We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buddy Dive
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BnBBonaire(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GOOOD Resort(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonrisa(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
401
307
116
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
307
116
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrive thruthe pool bar restaurantphoto centercamera shopthe reefsair stationtank pickupfree nitroxgreat divingrental truckfishone bedroom apartmentgrand caymanmanual transmissionbreakfast buffet isliving areaklein bonaire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were there for a week as part of a Dive Store trip in February and I don't quite know how to rate Buddy's. First, the good - The Dive Operation. The dive shop is run very well. Helpful and friendly staff. Love the drive through air/nitrox facility to pick up your tanks.
The average - The restaurant food. The food was average or even below average it never got better than that.
The not so good - The service at the hotel was a bit slow and could have been much better and the restaurant staff especially at lunch were incredibly slow to acknowledge us and take orders. It got a bit better after we talked to the manager. Evening waiters were better but service was inconsistent. The bad thing was that the experience off putting enough that our group will probably be looking at staying elsewhere the next time we come to Bonaire. In this age of competition for the tourist dollar you need to look at all aspects of your operation to stay competitive. Come on Buddy's, I challenge you to up your game because I want to go back there.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the water.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Buddy Dive Resort is a good place for scuba divers to stay. This place truly caters to the divers. The grounds are clean and the beach restaurant has a nice menu that should satisfy everyone.
Keep in mind that there is NO beach. The property is on the water but sits on a 15 foot cliff above it. There are stairs down to the dive shop and boat docks. While there are stairs from the docks into the water, they aren't really setup for swimmers or snorkelers. As for snorkeling, there are generally barren sand flats from the cliff out to the wall edge in waters from 6 to 30 feet deep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed in Buddy Dive Resort with my wife in January/February 2014. We had a great time in this Diver's Hotel and felt always welcome. Okay, if one does not dive, then it is probably not the right Destination, but then you would Need to go to another Island. We were absolute beginners in diving and did the OWD course here. So we did not rent a car and explored the other obviously nice places but also the Buddy house reef is a great experience and made it very enjoyable for us. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: we had room 704 which was a nice and large appartment with a newly renovated bath room. What might be a bit better is a room with a sheltered Veranda. in These rooms you have hangers outside to dry your dive gear/wet suit and sit outside under a shelter during mild evenings. There are also rooms on second floor with a terrace, but I think that ground floor rooms are more convenient.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aishteru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Resort - We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. The 2 upstairs bedrooms had individual bathrooms, while the downstairs room had only the main unit bathroom. The unit included a full size fridge, cook top, and combination microwave/convection oven. Air conditioning was only in the bedrooms. There were 3 patios, 2 upstairs for each bedroom and one for the main floor. It appeared that the bathrooms were recently remodeled; all had nice fixtures and showers (no tubs). The beds were ok, certainly good enough for tired divers - at least I didn't have any issues and I'm not aware any of our party did either. The main issue we had were with lights and the patio doors. Some of the lights were out and never did get changed even after we notified the main desk - which is staffed 24 hours. The patio doors handles were old and not very effective. The downstairs doors handles both fell off when I first opened the doors. The patio doors also shut easily with the wind and can lock someone outside - it happened. The decor was a little tired but not bad. The potholed roads, when we were there, had been filled with sand so it really wasn't an issue. Only went in the pool once and thought it was ok. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The trucks were beat up and rusted. It looked like our tailgate was held together with tar. Only one side connection held it on so we didn't trust it completely to sit on and "gear up". The bumpers were all rusted out and we tires were all bald. In fact we got a flat on our last day and could not drive through the park. One more reason to go back.

Dive operation - What can I say. It's GREAT. The diving is so easy on the house reef. My wife got certified while there and we did a number of dives on the house reef so she could get some great experience with little effort. Tanks were always plentiful and the staff tried to keep the rinse tanks clean with fresh water throughout the day. The Nitrox was pretty consistant, the drive up always around 33% and the dive shop tanks were always around 32%. The instructor for my wife's certification, Michiel, was fantastic; patient and thorough. He had only been there for about a month but was great. The entire staff all new that she was a new diver and encouraged and congratulated her. Jimmy, Batista, Mirjam, and all the staff were just wonderful. We did the 6 boat dive package and boat dives were easy and varied. They always asked where the boat wanted to go.

Overall - Buddy Dive is a nice place. A little dated in some places but for the ease of diving and the house reef, it's hard to beat. Mosquitos and sand fleas were troublesome.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first building in room 308. Stairs were steep and narrow. Might be tough for kids.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just got back from another 2 weeks in sunny Bonaire, N.A. Once again we spent the time at Buddy Dive where you east,sleep, and dive. Some of the dive instructors have left the company, which happens in the business. But the main guys are still there, Murph, Jimmie, Capt Sparrow,Ricarrdo,Danny and Mirjam. All the other instructors are also well trained, we just personally know these guys from pass trips. The room is still nice and clean, air conditioner worked well. We only ate once at the pool bar restaurant for the Friday BBQ pig roast. It was tender and juicy,lacked spices for my taste. The grounds need some updating and maintenance. Simple things would go a long way for visitors......replace broken loungers at the beach areas, replace broken bench, replace mats around dive shop area, the rental trunks need major overhaul. Their boats are cleaned every day after the last dive. they run on time and have cold water and watermelon for after the dives to get the salt taste out of your mouth. For the most part they have a good thing going......the staff is friendly and helpful from front desk, dive shop, housekeeping, bar staff. Would we recommend BDR to friends....yes, but know you are going for the diving and not a fancy resort. Thanks to everyone at BDR for a great vacation again.

Room Tip: Second floor for us so you can see the water
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews