doing the dive.

Next time I'll stay elsewhere and only use them for the diving and maybe a bite to eat after a dive on the house reef.

Room Tip: We stayed in 512, had one of the best views of the island. Only a 20 second walk to the diving area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom, 3 bath apartment for my daughter's birthday trip. Her friend from the UK joined us and we were all pleased. The diving is wonderful on Bonaire! The boat dives are terrific, although you ned to make sure you are really diligent with your check dive as they bring no extra equipment or weights. The dive staff are a joy! Thanks to Marco for recommending a dive shop on the island who helped me with some equipment issues their shop didn't have parts for, so my trip was even more enjoyable. The Friday night BBQ is fun, plentiful and well prepared. A huge thanks to the staff for sorting out a spa day and restaurant reservations for the big day! Yes, at times you really had to be on the ball to get signed up for boats but they often added additional boat dives when the regular boats filled up. Having the truck was really handy for shore dives and there were plentiful tanks always available. A ceiling fan in the living room or on the balcony would really help. there is no oven, although they do provide a convection oven/microwave. Bring mosquito repellant! I would recommend Buddy Dive and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stainedglasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Roads inside resort/parking lots are terrible (please no excuses because they were that way in '12 too), and upkeep of facilities is lacking. The place is becoming rundown. But biggest NO-NO was the fact that animal feces sat on pool deck near water the entire time we were guests. Resort personnel walked past it, completely ignoring it. Completely unacceptable and a return trip killer. (see attachments of roads and feces).

In open-air breakfast facility there were bugs, pigeons and other birds at your feet. In some cases bugs in food along buffet. Very mediocre fare. And at certain times a complete cluster of overcrowding.

From my perspective, Bonaire offers a first tier diving opportunity and experience. That's a major reason for going there. Buddy Dive, overall when you consider both positives and negatives, is a second tier, crap shoot. It might turn out good, but then again you might trip over animal scat.

Buddy Dive appeals to a possible guest because of its price and bargain, not its overall high quality of service and accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Got back this weekend first experience in Bonaire. I can honestly say the Dive Operation is upscale and ALWAYS ready to help. We brought our own equipment and ran into a few minor repairs in which Dive Buddy was there! We stayed in a second story apartment, it was hot in the afternoon there is only one air conditioner and it is in the bedroom. We had a brand new truck to drive for the week which was nice (I did see others not as lucky)..never had any problems. We cooked our own meals and the housekeeper provided us with detergent/scrub brush and kitchen towel. The internet was only accessible near the front desk I only tried to get on twice and did not have any problems downloading emails etc. The diving was grand. The Reef right off the dock is an excellent place to get wet and do your equipment check. We did 23 dives was there 7 days love the way the drive thru to pick up tanks is organized and the nitrox analyzer is attached along with the spg so you can test your tank and make sure it has a full amount of air/nitrox. While we were there we drove around and actually looked into other places and spoke to other people touring their operation and we found that Buddy Dive seemed to be the best for the buck and a lot easier for us to maneuver our equipment around. I cant complain that our microwave didn't work as I didn't say anything to them about it so we just used the stove to cook..You know old fashion way. The only other thing I would add is BRING YOUR BUG SPRAY... Mesquitos!!! And the cushions little bit weak in the padding..(we are not large people either) When we go back we will stay at Buddy Dive.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the drive thru. The compressor goes 24 hrs a day filling tanks at the drive thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Property: Buddy Dive
Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buddy Dive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing