We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Djambo doesn't disappoint!”
Review of Djambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Djambo
Certificate of Excellence
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Djambo doesn't disappoint!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a second visit to Djambo at Easter, and we enjoyed the second time just as much as the first. The proprietors are so friendly and helpful, and having them on site makes such a difference (Djambo is their home as well as their business). There had been one or two upgrades to the accommodation since our last visit which were very welcome, particularly the fans which we found meant we didn't need to use the air-con quite so much. The oven/grill is a good addition, too. We also made good use of Djambo beach and the hammocks- great for relaxing with a book with the added bonus of the breeze! For divers such as ourselves, the arrangement with the locker and the wheelbarrows is great, and again, Djambo beach with its hanging rails is an ideal means of drying off kit before packing for home. The new gate at the entrance makes you feel more secure, too. We really like the central location of Djambo; it's just a short walk into town, there's a small supermarket at the end of the road and there are dive stations within easy reach for picking up air. Djambo has a very relaxed atmosphere- an ideal place for a holiday on Bonaire!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the first floor apartments, which meant we benefited at night from the breeze bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
127
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Back again to Djambo - thinking this is about the 5th time to stay here. It's feeling like home to us on Bonaire. Such friendly folks, Lisolette, Dick, Isle and Martin - they know anything you want to know about Bonaire, the latest good restaurants, up to date on the dive sites and what might be found there and they throw down a good BBQ for the whole site! And all the improvements to the site they are doing - OH MY!! With all the new ss drying racks in place they went and installed ceiling fans in the bedrooms and the bed toppers for making the king bed from 2 twins is sooooo appreciated along with all the nice, new pillows. New cushions on the seating in the living area and little ovens to bake in. They are now in the process of installing full size refrigerators in all the apartments and adding palapa grasses over the counters and frige space. New textile hangings for art space - nice touches! Thank you all so much for being here for us. We love Djambo. We are not the type to need a lot from our accommodations - clean, attractive, friendly, safe, quiet. We don't do "all inclusive"!! As for the Californian comment about the mosquitos - yes, they are all over the island, not just at Djambo. If you follow the advise in the booklet you would get a very nice sleep. Go get a can of bug spray and read what to do!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Faithe917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for 10 days at Djambo. We recommend this lovely accomadation to every one who likes peace, nice and warm atmosphere. A warm and friendy mail contact started the stay. And that continued all days. Many thanks to Liselotte, Ilse, Dick and Martin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belp, Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for ten days at Djambo, and imediately felt at home. We really can recommand it to everyone who looks for a cozy place to stay, a nice atmosphere and exellent service. We found everything we need at this great location, many thanks to Ilze, Liselotte, Dick and Martin, we had such a good time, with a bunch of flamingos as neighbors, and 'happy hour' for the bananaquits at the bar too - I love it! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobvdEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We weren't sure what to expect on our first trip to Bonaire; we certainly did not think we would fall in love. The Djambo is is best mix of a small resort-type set up and personalized service. Liselotte, Dick, Martin and Ilse were the best hosts, from everyday communications to the special NYE BBQ party they hosted to the daily 5-7 happy hour, they were there to celebrate daily with their guests. The apartments are all you need for Bonaire, and they open up to the main courtyard/pool/bar area; an outdoor kitchen and living room - what more could you ask for in such a beautiful country. We spent many hours hanging out and reading in our outdoor living area (after scuba diving), and that was a special treat I did not expect from a hotel; usually I'm anxious to leave the hotel to go out. You do not need to look any further; this place is walking distance to town, but just far enough to feel quiet and secluded. True paradise and we can not wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally fantastic; you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilysap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Djambo for a week while on Bonaire and both really enjoyed it. It is in a great location close to everything you need (airport, town, supermarket, dive shops, water, etc). It has rinse tanks and a locker for all your gear, a nice clean pool, and a small bar to grab a drink at the end of the day. Martin, Ilse, Dick & Liselotte make you feel at home and are very approachable and eager to answer all your questions. The rooms are very comfortable and are equipped with full kitchens, which is a nice touch, especially if you're planning a longer stay. We would both definitely recommend Djambo to anyone traveling to Bonaire and hope to return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gold1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We returned to Djambo for our second trip to Bonaire and are so glad that we did! Liselot, Dick, Martin & Ilse made us feel so welcome again - just like going home really! The location is simply perfect for diving, supermarket and restaurants, and the apartment has absolutely everything you need. Please don't change anything - we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridge013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djambo

Property: Djambo
Address: Kaya Finlandia 11, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Djambo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Djambo consists of 15 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom apartments. All apartments face the good sized swimming pool with sun deck. The pool is centrally located as well as the cozy bar: Djambar. Enjoy, laugh, drink or read a book, it is all possible. We have fresh water tanks to rinse your water sports gear and there is a locker on the premises. There is free Wireless Internet for the guests of Djambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Djambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djambo Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing