We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the real Bonaire!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auriga Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auriga Ecolodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Kralendijk B&B and Inns
Haastrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Experience the real Bonaire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

In july 2011 we (two adults, two kids) stayed for a whole week in this ecolodge. The week before we spend on Curacao and after Bonaire we went to Saba. Without doubt Auriga Ecolodge was the most adventures, relaxed and memorable place of all places we stayed. The ecolodge is not just a place to sleep and eat, it’s an experience! And even more then that, with your stay you will contribute to an impressive project of the owners. Hans and Jenny do have a mission and that’s to bring back a little piece of Bonaire in it’s original state and show that it’s possible to live and run a lodge in a sustainable way. They are pioneers and we believe also trendsetting, this is the way of thinking and the way of life we all should persue.
The natural environment, the silence, the hummingbirds and parrots etc etc make you feel far from home and your busy life. The outdoor shower (additional to the indoor one), the star roof platform and the well equipped kitchen are fun. Also our kids found it exciting, and had fun with feeding the chickens, the outdoor fireplace on the BBQ area and looking at the stars.
Hans and Jenny are very good hosts and also willing to tell about Bonaire and there project. We also went on a kayak trip in the mangroves with Hans as a guide, a must-have-done on Bonaire! Those who want something different and taste the real Bonaire should try Auriga Ecolodge!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnoud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at Auriga Ecolodge, 15 minutes outside Kralendijk's main street, and could not have chosen a better place to spend our last few days together on Bonaire. Having previously stayed in town- the silence and stillness of the countryside was a much needed surprise. Granted, it's only still until you take a good look- and then everything's alive with activity.. Auriga is absolutely beautiful. Hans built it himself and one can tell in the details that a lot of care went into the building process and ultimate presentation. There's beautiful framed photographs, statues, art work, and colors that give the ecolodge its unique character, in addition to having the lowest carbon footprint I've been able to find for a rental spot on the island- for me, that's the selling point. I highly recommend Auriga Ecolodge-- it's beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The peace and serenity rejuvinated us and the project truly inspired us. The hosts are amazing and the star gazing platform is an experience. Everyone at the busy seafront has no idea what they are missing. This is Bonaire; this is paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heijbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Auriga Ecolodge is the ideal place if you want to experience Bonaire in a nature-friendly way. The house is located in the "Kunuku", the scarcely populated "outback" of Bonaire, approximately 7 km from the port of Kralendijk. It offers plenty of space and privacy because of its remote location. The owners Hans and Jenny live nearby and are friendly and helpful.
The place is a true ecolodge so don't expect airco, swimming pools, TV's etc. You will like however the spacious house, the stargazing platform on top and the wind that cools the house and ensures insects are almost completely absent. The house is well equiped with a kitchen (incl. fridge and oven), a small library, a barbeque place, a bathroom, an outdoor shower, a living room, and a balcony terrace.
Because of its location and the fact that Bonaire activities are spread out across the island you will need a car to get you around, but we found it a delight to come back in the evening to our "home away from home". Great to hear and see the parakeets, the orioles, and the other birds in the morning at breakfast and to enjoy the quiteness of a beautiful sky without light polution at night, while sipping a glass of wine.
More good news : Through proper maintenance of their land the direct environment of the lodge is much greener and more biodiverse as the rest of the "Kunuku". If you don't need others to entertain you, then this is the place to stay in Bonaire. I know we will return !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roeland_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.0 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bonaire Seaside Apartments
Bonaire Seaside Apartments
#17 of 20 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.0 mi away
Divers Paradise Bonaire Apartments
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auriga Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auriga Ecolodge

Property: Auriga Ecolodge
Address: Rancho San Minguel # 100 | Bara di Carta, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auriga Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auriga Ecolodge Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing