We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place but..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Calexico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Calexico
Certificate of Excellence
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place but..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

..the walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbours get intimate at night so it can get a bit weird. The bathroom wall that separates it from the bedroom doesn't reach all the way up the ceiling so you can kiss your intimacy good bye, or you can take turns out of the main room like we did. Just sit on the porch and enjoy the free internet.

And now the good parts, Your hosts will pick you up and drive you back to the airport, and welcome you in their house with a cold beer, plenty of useful information, breakfast for the next day and a smile. The gas barbecue and the hammock by the porch are not to be missed. The guesthouses in the backyard make this lodging a very unique one. Overall, it was a good stay.

The location is a little isolated but since Bonaire is tiny, you should be fine. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzorrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
125
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent six nights at Audrey and Joop's place and loved it! Casa Calexico is wonderful, no matter if you are travelling as family, couple or alone. It's just a few walking minutes away from the center of Kralendijk where you can find lots of bars and restaurants plus also a few shops to do some souvenir shopping. Moreover, two big supermarkets are in walking distance, too. Although it's recommendable to rent a car during your stay. In order to be able to get to know the whole island and the wonderful national park. Audrey and Joop are always happy to help and give wonderful tips on where to go and what to see. We enjoyed the warm welcome they gave us accompanied by an island introduction. Very helpful! The room we stayed in was also nice. You can see that they set a high value on little things - everything was clean and the whole appartment site was nicely decorated. Keep it up! We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinNeumair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Casa calexico consists of 5 studios - 4 in a row and 1 in front of the owners' house. Pickup from/drop off at the airport is included in the price which is nice. The owners are wonderful, so friendly and service minded. They have a lot of tips for things to do on Bonaire, places to eat and parties to go to. They can also help you rent a car, arrange for diving or surf lessons or make dinner reservations.

They've built the studios themselves and incorporated all good things they picked up from travelling around the world. This shows in the studios. The studio isn't that big - the bedroom is approximately 4x4m excl bathroom -, but it has a comfortable big bed, airco, wifi, a good size bathroom and some storage space. It was particularly handy that they've included two sorts of power sockets: Dutch ones with 220V and US ones with 110V. Each studio has a nice veranda with a table and outdoor kitchen incl. refrigerator. pots and pans, a coffee machine/watercooker, glasses and plates. A gas bbq is also available. With 2 supermarkets close by and Bonaire being a bit on the expensive side, it is very relaxed to arrange for your own breakfast/lunch or dinner.

A pool and some nice loungers are available as well. I felt so at home in Casa Calexico. I stayed there on my own for 6 nights and had a wonderful stay. Before going there I'd checked out much hotels and guest houses online and I believe I got true value for money at Casa Calexico. Theír rates are very reasonable compared to other accommodations.

The guest house is located close by the sea, you can use the Divi Flamingo area to enjoy the sea view, sunset and some snorkeling. The best restaurant of the island At Sea is within a 5 minute walk.

I can't emphasize enough how I liked my stay at Casa Calexico. So please check out yourself and say Audrey and Joop hi from me!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Casa Calexico for our four days/three nights on Bonaire, and were very, very happy with our experience. Our hostess Audrey was fantastic, full of tips and answers to all our questions.

The quiet, AC-controlled rooms have their own bath (shower, sink, toilet) and outside kitchen with everything you might need to make meals (from plates to pots), if you choose to go that route. (We went to the supermarket just down the road and made breakfast and sandwiches to take with us each day.) The B&B has a pool and deck area to sunbathe and relax (and pet the friendly cat), and there is parking in the small lot and on the street.

The B&B is a 5-minute walk from downtown Kralendijk, a 3-minute walk from Dive Friends (right on the water), and a five-minute drive from the airport. A great location.

Room Tip: Little difference between the rooms, as far as we could tell, except that one is closer to the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RykeMadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to all other outstanding reviews.

We loved the place and the owners from the moment we walked in.
The guest rooms are very nicely decorated, well maintained and clean - comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom.

The facilities for rinsing scuba equipment and lockers for stashing it all away are really a big plus.
Ow and don't underestimate the importance of the pool. After a day of diving, nothing beats a dip in sweet water with a Gin&Tonic, or a beer, listening to some Rock & Roll (Rock & Roll upon request only).

We had a wonderful stay of 3 weeks.
We normally don't visit a place twice, but if we ever return to Bonaire we will definitely stay with Joop and Audrey again.

Houdoe
Robert & Karin


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The minute you walk in there they, Joop & Audrey, make you feel at home, a place you know, a place you have been. They place is small, 5 apartments, all beautiful and tastefull decorated. A small pool & hammock place make it all complete. The prices are very good also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We made a reservation in Casa Calexico based on a recommendation by a nice couple we met on our trip in the Caribbean but we were still positively surprised. The whole courtyard is really beautiful with a small pool and sunbeds and other places to relax. Our room was not very big but it was really nice and had everything a traveller can hope for. On the porch there is all you need to prepare breakfast, lunch etc. In August Audrey was taking care of the guests by herself and she did an amazing job. She was very kind and helped us in many ways during our 5-day stay in Bonaire. We have never experienced that kind of hospitality anywhere. The place is in a walking distance from the center of Kralendijk but the location of Casa Calexico is quiet and peaceful. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravler555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Djambo
Djambo
#3 of 44 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calexico

Property: Casa Calexico
Address: Kaya Finlandia 5, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa-Calexico is conveniently located in the center of Kralendijk, just 2 blocks (a 2 minute walk) from the beach at Divi Flamingo resort. Several shops and supermarkets are just a few minutes walk away. All our studio's have a fully equipped outside kitchen on the porch. All rooms have aircon, fan's (both inside and outside on the porch) and free wifi. Every room has it's own dive locker and there are wash basins to rinse out your gear. We also have a gaz BBQ in our garden for everybody's use. Around the pool are comfortable lounge beds and we have a waterproof palapa with hammocks inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Calexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Calexico Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing