We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Durgon Inn
Nearby Hotels
Harbour Village Beach Club(Kralendijk)
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Resort Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buddy Dive(Kralendijk)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
34
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall walloutdoor kitchenmoray eelsshared kitchenfishthe water's edgedive lockergas stovelaid backklein bonairedive shopdorispierdivesitesreefoceanisland
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have been here twice in two years and both times the diving was FANTASTIC..The rooms are clean and the breakfast is filling.The Black Durgon is a small, cozy, homestyle place that makes you feel welcomed. Like the past reveiws stated...You come as a guest and you leave with new friends. The friends that i have met there are execellent divers and great people. I look foward to returning to the Black Durgon to hang out and dive with my new friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Before our trip I did some research on the Black Durgon Inn and read many positive comments from previous guests. Many of the others that were there were repeat guests. We too enjoyed the smaller intimate atmosphere which they provide. Although we aren't divers we still enjoyed the snorkeling right from their pier. There's not much better than sipping your morning coffee while sitting literally feet from the crystal blue water. No pressure, just a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fillbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have just returned from a family trip to the Black Durgon Inn, where I have stayed over 30 times in 11 years. It offers basic accommodation which is very clean, each room has air conditioning and en-suite shower and toilet facilities. The diving facilities are excellent, with 2 house reefs just off the end of the jetty. The breakfasts are wholesome and sufficient. Excellent self-cooking facilities for lunch and dinner.
The family atmosphere draws customers back time and again. Informal, characterful,comfortable, B&B for divers and snorkellers of all ages.
I could not contemplate going diving on Bonaire and not staying at the "BDI". If, however, you are a room service, flunky-orientated, waited-on-hand-and-foot sort of person - maybe not for you
Chris Colton (master diver, retired surgeon)

Room Tip: Try to book a beach-front room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank chriscolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My girlfriend and I went on two weeks vacations to Bonaire the past February. We actually stayed at Divers Paradise which is a complex of apartments also managed by Black Durgon’s Inn one block away from it. Therefore, we also had access to Black Durgon facilities.

The apartment was great! It was very clean, neat and simple. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need. It has also a good DVD movie library. The building was in great conditions. The best was the little room outside the apartment prepared to store all your SCUBA gear!!!

The Black Durgon’s Inn has the best pier in town as you can see in the pictures!!! The sunset from here is beautiful! You can sometimes see the “green flash halo” when the sun just disappears on the horizon! Incredible atmospheric effect!

Also, having your own cooked dinner there is wonderful! There is usually a cat around that will give you some good company.

Al (Black Durgon manager) is an incredible good host and he really knows the island. He will give you the best tips!! He knows every restaurant, dive spot, shop, etc. He tells amazing stories too!

We also rented all the SCUBA gear and tanks from Al as well as a kayak. He gave us the best deal in the island. We couldn’t find any better!

Try crossing to Klein Bonaire in Kayak... it is a great experience!!

The reef in front of Black Durgon is amazing. At one side it is called Small Wall and at the other Black Durgon’s reef. You can see any type of sea creature there. You do not have to go to any other place in the island. We saw Stringrays, huge Parrot Fishes, Eels, Morays, an Octopus, Trumpet Fishes, Porcupine Fishes, Trunk Fishes, Black Durgons, Crabs, Lobsters, Surgeon Fishes, Flamingo Tongues, Blue Tangs, Sergeant Majors, Spotted Drums, and more just right there few meters from the Black Durgon’s pier!

The place is at Hato neighborhood. It is very quite but not far from downtown Kralendijk. You have a Supermarket and Chinese food restaurant at walking distance. Anyway, a car is a must in this island.

You are very close to all dive spots at the north of the island. The dive spots at the south, the mangroves and Sorobon are a little far away. You can reach any spot of the island in less than 40 minutes!

We were surprised to see that it was so hard to get fresh fish in the island. Especially because you are in the middle of the Caribbean surrounded by fishes!! So, after lot of research we finally found a place. They catch the fish and sell it. It is just a private house with a sign that says “Aki ta bènde piská” which means “here we sell fish”. From Black Durgon’s Inn head south to Kralendijk. When you reach one-way Kaya Grandi turn left (you cannot do any other thing). Continue until Kaya Nikiboko Zuid and turn right (be careful here as it is an intersection of many roads... do not turn too to the right or you will get into Kaya Simon Bolivar and you will go back to the oceanfront). This road goes to Sorobon. When you reach a turnabout, continue same direction to Sorobon. The road here changes its name to Kaminda Sorobon. At this point, start looking carefully at all the houses at the right. One of them has the sign I’m talking about. Check out the picture I uploaded!

I think this is the best place for scuba diving vacations! You won’t get a better price on the island! We loved the place and if we come back to Bonaire, we will certainly go back to Divers Paradise and Black Durgon... and no questions we will rent everything from Al again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matías C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I ditto the previous reviewer (SofiaReiziger) so I won't go into many details. We've stayed at the sister lodging, Diver's Paradise Apartments, just a short but nice walk down the street. We will continue to go back to Black Durgon as we find it extremely convenient & affordable for diving. The grounds are very well kept, clean and beautiful. Al has always been helpful & friendly, and just fun to visit with. As previously mentioned, this is not a 4 or 5 star resort, but an incredibly wonderful & relaxing, modest & exceptionally clean place. (Thanks to Doris!) We love it!
And, it speaks for itself that everyone we have met there in 4 trips have ALL been repeat guests - there is no better compliment than that!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiverMom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews