We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goede accommodatie voor een goede prijs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Haaksbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Goede accommodatie voor een goede prijs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Complete with a bautifull sand beach, dive facilities. The rooms are modern clean and well equiped. The swimingpool is new,clean and next to the rooms. Close to the resort is a nice bar and high quality Restaurant. The staf is friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bement2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    125
    87
    41
    24
See reviews for
60
174
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sugarloaf
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Flew to Bonaire on a whim and booked this hotel at the last minute. Hitchhiked from the airport
as they have no local buses and taxis are expensive. Besides, I like to hitchhike to meet the locals, never had a problem yet (I'm 72). The room was not ready as I was early so I checked out the grounds, beach, and pool, all were great! Desk lady was a sweetheart when I told her that I preferred an upper room instead of the lower room as I liked fresh air instead of an AC. She put me in Room 322 which was good. However, there were no amenities except soap and it seemed this was the standard in most three-star hotels on the islands which was not a problem as I always carry the bare necessities in my backpack (thin soap, shampoo, lotion, toothpaste). One could walk to the main town in twenty minutes (again, I hitchhiked but walked back for the exercise). Not much to see or do, one casino, small market, had a good lunch at
the a local restaurant where you can eat outside under their porch (didn't note name).
If you are going to snorkel at Klein Island I highly recommend Woodwind Tours - must ask the
desk to call for you as they don't advertise them (WW doesn't want to pay hotels to do so and
I agree with them). The tour was super!!! For fifty US, you go for five hours with three snorkel stops and guides. The group is kept small (ten or so) and the guide will point to various fish, coral, etc. and surface to tell you about it - a learning experience as well. They offer delcious, unlimited fruit drinks and a tasty lunch (the a.m. is the best time to snorkel). Just make sure you take enough sunscreen as the sun is very HOT and there is no shade on the boat unless you want to go underneath but noone did.

Room Tip: An upper room if possible for the breeze and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is situated next to one of the best snorkeling spots on the island; that is enough reason to stay here, and we might make a return visit. We spent most of our days out enjoying the reefs and island attractions and very little time in the room; it seems petty to nitpick the hotel. However, since the hotel is a business that should be interested in pleasing its guests it could make some improvements quickly and inexpensively to make the stay more enjoyable.

As other guests have pointed out, there is major construction going on at the hotel and it is best to get a renovated room. We got an old room and management just seems to have given up on maintaining them. There was mold in the shower; not just on the grout, but on the only ledge available to put down shampoo and soap; a quick scrub with cleanser would have removed it. Some of the kitchen utensils were plastic and partially melted, the pots scratched, and the only cutting knife had dried cheese on it. The tiny closet area had open shelves with cables and holes in the drywall; as this was the view from my bed I got a good look at it every morning. Even a curtain in front of the shelves would have shown some effort to make this a cheerier looking room.

The Eden Beach website says they offer a "welcoming cocktail"; the person at the front desk said no. The website also says they have an "Activity Center, Access to Gym and Spa, Wide selection of books at the Library, and Bottled water at your arrival"; They have none of these things. There is free WiFi, but it didn't work for four days of our 7-day stay, and was intermittent on the other days. There's a nice little ice cream shop an easy walk away, and we connected to their WiFi most days.

The beach, restaurant and bar are run by Spice Beach Club, and are more upscale. The downside is that the area can get very crowded with people not staying at the hotel. On the days that cruise ships are in port it is hard to get a spot on the beach, and on the weekends they have a loud DJ on the beach; it is impossible to avoid the noise in the rooms or even while snorkeling at Bari Reef.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for one night before moving to our pre booked b&b accommodation as they were full for our first night. We enjoyed 2 full days at Eden using all the facilities and having a great couple of dives... one right off the beach in front of the hotel and one boat trip that took us from the resort to the Salt Pier. The dive shop and all staff there were fantastic.

We also enjoyed just generally relaxing around the beach area and having a couple of cocktails. To get to the standard that the place is hoping for they are going to have to improve their service levels... both at front desk and at the beach bar. We did enjoy dinner there right on the waterfront however and here the service was of good standard and the food was good too (albeit not cheap).

Overall we enjoyed our couple of days there and as other reviewers have stated they are undergoing renovations and in time no doubt the rooms will match the beach bar vibe and if they get their customer service levels right then this will be a great place. In the meantime, 2 days was about the right amount of time for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingfellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed one night in the apartment smelling mold. Everything old and bad. The paint om the wall loosened. The locker didnt work - very old. It was mold growing on the headboard. Poolarea not nice, just terrible. No fitnesscenter! The staff didn't know about it. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva155155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kralendijk hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for the first week in January, and construction was nowhere near completed. Only 1 of the 4 buildings has been converted, a second is near completion, but two others are still "old" (each building has about 18 rooms). It is clear they will not be done for another year (eg end of 2013).

We initially hesitated to book this place, given the poor reviews, but called and were promised one of the newly renevated rooms, so we took our chances. Unfortunately two weeks before our arrival they called and said we would be stuck with an old room (I assume we were meant for the 2nd unit that is still being refurnished). We checked for other alternatives but given the last minute high season... we were stuck. I was disappointed they did not at least offer us a reduced rate. In short, I would not stay here until all the rooms are completely re-done. As well, I was told by the Dive guys that construction sounds were very loud (they'd paused over Christmas, so I can't say first hand), so another reason to wait....

Location: Is a long 30 minute walk from town and a 50 minute walk from the Albert Heijn grocery store. There are few restaurants around so you're either taxi'ing, renting a car, or doing long walks (our choice)... So not a convenient place unless you're planning on just doing diving (WannaDive - who were great, highly recommend) or sitting at the same beach all day, and eating at their onsite bar (Spice - good food, reasonable prices). All three are a 2 minute walk from your room.

Rooms: My wife called them "crap" (and we've just spent 3 months backpacking through south america!). I would be more polite and say very old and very outdated. Significant paint peeling, doors/windows that don't close properly, missing closet doors, etc etc... There is a cheapness that is everywhere - they've locked off the hot water in the kitchen and bathroom sink, the energy efficient light bulbs provide poor lighting and gives a very dim/gloomy view, etc etc. The pipes are old, so expect frequent blockages, the shower worked poorly/low pressure, the bed is rock hard, the curtains let in tons of light - so you should be an early riser...etc etc etc. The bar has loud music until late on the weekends and it will rattle your windows as you're so close. Not very good. Upsides? Decent size. Good, furnished kitchen with stove and fridge.

Service: Friendly and generally capable. They ordered us taxis properly and all the bills were fine. We had the maintenance guy in our room three times (broken fire alarm, safe door wouldn't close properly, and clogged pipes x2), and it took him ages to show up - the second time we called 3 times and it took four hours before he finally showed up (even the woman at the front desk was grumpy about him). Cleaning was good, but the dishes were given a basic "wash" and we had to re-clean them with soap (also hard to do with only cold water)

Beach: It's nice, decent number of chairs, however only 6 or 7 umbrellas... so you need to get up early to grab a good spot. You can walk straight into the water and see some decent marine life. As everyone else says, when the cruise ships come in (1-3 times per week), there is absolutely no seating - the below suggestion to go walk over to the public "beach" is a bit disingenious - minimal sand / mostly hard rocks/coral, not very pleasant. Just get up early and fight to keep your spot throughout the day (or else go tour the island)

Spice: Ate at the restaurant, service and food were good and the total cost was about $100 for two. Ate at the bar, also good and reasonable (eg burger/fries is $13, ham/cheese toastie is $4)... I would struggle to eat there everyday - limited menu. They have a one hour happy hour on Fridays and Saturdays (half price beer, house wine, and basic mixed drinks). We also ate at "Osaka" and "Appetite" restaurants in town - both were good ($100-130 for two people). Reservations for dinner are essential - all places only do one sitting, so limited spots.

WannaDive: Were great, one of 3 or 4 locations in Bonaire. Super friendly staff, reasonable prices, and good instructors. They speak English, Dutch, and Spanish well... I would definitely use them again - with daily guided dives and snorkelling at 9am and 2pm. Equipment rental rates were very reasonable. Definitely helped make up for the crummy hotel.

Room Tip: Wait until the end of 2013 and when renovations are completed. Until then - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnUkPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just got back from New Year's on Bonaire and wanted to thank the Eden peeps by writing about our stay. We booked the "room with balcony" as there were just two of us and LOVED it! Great view, - room was kinda small but for two - it was great - king sized bed was comfy and room was exactly what we had hoped to get with price paid. Balcony was AWESOME! You sacrifice room size for balcony but with no kids in tow ... No brainier! There was a mixup on the room but was dealt with well by the staff and corrected very quickly.

The beach bar is great to have for breakfast, lunch and drinks. The restaurant next door served really good dinner and you are RIGHT on the water. Two things to consider - when a cruise ship comes in, the beach area can get crowded with kids as the hotel has a deal with a cruise ship - once a week gig i think - so - If you want to avoid that - you can walk about 50 yards to the other side of the restaurant and ... You are on the locals beach access with a short walk back to the bar.

And on the construction comments I have seen which worried me to the point of packing the noise canceling headphones and being someone who has left paid for accommodations over construction noise -- puhleeze! Minimal ... And we were next to what appears to be the last building under construction. Maybe it was worse at some point but it does seem to be on one spot on the property - and not bad at all - there is some debris in sight from the balcony when you look towards the road where you come in so I just kept my eye on one of the best views overlooking water I have ever seen - and yes- balconies face northwest - sunsets were great. Bottom line to me - if you are expecting Sandals - go stay at a Sandals ... If you want clean room with great view and very nice staff and a convenient beach bar - stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.5 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.1 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Beach Resort

Property: Eden Beach Resort
Address: Kaya Gobernador Nicolaas Debrot 73, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Beach Hotel Bonaire
Eden Beach Bonaire
Eden Beach Resort Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing