We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fault to be found!!”
Review of Djambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Djambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was my second trip to Bonaire, and both times I stayed here at Djambo. This makes a total of four weeks spent here and I sure didn't want to leave! From a diving perspective Djambo is fantastic, it is well laid out, with rinse tanks that you can drive right up to and rinse your kit, and a secure area to let it dry between dives. We are always welcomed with a smile and feel like valued guests from the first moment.

It should be noted that Djambo is self catered and simple, probably not the place to go if you want to be waited on at all times and pampered. That said, the rooms are a perfect size for couples and the larger apartments can cater for families. They are clean, the bedrooms are air-conditioned, and the kitchens supplied with everything you need to cook for yourself. The town is hardly as much as 15 minutes walk for those who would rather eat out.

There is a pool with sun loungers and quiet corner with hammocks in the shade for when you want to just relax and enjoy the sun, and the Djambar is simple yet well stocked with a fantastic atmosphere where everyone can chat and share experiences of the day, be it diving, visiting the national park, or fishing!

I honestly don't have a bad word to say about Djambo or the owners who have always been friendly, welcoming and helpful. When we return (and we surely will) it feels like visiting good friends than staying at a hotel, and I would go nowhere else!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Djambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have recently returned from our fourth trip to Bonaire where we stayed at the delightful Djambo! This has been in as many years which reflects what a place this is and just how we have enjoyed ourselves there.

On arrival at Djambo we were met with a smile and a beer together with an assortment of swim wear which allowed us to get in the pool, as ours was still with KLM's safe keeping :(

We had chosen Bonaire for the diving but were lucky first time in getting Djambo.
Martin, Ilse, Dick & Liselotte what a fantastic team. The apartments are great - functional and simple which means you have everything you need without going over the top.

Rinse tanks for all the dive gear you can drive up to.
A dive store for hanging all your rinsed kit (and wheelbarrows to get it there).
A quiet area with hammocks and sand.
Cooker, Toaster, Coffee machine, TV (although we do not need this)
There is a bar some nights the team lay on a barbeque which is a great way to get to know others.
And the most important bit really lovely surroundings & great friends.

This is without mentioning all the other small details which the team there ensure happens without any problems. All is clean and organised which is what is wanted.

It is good to be able to go out to fish on the quay or on the flats to attempt to catch bonefish! Even if Martin proves to be lucky and I don't (it is not skill at all!) - I look forward to being able to repeat this experience when we next visit.

All the above on an island which is just fantastic with fabulous easy diving makes it an ideal and safe island for a great holiday. If you want to be waited on hand and foot in luxury and have beers brought to you then this may not be the place for you. If you want a bunch of lovely people around you in a relaxed and friendly place, to be able to roam around the island meeting friendly people then this is a great experience, considering for the money you spend it makes it a fantastic location.

We have always booked through Bonaire Fun Travel who have always been great in making sure all is in order.
Overall, the only problems we have encountered have been with KLM mis-timing the arrival of our baggage on a couple of occasions now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A few months ago we were on holiday on Bonaire and we stayed in the Djambo resort for two weeks. We have had a lovely holiday! We both love diving and the Djambo resorts is perfectly suitable for divers and (kite)surfers. There is a special big locker to save your diving equipment. Also there are special sinks to wash your equipment. The apartments are built around the pool. The apartments are wide and in a very good condition. The kitchen is an open space together with the balcony but if you want you can shut to doors of the kitchen for some privacy. This makes it a perfect place to sit in the evening. The apartments are cleaned every two days. The apartments are supplied with enough equipment to cook diner. There is also a microwave and an oven.

The site of the resort is really good. It was very close to the airport, to the main city Kralendijk and to the big resorts at the beach. However it is really quiet at night at the Djambo resort. There is enough space at the parking place for you rental car. Rented motorbikes can be placed inside the resort. Free wifi is provided and there is also a library next to the swimming pool.

The owners of the resort are very friendly. You can always ask them questions and they give you good tips to make the most of your vacation and see as much as you can of the island. Every week they organize a barbeque. Many guests of the resorts join this barbeque, which make it very pleasant.

We would certainly recommend the Djambo resort. We already booked an apartment for the next summer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at djambo for 2 weeks with my whole family in two of their apartments. We all had a fantastic time. The apartments are lovely. Nice and clean and they have everything you need to be self catering. The bedroom is a really good size and the beds are really comfy. /All apartments look out onto the pool. Its a great sized pool surrounded by palm trees and open all the time!

The 'Djambar' by the pool gives a great atmosphere and most of all the owners are lovely, friendly people.

I would 100% recommend staying at Djambo if you want a nice relaxing self catered holiday :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed with a friend in October in one of the apartments of Djambo.
Although they are not located at the ocean, the view from the terrace on the pool and into the garden is great. There are plenty of birds, butterflies, iguanas and lizards. End afternoon the “Djambar” is open (17.30-19.30) for a drink. Besides the guests of Djambo it is also visited by many chibi-chibis (sugar birds) who know that there will be some sugar for them in the coconut which is hanging in the bar.
The apartment has everything you need, like a big safe, walk in closet, good quality matrasses and very clean. We especially loved the small oven in the kitchen. We were able to cook breakfast with fresh baked croissants!
Because we came to dive, we hired a car, however downtown Kralendijk is only a 15 minute walk. Some restaurants even less. But if you would like to see something of the island, not only for divers, you need some kind of transportation.
We only met 1 owner couple, the other couple was on vacation. I would say a big thank you to Martin and Ilse, they did a great job and made our vacation unforgettable.
We will definitely return to Djambo when visiting Bonaire again.

Room Tip: Upper apartments do have a little bit more privacy and are cooler because of the breeze when you ope...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Appartements with all amenities they announce on their website.
Pro: nice swimming pool, big terrace
Neg: 2 single beds pretending to be a double.bad quality mattress
Furniture basic
No soap
No kitchen paper
No bath mat
Lousy location
Cleaning every 4 days

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mikLangdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The exterior and layout of the "resort" is very pretty, but the location near a swamp(?) makes for massive numbers of mosquitoes residing alongside the occupants. Then again, the entire island has lots of mosquitoes everywhere. Since the living-dining area is an open space with only sliding doors for privacy, the only real refuge is in the bedroom. Still, the mosquitoes find their way in there. The bedroom is minimalistic and very dark with just one tiny window that doesn't let in much light. While the place claims to be a "resort," it is far from our definition of a resort. It's more like a cluster of apartments surrounding a pristine swimming pool in a middle of a residential/commercial area. The owners tried to create a "beach" in the back with hammocks, but the infestation of sand flies biting you as try to lie on the hammock is not at all relaxing. I've never seen anyone actually lie on the hammock for very long. They do a very good job of keeping the place clean. The owners are quite nice and can direct you to some recommended places for snorkeling and sightseeing. The kitchen is fully equipped with just the basics, nothing fancy. I just wish the place didn't have so many mosquitoes. We spent many nights hunting them instead of sleeping. Note: you are allowed a quota for electricity usage during your stay. If you go over that quota, you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacredtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
599 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djambo

Address: Kaya Finlandia 11, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: £89 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Djambo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Djambo consists of 15 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom apartments. All apartments face the good sized swimming pool with sun deck. The pool is centrally located as well as the cozy bar: Djambar. Enjoy, laugh, drink or read a book, it is all possible. We have fresh water tanks to rinse your water sports gear and there is a locker on the premises. There is free Wireless Internet for the guests of Djambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Djambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djambo Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing