We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice But.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice But.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Just got back from a wonderful one week stay in Bonaire 4/4 to 4/11. We very much enjoyed the apartment, Kadushi, with two important exceptions that I will mention below.
First the good, the host was extremely helpful, the rooms were large, clean and well maintained with the exception of no feather pillows which I prefer. We used the nice kitchen and saved a lot of cash by eating breakfast in the apartment. Although far from luxurious, I cant over emphasize how nice the apartment was. The Blachi Koko was convienently located to restuarants and diving facilities. We bought a pool pass at the nearby Plaza hotel to get our afternoon pool fix for the kids. We loved the Blachi Koko so dont take the negatives as deal killers but they certainly lowered our satisfaction level.
Now the two buyer beware issues:The apartment is Very Noisy at night and early morning unless you sleep with the air conditioner on. Every day at 7 am, construction workers began nearby with loud hammering. At night, noisy neighborhood dogs barked at anyone that passed by. Also, cars drove by at all hours of the night. With that said, shut the shades, turn on the air and most outside noises were covered by the equally noisy air conditiioner in the room that you get used to. The other MAJOR problem, which I understand was a problem throughout the island, were the mosquitos. Apparantly the rainy season was very rainy last year and the mosquitos were thick and made it impossible to enyoy the Kadushi deck without spraying yourself with OFF before you go outside. Inside was just as bad until we learned that you could never open the doors and that everytime you left you must spray the apartment with DEET. Prior to the use of DEET, my 8 year old and myself were covered with bites and literally had blood on the sheets after the first night of being attacked. The second night i had to sleep with the sheets over my head to avoid the bugs. By the end of the week, however, we had made the apartment Almost mosquito free but had gone through 3 large cans of DEET to get there. Spray the place thoroughly before you go to dinner (the smell is gone by the time you get back), never leave the doors open (no screens on the doors) and then the place is very enyoyable.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saltpro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Just came back from a wonderfull stay on Bonaire and “Blachi Koko” was great!
We booked our trip after reading the good reviews on the internet and I must say this was a very good choice! We booked apartment “chibi chibi” for 95us$, for this price you get a fully equipped apartment with a nice kitchen. This apartment is closest to the road , but we found road noise no issue at all, since ther is hardly any traffic.
The location is great, although “blachi koko” is not oceanfront (therefore not as expensive) it is only a few steps away from it. The garden is wonderfull to relax, lay in the hammock, read etc... . It’s only a 5 minute walk to town and all the nice restaurants. Altough it’s nice to rent a car on Bonaire, we only did this for half the time.
The owners are great and the service excellent, upon arrival we had some drinks in the fridge and a bottle of wine as a welcome!

We will come back next year!

Evelien & Ramon

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

After a previous visit to Bonaire, where we had stayed at the Harbour Village Resort, we decided to go again, and to try somewhere a little less expensive. Based in the Trip Advisor reviews we selected BK. Unfortunately, we found it to be quite noisy. The hotel is close to an intersection with a lot of traffic (esp. saturday night). In addition, there appears to be no end of local construction projects. The Bonaireans seem to really enjoying drilling/cutting concrete! We were also right next to some construction activity right outside of our kitchen window.

After 3 nights we moved back to Harbour Village. Much quieter (and much more expensive!)

The resort itself is very attractive and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The local dive shop is extremely convenient (1 min walk).

So, if you plan on being out all day every day this would be OK. If you expect to spend some time relaxing at your hotel, you may find the location a bit noisy.

The hosts were helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

My husband and I spent a terrific week in the large upstairs apartment of the Blachi Koko. The property was beautifully maintained, and our apartment had everything we needed, in addition to a massive private patio with tables, chairs and a hammock. Typical of the caribbean, AC is only in the bedrooms, but the breezes of Bonaire and fans kept our room comfortable. The apartments are located within walking distance of several restaurants, grocery stores, and dive sites, as well as the Plaza where you can pay to use the pool. We did rent a car for a few days so we could explore the island, and there is parking at the apartments.
In addition to the accomodations being great, the owners were wonderful. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, stocked our room with cold drinks before our arrival, and were always available to help us plan our days or offer up advice. They are a very friendly and hospitable couple who make you feel like old friends when you stay with them.
We can't wait to go back to Bonaire and the Blachi Koko!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HopeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2weeks. The accomodation is excellent. The rooms were very nicely furnished and cleaned frequently. There is a good sized room safe for all your valuables. Facilities for divers is good too, with a good size wash tank and storage area with hangers for kit. There is shore dive access just next to the apparments.
The hosts, Matthieu and Laetitia were very wellcoming and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. They had fish guides, good maps and lots of helpful advice.-thank you!
For diving we used Wannadive - they have 3 sites to exchange tanks.
Just a word of note, its worth checking your 'o' rings and contents when you collect them as they have such a frequent trunover that some half full tanks get mixed in with the full ones and some 'o' rings need replacing. I think this advice applies to all the companies not just Wannadive.
We hope to return to Bonaire again and intend staying at Blachi Koko.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UkBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

My family and I occupied two of the Blachi Koko apartments during a week of spectacular diving in July '08. Both apartments were spacious, charming, and a delight to return to after a full day of diving. The owners were professional, courteous, and added a personal touch to the experience. After an even cursory examination of many of the island's accommodations, my family agreed that we really lucked out with Blachi Koko Apartments and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Bonaire's diving is world-renown, so I don't need to go into that here - just know that the reefs of Bonaire are perhaps some of the last remaining healthy reefs in the Caribbean region and that there really are few places in the world better set up for easy, high-quality shore and boat diving. And I suppose I should also mention how pleased we were with the dining on Bonaire. While typically not a prerequisite for my dive trips, it was nice to have available a plethora of high quality restaurants that have fairly reasonable prices. I highly recommend Blachi Koko Apartments and the island of Bonaire for an unforgettable diving experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coralreefguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

Blachi Koko was the best choice we could make for our stay on Bonaire. The apartment was very spacious, cosy and clean. But even more important was the way it was decorated. Very tasteful and with all the luxury one needs. We really felt at home.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank momanTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.1 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire

Property: Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire
Address: Kaya Alemania 1 | Great Location, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blachi Koko apartments are truly unique, reflecting the inviting influence of Caribbean colonial living, in a private setting, offering a very special alternative to traditional hotel experiences. Proprietors, Matthieu Foudraine and Laetitia Sernaglia have carefully renovated and restored this classic Antillean colonial property, creating 3 two-bedroom apartments and 2 one-bedroom apartments. Each residence is appointed with a private kitchen, full bath, air-conditioning, and contemporary furnishings, accented with colors and styles elegantly influenced by Matthieu and Laetitia's worldly travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing