We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropicana Apartments
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Roland and Irene was very kind!everything excellent, good service and good price. Recommended 100%. Near from diving center. On thursday good BBQ.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmaizagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed at Bonaire Fun Apartments ( the sister property also owned by Roland and Irene) last year & loved it! This year I went with my sister & Roland and Irene recommended I stay in the Tropicana as it was larger and we could easily have two beds in the bedroom. They apartment had everything one could want.We love having the kitchen & the lovely outside seating area where we enjoyed more than a few bottles of wine :) The apartment was clean, spacious & much nicer than any hotel room! Roland and Irene are excellent hosts & Irene was kind enough to join us on our snorkle trip on the Woodwind. We had a wonderful time & they made us feel very welcome and very at home. I would never stay anywhere else when i go to Bonaire! If you are looking for clean, friendly & the best hosts ever, this is the place for you! We even inherited a local cat who came to hang out with us , man was he ever cute! So if you go and stay in the first apartment, look for the orange/ siamese mix cat.. We named him Chimi and we miss him!!!
We can't wait to go back and stay with Irene and Roland again. Wonderful!

Room Tip: they are all good! we like the largest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverTakemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Irene and Roland are excellent hosts - they own the Tropicana (which I stayed at), Bonaire Fun and the Dive Hut - all really close to each other. Excellent economical place for divers - they will sort out a package that includes unlimited diving and a truck. (Currently just take cash and travellers checks - so double check before you go to see if they take credit cards yet). Not luxury, but very clean and comfortable. An excellent choice for divers who want the freedom of shore diving all day and don't need the resort amenities or boat dives of things like Buddys, Capt Don's or Divi on the water (which you pay a premium for) - of course you always have the choice to pay for a boat dive at WannaDive as well over to Klein should you wish. Irene and Roland now also host the WannaDive BBQ on Thursday nights at the Dive Hut....free rum punch from 5:30-6:30 and all you can eat BBQ from 7pm - all for $15 - most excellent ! A freiendly bunch of people and always seem to be freindly guests who stay there as well !

I certainly recommend this place and I will be definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiquidPixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Tropicana (and the nearby sister property Bonaire Fun) are clean, well-maintained, and reasonably priced bases of operation for a fantastic dive trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed at the apartments and of course dived dived dived...... great diving and great location. Quiet enough that you are not kept awake but within walking distance of resturants etc... in town. The hosts are lovely and welcoming and have mix just right, there if you need them and leave you to it if you don't! :) We enjoyed thier company and welcomed our chats and even a shared beer or two. Thanks for looking after us Roland and Irene!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at the Tropicana Apartments after reading about them on tripadvisor previously. We were very happy to have stayed here.

Our initial booking was handled very professionally, an Roland arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in the middle of the night. A very nice touch was the chilled water, soft drinks and a couple of cold beers waiting in the fridge on our arrival. Just what we needed after the long flight from Birmingham via Amsterdam.

The accommodation is located centrally , with easy access to both Kralendijk as well as all of the west coast diving locations and places such as Captain Don's Habitat for sundown cocktails.

Each apartment has a small patio area for catching the breezes, the kitchen is fully functional and the fan and A/C are effective in bringing temperatures into the comfort zone rapidly.

We booked an accom/truck/dive package and it was excellent value. Both the truck rental company and associated dive shop were perfect.

Highly recommended, we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Simple, artsy, charming accommodations. All you need in a well-designed studio apartment. We stayed there for two weeks and felt home away from home. Apartments are well located, extremely clean, safe, comfortable and equipped with basically everything you need. There is also a communal area to rinse and hang dive gear, which makes a difference.
Roland and Irene make the place: service minded people providing great tips to make your visit even more enjoyable. If you are a diver and want a nice, quiet & affordable place to stay and relax… THIS IS IT.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySeamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0 mi away
GOOOD Resort
GOOOD Resort
#4 of 22 in Kralendijk
319 reviews
0 mi away
The Lizard Inn
The Lizard Inn
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
189 reviews
0 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Den Laman Condominium
Den Laman Condominium
#4 of 52 in Kralendijk
308 reviews
0 mi away
BonaireFUN Appartments
BonaireFUN Appartments
#22 of 52 in Kralendijk
103 reviews
0 mi away
Divers Paradise Bonaire Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Apartments

Address: Kaya Proud #9, Kralendijk 1111, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tropicana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Apartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing