We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing place... with more construction to go.”
Review of Eden Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A disappointing place... with more construction to go.”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for the first week in January, and construction was nowhere near completed. Only 1 of the 4 buildings has been converted, a second is near completion, but two others are still "old" (each building has about 18 rooms). It is clear they will not be done for another year (eg end of 2013).

We initially hesitated to book this place, given the poor reviews, but called and were promised one of the newly renevated rooms, so we took our chances. Unfortunately two weeks before our arrival they called and said we would be stuck with an old room (I assume we were meant for the 2nd unit that is still being refurnished). We checked for other alternatives but given the last minute high season... we were stuck. I was disappointed they did not at least offer us a reduced rate. In short, I would not stay here until all the rooms are completely re-done. As well, I was told by the Dive guys that construction sounds were very loud (they'd paused over Christmas, so I can't say first hand), so another reason to wait....

Location: Is a long 30 minute walk from town and a 50 minute walk from the Albert Heijn grocery store. There are few restaurants around so you're either taxi'ing, renting a car, or doing long walks (our choice)... So not a convenient place unless you're planning on just doing diving (WannaDive - who were great, highly recommend) or sitting at the same beach all day, and eating at their onsite bar (Spice - good food, reasonable prices). All three are a 2 minute walk from your room.

Rooms: My wife called them "crap" (and we've just spent 3 months backpacking through south america!). I would be more polite and say very old and very outdated. Significant paint peeling, doors/windows that don't close properly, missing closet doors, etc etc... There is a cheapness that is everywhere - they've locked off the hot water in the kitchen and bathroom sink, the energy efficient light bulbs provide poor lighting and gives a very dim/gloomy view, etc etc. The pipes are old, so expect frequent blockages, the shower worked poorly/low pressure, the bed is rock hard, the curtains let in tons of light - so you should be an early riser...etc etc etc. The bar has loud music until late on the weekends and it will rattle your windows as you're so close. Not very good. Upsides? Decent size. Good, furnished kitchen with stove and fridge.

Service: Friendly and generally capable. They ordered us taxis properly and all the bills were fine. We had the maintenance guy in our room three times (broken fire alarm, safe door wouldn't close properly, and clogged pipes x2), and it took him ages to show up - the second time we called 3 times and it took four hours before he finally showed up (even the woman at the front desk was grumpy about him). Cleaning was good, but the dishes were given a basic "wash" and we had to re-clean them with soap (also hard to do with only cold water)

Beach: It's nice, decent number of chairs, however only 6 or 7 umbrellas... so you need to get up early to grab a good spot. You can walk straight into the water and see some decent marine life. As everyone else says, when the cruise ships come in (1-3 times per week), there is absolutely no seating - the below suggestion to go walk over to the public "beach" is a bit disingenious - minimal sand / mostly hard rocks/coral, not very pleasant. Just get up early and fight to keep your spot throughout the day (or else go tour the island)

Spice: Ate at the restaurant, service and food were good and the total cost was about $100 for two. Ate at the bar, also good and reasonable (eg burger/fries is $13, ham/cheese toastie is $4)... I would struggle to eat there everyday - limited menu. They have a one hour happy hour on Fridays and Saturdays (half price beer, house wine, and basic mixed drinks). We also ate at "Osaka" and "Appetite" restaurants in town - both were good ($100-130 for two people). Reservations for dinner are essential - all places only do one sitting, so limited spots.

WannaDive: Were great, one of 3 or 4 locations in Bonaire. Super friendly staff, reasonable prices, and good instructors. They speak English, Dutch, and Spanish well... I would definitely use them again - with daily guided dives and snorkelling at 9am and 2pm. Equipment rental rates were very reasonable. Definitely helped make up for the crummy hotel.

Room Tip: Wait until the end of 2013 and when renovations are completed. Until then - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnUkPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    128
    88
    41
    24
See reviews for
62
175
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just got back from New Year's on Bonaire and wanted to thank the Eden peeps by writing about our stay. We booked the "room with balcony" as there were just two of us and LOVED it! Great view, - room was kinda small but for two - it was great - king sized bed was comfy and room was exactly what we had hoped to get with price paid. Balcony was AWESOME! You sacrifice room size for balcony but with no kids in tow ... No brainier! There was a mixup on the room but was dealt with well by the staff and corrected very quickly.

The beach bar is great to have for breakfast, lunch and drinks. The restaurant next door served really good dinner and you are RIGHT on the water. Two things to consider - when a cruise ship comes in, the beach area can get crowded with kids as the hotel has a deal with a cruise ship - once a week gig i think - so - If you want to avoid that - you can walk about 50 yards to the other side of the restaurant and ... You are on the locals beach access with a short walk back to the bar.

And on the construction comments I have seen which worried me to the point of packing the noise canceling headphones and being someone who has left paid for accommodations over construction noise -- puhleeze! Minimal ... And we were next to what appears to be the last building under construction. Maybe it was worse at some point but it does seem to be on one spot on the property - and not bad at all - there is some debris in sight from the balcony when you look towards the road where you come in so I just kept my eye on one of the best views overlooking water I have ever seen - and yes- balconies face northwest - sunsets were great. Bottom line to me - if you are expecting Sandals - go stay at a Sandals ... If you want clean room with great view and very nice staff and a convenient beach bar - stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Want to be clear. . . .my daughter has stayed here, not me! But I HAVE spent several days hanging out their new beach club bar area. The BEST on Bonaire, by far. You could hang out ALL day. Looks like the hotel rooms are being remodeled so the entire resort seems to be coming along. Hope so anyway, because at the time of our visit, the rooms appeared to be no better than average!

World record free diver Carlos Coste has a free diving school here, as we'll as a nice dive shop on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We spent the day here when our cruise stopped in Bonaire, It was recommended by the tourist office. They said it was 20 minutes walk but it was nearer 40 minutes. However when we arrived we were pleased the beach was spotless and for the price of $5 each we got a chair and umbrella right by the waters edge. We were then asked to move as the chairs we were on were reserved for a group coming from our cruise ship on an organised beach break. We moved reluctantly when we found another spot equally as good. I was more than happy when I found out the organised trip had cost everyone $29 each and the only extras they got was a free drink. Eden beach was fantastic for snorkelling and diving if you are into it. I even saw a manta ray cruise by whilst I was enjoying all the other colourful fish that are literally two to three metres off the beach. There is some construction work still going on but this didn't detract from the beach area. If you are going to the beach from the cruise port get a taxi here and don't do the organized tour to this beach, you save a packet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed at one of the smaller and older rooms here over a weekend. The place was fairly busy even though there is construction going on every day (even on Sunday) and it doesn't look great.

The room was fine in terms of size, the airco worked and all that stuff. The bathroom is definitely in need of a make-over, as is the lighting. But apparently that is all underway (I didn't hear what the projected completion date is).

Restaurant (which I believe is now run by the Spice Club people rather than the hotel, strictly speaking) was good - great food, a reasonable variety and not too expensive. The staff were hit and miss - some were very friendly and helpful and others seemed to be completely distracted or something, it was a bit unusual.

Dive shop on the premises, which seemed quite busy, and a decent-enough beach with lots of lounge chairs and a pier and that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if you can - it's not clear from the choices on their site which ones h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhlashPhlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from a one week stay at Eden Beach. I was surprised there was still so much
construction going on. I had the impression the construction started months ago, but it looks
like many more months to go. The best part of this hotel is the Spice bar and the beach. The
bar attracts a lively crowd and is open most nights until 11:30. Happy hour lasts one hour during the weekends only.

The beach is large with a pier and plenty of chairs to lounge on. In reality, the beach is one very large sand box. You can see the wood planks holding the sand and keeping it from falling
into the 'real' beach (which is rocks and coral).

I stayed in a 2BR apartment (504) 2 rooms from the beach and 1 room from the kitchen. It is in dire need of upgrading (it is old!!). The first floor is very narrow with a half bath, futon couch, L-shaped kitchenette and an old TV on the wall. It has a gas stove and plenty of utensils and dishes/glasses. Upstairs are 2 BR's and 2 baths w/shower. I stayed in the master BR facing the beach. The curtain lets ALL the sunlight in so be prepared to wake up early.

For divers (can't imagine anyone coming to this island that is not diving) the WannaDive shop was excellent and very convenient. We just rented tanks from them. They have free Nitrox and give you unlimited access to their tanks 24hrs in 3 locations.

Overall, if you ignore the construction and realize the island in general is kind of 'dumpy', this
place was ok. After the construction it may be very nice (though who knows how long that will take)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just stayed for a week at Eden Beach for our dive trip. We had stayed there twice before and were very pleased. The staff is great and they were very accommodating considering we were almost a day late in arriving due to travel issues. We did not know that they were undergoing a complete renovation and though it was minimally annoying (demolition pounding and saws buzzing as well as daily entrance and exit detours) because we were out most of the day diving, if you had planned a week on the beach, it would have been most unpleasant. The bed was extremely hard (hope they are changing that too) but the rooms are basic, which are fine for us. We will be keeping a close eye on renovations and will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.5 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Beach Resort

Property: Eden Beach Resort
Address: Kaya Gobernador Nicolaas Debrot 73, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Beach Hotel Bonaire
Eden Beach Bonaire
Eden Beach Resort Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing