We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Duck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dutch Paradise”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This 5 bungalow resort just north of the capitol of bonaire provided easy access to the airport, great restaurants and many superb snorkeling sites accessible from the beach. Lots of privacy beautiful tropical plants, friendly and helpful owners. Car rental available through hotel along with excellent snorkeling guide made this a very easy and enjoyable vacation for us.

Room Tip: only 5 and all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
386
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We spent 8 days here for our honeymoon in October and could not have been happier with Bamboo Bali. Where to start? Continental changed our flight so we had to arrive a day earlier than planned - they did not even charge us for the additional night! Our cottage (Uluwatu) was beyond our expectations - it was so beautiful! It was our own private oasis for the week. We were so comfortable there! It was very clean and had everything we needed - fridge, cooking area, seating area....the porch was beautiful...it was so nicely decorated... just perfect. They had it all prepared for our arrival, complete with a bottle of champagne and an adorable hand-painted sign with our names above the cottage door. This is a family run place and they are ALL so kind, friendly, helpful and just the perfect hosts. You feel as though you are part of the family but they are not pushy...they leave you alone but are social and available whenever you need them. The place is impeccably landscaped and amazingly, the cottages are fairly close together but you feel as though you are isolated and private the way the trees and plants are arranged. There are beautiful plants, trees and flowers all over the property and at night the little white lights make it look like a dream. The place is within a locked compound so it's not like resorts where it is all open and anyone can walk in. You feel very secure. If you are looking for that big resort feel with action, restaurants, bars etc, then this is not the place for you. if you are looking for a wonderfully unique, tranquil, beautiful and relaxing oasis, with a personal feel, then this is most definitely the place for you. The price was unbelievably reasonable and it comes with a car!! This was one of the best parts about it. We were able to go all over the island and it came with our package. Where else do you find that??? Amazing. We are not divers, but they have everything you need there to store and rinse your equipment. The pool area was perfect - small but lovely and quiet. We spent a few days just hanging by the pool, using the jacuzzi and relaxing. They even have wireless internet. We could go on and on but in closing - Bamboo Bali is an absolute gem. We love the Bamboo Bali team and will be returning some day., for sure. Having been all over the island, there is NO other place we would stay in Bonaire. Thank you Bamboo Bali family for making our honeymoon so special!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Almost everything about Bamboo Bali is terrific. Sabastion and Arno couldn't be nicer or more helpful and the spa tubs are heaven after a long day diving. the only 2 drawbacks are that it is not on the water and in the Uluwatu cottage at least there is a fair amount of traffic noise. Neither of these would keep us from returning however. We highly recommend this hotel, for a laid back relaxed diving vacation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The owners at Bamboo went beyond my expectations with their very quiet, secluded and beautiful hotel. Everything we needed had been thought of. Including internet access.
The small pool was just what we wanted after a day in the sea. The rinse tank were always ready and in good order. When we needed a complex dinner reservation the whole family made a point of making sure we were able to succeed.
And yet like any truly brilliant hosts they were always invisible, yet available!
I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. I have seen the other options. Believe me.
Thanks again, Bamboo Bali!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlh872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently stayed a week on Bonaire at Bamboo Bali. I stay in hotels about thirty weeks out of the year and if you are a person who wants or expects a chain hotel experience this is probably not for you. The place is charming, quirky,comfortable and very relaxed and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome. There are only five cottages but the is so much lovingly tended greenery on site that you can just glimpse the other cottages from your porch. The outside areas are also decorated with many beautiful objects from Southeast Asia. Our cottage was lovingly decorated and when we arrived there was a painted driftwood sign with our names hanging over the door! There are 2 hot tubs, a feature my wife particularly liked as after a long snorkel she is sometimes cold getting out of the water. There is parking out front and rinse tanks, equipment hangers and outside showers for the divers and snorkelers. We took the snorkelers package and had four guided snorkels (one was a night snorkel) at seven different sites with Renee. Our room was air conditioned but management asks you to turn it off when you go out. it's located within an easy walk of both Captain Don's and Buddy Dive so food and drink is easily available there if you don't want to cook. You can also get in the water at Captain Don's and snorkel Clift, a good site with lots of coral and fish. Bamboo Bali is a true oasis -- we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3catinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I feel a bit divided writing a review about Bamboo Bali. For seven days in september I was happy there, and part of me wants to share that with other travellers, as well as pay rightfull homage for a great place. On the other hand, part of me is jealous and does not want to share this great place.
But I promised Anno that I would write a review, and since Bamboo Bali deserves every bit of praise it got here I´ll join my voice to the choir, even if somewhat reluctantly ("my precioussss").
Each cottage has a guestbook in which guests can leave their messages to the team and other guests. One of the former guests of the Ulwatu cottage (where I stayed) wrote that "Bamboo Bali is a labor of love". I am unable to summarize it better. And certainly, the love and dedication put to make Bamboo Bali a reality are evident in every detail and permeates through your state of mind.
The place is ideal for people in search of a tranquil retreat and everything there contributes to the tranquility. The cottages are beautifully decorated and complete, there was not anything that we found lacking. The landscaping is gorgeous, and an oasis of rainforest in the arid climate and vegetation of Bonaire. Back in the property are the pool and jacuzzis, good place to spend the early evening after a day of (intensive) shore diving.
Upon arrival Anno gave us a tour of the premises, and proceeded to explain the other arrangements for the diving pack we got. Bamboo Bali has teamed up with Bonaire Rent a Car (which arranged for our airport transfer from and to the airport) and Wannadive. This dive pack was worry free and of great value. Everybody involved was concerned (at least it felt like that) that we had a great time on the Island, which we most certainly did, and in no small part thanks to their efforts.
I think it is relevant for prospective guests that I make a comparison here. After our stay in Bonaire we went to Curaçao and there we stayed at the Hyatt. What a difference. The two are diametrically opposed experiences. Just to make it clear, my stay on the Hyatt Curaçao was NOT enjoyable. Not that the Hyatt is a bad place, but it certainly is not for me. Everything that I found great about Bamboo Bali was lacking in the Hyatt. Bamboo Bali is tranquil, the Hyatt is agitated, with guest and staff activity. Bamboo Bali is low profile, the Hyatt ostentatious.
If you like places like the Hyatt, MAYBE, you will not have a great experience on Bamboo Bali, mostly because there is not a staff there, waiting 24/7 to grant you your every whim. But then again, if you like places like the Hyatt why go to Bonaire in the first place. Bamboo Bali, like Bonaire is more authentic, more natural, more isolated (I am fully aware of the absurdity of saying that a place that looks like an oriental rainforest garden in the middle of an arid island on the Caribbean is authentic and natural, nevertheless it felt like that to me).
If you look for pampering and a more arificial ABC experience you would be better of in Curaçao.
I can hardly wait for my next vacation there. I just hope that it does not get harder and harder to get a reservation there in the following years.

Thank you Anno, Vera and Sebastian for the great time we had at your place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbeolchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I had a really great, relaxing five days at Bamboo Bali. Our hosts, Sebastian, Anno and Vera, were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. When we arrived they spent time explaining where to find everything on the island, recommended a great dive operator, "Wannadive" and organized pick-up truck rental for us. Later on in our stay, when we had a flat battery, Anno coordinated with the rental company to get the truck fixed, so our planned dive trip wasn't disrupted. Great service! Our cottage was very comfortable and it was nice to have the kitchen area to make lunch and then eat outside on our deck overlooking all of the amazing lush trees and plants and cool SE Asian art in the grounds. Nice secluded pool and hot tub. There's also a handy area to rinse and hang dive gear after a day enjoying Bonaire's fantastic reefs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
3.1 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
2.6 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort

Property: Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 86, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Bali. "The place where East meets West." No more than 60 meters from the ocean, across the street from the best known dive hotels of the island such as Buddy Dive, Captain Don's and Hamlet Oasis you will find Bamboo Bali. This cozy little resort consists of 8 cottages built with lots of Asian influence and style. The private wooden cottages were built on piles to give it that characteristic look and surrounded by a luscious garden full of tropical flora. Be surprised by the playful and romantic corners where Asia and the Caribbean melt together! Ideal for honeymooners and couples. This small family resort has 2 regular cottages - Bali, Sumatra. Four Deluxe cottage "Between the Trees"/" Just the 2of Us"/"So happy Together" and "Walking on Sunshine" Two superior cottages are recently added : "Love at first Sight" and "Heaven can Wait" Every cottage consists of 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom. Full kitchen / flat screen TV / free wireless internet / air conditioning / safe / warm water showers and a large shaded private porch area. For our guests we have two large propane BBQs, two very luxurious Jacuzzi/hot tubs with massage jets, a natural salt water pool, rinse tanks, dive closets, Thai stile outside showers, sitting areas, etc. "You will fall in love with Bamboo Bali Resort the moment you step in!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Bali Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing