We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buddy Dive
Nearby Hotels
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$386
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$498
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BnBBonaire(Kralendijk)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
398
307
116
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
307
116
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrive thruthe pool bar restaurantphoto centercamera shopthe reefsair stationtank pickupfree nitroxgreat divingrental truckfishone bedroom apartmentgrand caymanmanual transmissionbreakfast buffet isliving areaklein bonaire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is the third time we have gone to Bonaire to scuba dive. The boat dives are great! Free Nitrox and free diving right off the dock. There's even a staircase to get out of the water. You can see almost everything right off the Buddy Dive dock. Great place to do your night dive. The dive shop is great for the things you forgot to pack. They have a camera shop and you can even get photo lessons, right there. The resort is well groomed, with two swimming pools. We stayed in a quad room, with another couple. Two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, safe in each bedroom. The rooms are looking a bit worn, but not enough to make you wish you weren't there. This trip was the third time we stayed there. Truck rental, right on sight. Free wi-fi and my iPad even picked up the signal in our room. If shore diving is your bag, then you'll love the drive through to pick up tanks, and then drop them off at the same drive through. I don't shore dive as it can be difficult getting out at the end of the dive. Make sure you booties have good soles, because into and out of the water, requires you to walk over sharp coral that circles the island. We love Buddy Dive, and you will, too! Oh yeah, all rooms have TV, phone and AC.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, because if you go here to dive there is no drying shack, so you have to take all gear back to your room. Also, take a sturdy piece of long rope, so you can tie it between trees, as a clothes line for wetsuits, skins, bathing suits, etc.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omainer04270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been here in Bonaire now 5 days. They are always giving excuses why they didn't or wont do something. Yesterday me and a buddy paid to go to the sale pier for a night dive and it says 2 minimum.. Last I checked, 2 was 2....they cancelled because no one wanted to work that night... Really??? Paying customers at your location and you don't want to work??!! So they changed it for next night. This time we had 6, yes that's SIX on the dive. Arrive at location for the night dive and they said it was cancelled. Why I asked? there is a boat there. Well okay, that sucks, but that is the rules.. So, being the fact they have provided so many excuses already, I decided to go look for myself! Meeting was at 6pm, driving there takes 15-20min, start diving around 6:30-7 was the plan... Well I arrived at the pier at 6:30pm on the dot....And no boat to be found within 10 miles!!!! So yes people, they lied yet again. This organization is a joke and I would highly recommend using another dive operation there. They also never leave on time.... They have pretty much ruined our vacation now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Danno_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We rented a 1-bedroom unit at Buddy Dive Apr 12-19. we wanted to stay at a resort for 1 week, and then a condo for the other. I had read the reviews, so I knew what to expect. We were in unit 512 which had a beautiful view! The kitchen was good for us. No oven, counter-top stove. Good large fridge. The WiFI in the room was very spotty and worked best in the late evenings after the divers had gone to bed :) The patio door needs repair, and is very difficult to open & close! The restaurant (Ingredients) was very good, and reasonably priced There are screens with the patio doors, but they are ripped, so, are useless. A/C was in the bedroom AND the kitchen which surprised me.The resort is definitely a little in need of some TLC. There is no effort, it appears, put into the grounds at all, which was disappointing. The Lions Den side seemed quieter than the other side. Both pools are very small, but warm after being in the Sea for a few hours. Pool chairs are in very poor shape, with many ripped. We did not find the bed comfortable at all The Friday night BBQ was very good, and is a great deal at $21 pp for all-you-can-eat. We went both Fridays we were at Bonaire. My husband who is a solo diver was disappointed that there wasn't a solo sign-up board for off-shore diving. (only the boat dives.) So, his "unlimited shore diving" took a hit. We had no problems with the safe key/lock, but did find it inconvenient compared to having a regular combination safe. The daily maid service was nice for fresh linens, but they did not really "clean." If we were to go back to Bonaire, we probably wouldn't stay at Buddy Dive. I'd try to get an upper unit with a view at Eden Beach. It has a much more of a "resort" feel. Don's Habitat is another place I would look at, but it was too expensive for us. I'm glad I didn't book at the Plaza simply because the junior suites have a bad location, and the other units were out of our budget.

Room Tip: Upper level, but know there are a fair amount of steps. Lions Den side much cozier
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottagosumware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Buddy’s slogan is “eat, sleep, and dive” and they meet these requirements. I will divide this review of Buddy dive resort into these parts.
The resort, including food and bar, is nice. The pool bar is very nice with a friendly staff. It is an open air area overlooking the pool, Caribbean and Klein Bonaire. The food menu was limited but tasty. They had a BBQ buffet on Friday. Drink specials every night at happy hour (5-6). This was the general gathering location for divers before heading to dinner. The Ingredients restaurant is more upscale with a full menu.
We were in a 4 person condo (712). The condo has two bedrooms, each with an adjacent large bathroom. The beds were small single beds but comfortable. The condo had a central room with kitchenette, dining room table, couch and TV. There was plenty of room for 4 people. This is not luxurious, but more than met our basic needs for sleep and showering. We eat out every night, so I cannot comment on the kitchen.
You can rent a small pick-up truck at Buddy’s front desk and use this for shore diving. These trucks are older, rode hard, and have manual transmission. No GPS, backup camera, or electric anything. It does have a radio. Our truck always started and got us to the dive sites without problems. The trucks were left alone while diving and recommended to leave the windows down and doors unlocked. We only took some money and keys in the truck. I carried these in a small water-tight box clipped to by BCD. In hindsight, we never had a problem with anything missing, so this may be overkill.
The Diving section for Buddy resort is well run. They have lots of tanks available for pick-up and are constantly filling the empties. There are two diving section. The Drive thru is located near the resort entrance and is for picking up tanks for shore diving. There are wash tanks and gear storage area to clean your gear after your last dive. The dock/ harbor is the main area. The gear rental, dive shop, and classes are in this area. They also have tanks, gear storage, and wash tanks for diving the house reef and boat dives.
For those interested, and appropriately certified, you can rent double 80s and O2 pony bottles. FYI – these setups have DIN valves. You can also rent back plates and wings if you do not bring your own. We did several longer, deeper dives with this gear and had a great time. The reef on the other side of the Helma Hooker is fantastic.
If shore diving, you will need to take drinking water. We brought soft side water bottles with us and filled while getting new tanks. Buddy’s has fresh, cold water in coolers at several locations on the resort.
This was a diving get away with friends. If you are not a diver, there is not much to do. No white sand beaches with chairs and umbrellas or beautiful rain forest to explore. The island is basically a desert with all the interesting stuff under the sea.
Diving on Bonaire is great and lots of fun!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very good Dive resort. Check in is slow but not a big deal. Rooms are more than adequate with ample room, bedroom AC, and nice living area with efficiency for cooking. Balconies are useful for additional hanging of equipment. The dive set up is very good although a little dungeonous where you store equipment. The boat dives were really good led by their staff. The Buddy Reef is great and can be visited any time and worth several visits. Convenient for early AM or night dives. Salt Pier night dive was great. The breakfast was definitely worth getting up for each day. Enough variety to keep it fresh. The Bar restaurant is pretty good. Ingridients is a great looking restaurant but the food is average. If you want a good meal I would head into town. Or the pizza next door at Dons Habitat is great! Most restaurants on the island are really slow to serve so if your rushing to get dives in, don't dine out. Overall Buddy Dive is great for why we go there. I recommend it as a great Dive headquarters.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews