We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Peace for a Relaxed Holiday”
Review of Casa Calexico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Calexico
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis of Peace for a Relaxed Holiday”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Enjoyed a great stay in one of the cabins in February 2014. Wonderful warm welcome. Audrey and Joop are very friendly yet professional too, happy to give us tips and advice about what to see and do, where to eat and when to avoid the crowds from the cruise ships...

There was so much attention to detail to make our stay relaxing from the start, like the carafe of chilled water waiting for us in the fridge, and some basics like coffee, tea and sugar or washing up liquid so we didn't need to go out right away and buy everything. I felt that if I left anything the next guest would be able to use it. So many places remove any left overs and each new guest needs to buy the basics yet again.

The cabin was simple yet beautifully handicrafted in warm woods. Excellent air con. Each cabin has its own small terrace with its kitchen area, table, chairs and hammock to chill out in.

There is a barbecue grill that guests can use, lockers and an area to clean your diving gear, if you need it. And so much more.

Just a ten minute walk to restaurants and the town centre and to the nearest beach for an early morning swim with the colourful fish.

Already planning to go back! They definitely deserve their accolades.

Room Tip: The cabins are a wonderful home from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasiaDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
129
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent six nights at Casa Calexico around Xmas 2013, and had a lovely time! Audrey and Joop were super friendly and helpful, giving tips on getting around the island and on the best snorkeling spots. The ambience was very relaxed, and the rooms super-nice, couldn't have asked for more.

The main city Kralendijk is a short walk away. As an alternative to eating out, the B&B also has a gas barbeque to roast your own foods on. There are a few supermarkets nearby, and the airport is not far either, so you could get by on the island using just a bike.

Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Bonaire!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renews, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spent two weeks at the Casalexico in January 2014. I had the room in the main house. It is very private beacause it has its own entrance, porch and kitchen. The room is small but nice and practical. The pool and terrace are great to relax at the end of the day. The location of Casalexico was perfect for me. I went there to do lots of freediving but I did not rent a car. The sea is just a few minutes walk from the B&B, with a number of freediving options. And the small city of Kralendijk is also within easy walking distance, with quite a few good restaurants. Finally, Audrey and Joop were both very helpful in making my stay enjoyable. All in all, a very good option if you plan to go to Bonaire.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilleret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

..the walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbours get intimate at night so it can get a bit weird. The bathroom wall that separates it from the bedroom doesn't reach all the way up the ceiling so you can kiss your intimacy good bye, or you can take turns out of the main room like we did. Just sit on the porch and enjoy the free internet.

And now the good parts, Your hosts will pick you up and drive you back to the airport, and welcome you in their house with a cold beer, plenty of useful information, breakfast for the next day and a smile. The gas barbecue and the hammock by the porch are not to be missed. The guesthouses in the backyard make this lodging a very unique one. Overall, it was a good stay.

The location is a little isolated but since Bonaire is tiny, you should be fine. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzorrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent six nights at Audrey and Joop's place and loved it! Casa Calexico is wonderful, no matter if you are travelling as family, couple or alone. It's just a few walking minutes away from the center of Kralendijk where you can find lots of bars and restaurants plus also a few shops to do some souvenir shopping. Moreover, two big supermarkets are in walking distance, too. Although it's recommendable to rent a car during your stay. In order to be able to get to know the whole island and the wonderful national park. Audrey and Joop are always happy to help and give wonderful tips on where to go and what to see. We enjoyed the warm welcome they gave us accompanied by an island introduction. Very helpful! The room we stayed in was also nice. You can see that they set a high value on little things - everything was clean and the whole appartment site was nicely decorated. Keep it up! We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinNeumair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Casa calexico consists of 5 studios - 4 in a row and 1 in front of the owners' house. Pickup from/drop off at the airport is included in the price which is nice. The owners are wonderful, so friendly and service minded. They have a lot of tips for things to do on Bonaire, places to eat and parties to go to. They can also help you rent a car, arrange for diving or surf lessons or make dinner reservations.

They've built the studios themselves and incorporated all good things they picked up from travelling around the world. This shows in the studios. The studio isn't that big - the bedroom is approximately 4x4m excl bathroom -, but it has a comfortable big bed, airco, wifi, a good size bathroom and some storage space. It was particularly handy that they've included two sorts of power sockets: Dutch ones with 220V and US ones with 110V. Each studio has a nice veranda with a table and outdoor kitchen incl. refrigerator. pots and pans, a coffee machine/watercooker, glasses and plates. A gas bbq is also available. With 2 supermarkets close by and Bonaire being a bit on the expensive side, it is very relaxed to arrange for your own breakfast/lunch or dinner.

A pool and some nice loungers are available as well. I felt so at home in Casa Calexico. I stayed there on my own for 6 nights and had a wonderful stay. Before going there I'd checked out much hotels and guest houses online and I believe I got true value for money at Casa Calexico. Theír rates are very reasonable compared to other accommodations.

The guest house is located close by the sea, you can use the Divi Flamingo area to enjoy the sea view, sunset and some snorkeling. The best restaurant of the island At Sea is within a 5 minute walk.

I can't emphasize enough how I liked my stay at Casa Calexico. So please check out yourself and say Audrey and Joop hi from me!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Casa Calexico for our four days/three nights on Bonaire, and were very, very happy with our experience. Our hostess Audrey was fantastic, full of tips and answers to all our questions.

The quiet, AC-controlled rooms have their own bath (shower, sink, toilet) and outside kitchen with everything you might need to make meals (from plates to pots), if you choose to go that route. (We went to the supermarket just down the road and made breakfast and sandwiches to take with us each day.) The B&B has a pool and deck area to sunbathe and relax (and pet the friendly cat), and there is parking in the small lot and on the street.

The B&B is a 5-minute walk from downtown Kralendijk, a 3-minute walk from Dive Friends (right on the water), and a five-minute drive from the airport. A great location.

Room Tip: Little difference between the rooms, as far as we could tell, except that one is closer to the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RykeMadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Apartments
All Seasons Apartments
#6 of 47 in Kralendijk
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Djambo
Djambo
#4 of 47 in Kralendijk
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calexico

Property: Casa Calexico
Address: Kaya Finlandia 5, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa-Calexico is conveniently located in the center of Kralendijk, just 2 blocks (a 2 minute walk) from the beach at Divi Flamingo resort. Several shops and supermarkets are just a few minutes walk away. All our studio's have a fully equipped outside kitchen on the porch. All rooms have aircon, fan's (both inside and outside on the porch) and free wifi. Every room has it's own dive locker and there are wash basins to rinse out your gear. We also have a gaz BBQ in our garden for everybody's use. Around the pool are comfortable lounge beds and we have a waterproof palapa with hammocks inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Calexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Calexico Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing