We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location really does matter!”
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Dive
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Location really does matter!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I read dozens of reviews here on TA before deciding on Buddy Dive Resort. My husband and I chose Buddy Dive/Bonaire because of a timeshare exchange (and that we'd been wanting to go to Bonaire for years, so this was our first trip there). We decided to rent an additional week, and chose Buddy Dive for the convenience of not having to move. In all the numerous emails I had with very responsive and customer-oriented Reservations many months before our trip, we were assured that we would be able to stay in the same unit for the 2 weeks. Based on TA reviews, I sent a list of criteria, and found that timeshare is only in part of the property - the part that was previously a different resort.

When we decided on their dive and drive package, I learned that a "free" breakfast was part of the package. I asked why a breakfast, when a full kitchen is part of the unit. They said they could do the package without the breakfast. So we did, as we did not want that. So for all the people who mention the free breakfast, it's not!! By my calculations, you're paying more than $15 per person per day for that breakfast.

They knew that we'd be coming in on the early flight from Houston, and said it "usually" works out that people are able to get into their units early. Well, ours was occupied until noon, so we were able to get in only a bit early. We did get our truck (as part of their package) and got groceries early.

We LOVED our unit. Talking to others on the dive boats, I believe that the 2 sides are really different. We were in unit 511, and had a marvelous ocean view. A/C in both the living room and BR made it very comfortable, even too cold at times. The bathroom was very European modern, with 2 large sinks and a large shower. The only negative for the Bath is that there is frosted glass on the window, no curtains, so the sun comes in during the late afternoon and makes it a bit toasty.

Being on the second floor, the high soaring vaulted ceiling made it appear even more spacious. The kitchen was complete enough, though one day Housekeeping took the cutting board we had brought, thinking that it was theirs. (not even close to what they provide, which is why we travel with our own.) Fortunately they had it and returned it.

For the most part, it was very peaceful. The unit was right next to the "fancy" restaurant, and even that was OK for noise -- except for the Saturday evening before Christmas. They had a private party there, and it was extremely loud. If I would have been at home, I would have called the police. The party fortunately stopped promptly at 11:30 p.m.

The worst thing about Buddy Dive's property is the gigantic potholes throughout. (You'd think they could fix them! We were assured that that was on their list.) The wind makes outdoors dusty also, when dust is picked up from the graveled roads onsite.

The best thing would be the resort's location and friendliness of staff. On Christmas Housekeeping brought gifts for us! -- Buddy Dive tree ornaments. (we managed to get them home safely.)

I wrote a review of the dive operation as an attraction review, so I won't even mention the diving, except that some TA reviewers said to take dive gear back to your unit, with concerns about security. We were there the week before Christmas and Christmas week, a very busy time. We left our gear in their storage room, and didn't have (nor even hear of) any problems. Our truck was quite nice; it operated well, was comfortable, looked good (minimal dings and rust), and the AC kept us cool.

We settled up our bill the day before we left. I would advise anyone to do this. We had only 2 charges for the 2 weeks, so it was easy to see that someone had charged food from the restaurant to our room, over 3 days, in the middle of our stay. I said we never went to the restaurant; they showed me the receipts. I said that's not our signature. I had to go discuss it with the restaurant (Pool Bar) manager. I got the charges taken off, but it bothered my husband and me that apparently their procedures are not foolproof for charging to rooms.

My husband really enjoyed Happy Hour at the Pool Bar (he thought $3.75 for a Heineken was not a bad price). Every Friday they have a party, with popcorn (oh boy!) and punch - rum or nonalcoholic, and live music. As a timeshare resort "party," it was OK, but as just a resort, it was nice.

I always travel with cords to tie back curtains, and this is a good thing at Buddy Dive. Otherwise, you're missing out on some of the view and light.

Room Tip: Units 511, 512, 714, and 715 probably have the best ocean view and are away from the busy Pool Bar/R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ForReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    291
    113
    52
    21
See reviews for
127
254
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Buddy Dive Resort is beautiful. The rooms are great. There is either a patio or balcony for enjoyment as well as airing out dive equipment. The dive center is right on the piers along with rinse tanks, outdoor shower, boat dive sign-ups, equipment dry rooms, tank room and Nitrox analyzer. Giant stride off one of the piers or use one of the ladders. We always buy groceries in town and prepare many of our own lunches and dinners, but there is a fun beach bar/pool and two restaurants on site with excellent food. The resort is located midway between the dive sites on the calmer, western side of the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Buddy Dive Resort is the perfect set up for divers. Their house reef is located on one of the nicest reefs on the island. The dive shop, rental gear and storage room are just steps away from the water. Entries and exits are super easy with a sturdy set of stairs. For those new to diving or those needing a little extra attention, this is the perfect situation. They have several roomy dive boats for those wanting to do something other than shore dive. They provide rental trucks and have a drive thru tank station for grabbing tanks on the go. The island has the best shore diving in the world. The rooms are large, but plain. We were in a one-bedroom apartment. The bedroom was air conditioned, while the living/dining/kitchen area was comfortably cooled with a ceiling fan. There was a nice deck area off the back where we could sit outside and enjoy the views. A huge breakfast buffet was provided each morning with plenty of options, including an omelet station and waffles while you wait. The Pool Bar was open for lunch and dinner. Meals there were hit and miss. We found the lunches more consistent than the dinners. They also have a new, fancier restaurant that offers gourmet pizzas that are quite tasty. The best thing about Buddy's is that you can dive as much or as little as you want. The ocean is open 24/7 and tanks are always available!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedive90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

For our first "dive vacation" could not have chosen a better place to stay than Buddy Dive. Everything a new diver needs is there for you. We were able to arrange to complete our Advanced Open Water course, excursions for night and boat dives, and all the convenience of drive through air tanks.

The breakfast buffet is a great way to start the day - Thanks to Magda the morning chef! There's a nightly happy hour and a decent bar/restaurant in addition to the "upscale" restaurant on the grounds.

The house reef is one of the better shore dives on Bonaire. Also great at night.

The room we stayed at was more than adequate. Nice kitchen, bedroom, bathroom. The grounds are well kept and secured.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: John the camera guy is great. Use him.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A great spot to base your Bonaire dive experience. Staff are naturally friendly, no pompous attitudes, just down to the business of giving you the best opportunity to enjoy your diving. We did a drive and dive package and took advantage of the unlimited tanks for shore dives and threw in a few boat dives as the mood struck.We had a two bedroom apartment (couple and teenager) with nice relaxing lounge and patio and a kitchenette for those times when we didn't feel like eating out.The in house rental pickups are ideal and provide freedom instead of being stuck in one location. Buddy dive gets our vote each time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy and Julia ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A great location for diving. Dive Buddy reef at the resort or take one of the many dive boats to other reefs. Great free breakfast and a good restaurant at the resort. If you want it a bar in the restaurant. Don't drink and dive! A free vehicle to take your gear to shore entry dive sites or just to go to the store or see the island. Important to me is to stay in a pool side room, They are nicer, on the ground level and sit around the pool on your own space. I recommend you take your dive gear back to your room rather than leave it in the crowded wet storage area. Some gear moving and mix ups sometimes happen.

Room Tip: Pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca, USA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I and a buddy stayed at Buddy Dive resort for a week in mid-November. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a plan that included the room, 11 boat dives and unlimited shore diving with a rental pickup truck. The room was near the dive shop and restaurant, had air conditioning and an almost full kitchen (including utensils, pots and pans and dinnerware). Breakfast was included in our package and there was a good grocery store about 3 blocks away. The restaurant at the resort also had a very good and reasonably priced restaurant. The boat diving was was very well organised on a boat that was exceptionally well equipped and specialized for diving - I don't think I have ever been on such a good boat. The diving was great - nitrox included - very relaxed - almost no current and lots of fish and corals.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in Building 100 and it was very nice. Didn't look at any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Property: Buddy Dive
Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buddy Dive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing