We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place close to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonrisa
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place close to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Very clean very nice...
The "drive through" of the hotels... you are practically by yourself. The reception opens from 7am to 12 and after that there is no one around.
Other than that... it is truly charming.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelus789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
52
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

This place was perfect for what I wanted: quiet, secluded, clean, no temptations of food or alcohol or partying.

I came for two weeks of windsurfing. The package deal with Bonaire Windsurf Place, and the discount on the rental car next door was seamlessly taken care of and I was "on my way", on the road exploring the island and on the water relearning the sport, without a hitch.

I work online and had to bring my computer with me for work in the mornings. The WiFi was everywhere and plenty fast and reliable (and I am used to fiber optic connections.)

A little fridge in my room meant I could stock some basics, and every morning I could get a fresh made sandwich and some tea or coffee (yogurt, fruits, etc) down at the front desk and chat with the other guests. Or not.

The center of town is a pleasant 5-10 minute walk away, lots of restaurants and a few bars.

If and when I come back to Bonaire, Sonrisa it'll be.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Sonrisa is a brand new bed & breakfast type hotel with 10 rooms. The cordial owners Jacqueline and Roger make a serious effort to keep the place super clean and professionally organized. The walled-in pool area and court yard with lots of palm trees and plenty of lawn chairs give you the illusion of being in an oasis. This easily compensates for the hotel not being right on the beach, in particular if you are in watersports and spend most of the day in or on the water anyways. The contemporarily furnished rooms have all one needs including quite AC, TV, fridge, etc. and something very rare in most hotels: excellent mattresses for that needed sleep after a long day practicing that carve jibe.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWHMenasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Our 2nd time to Bonaire for windsurfing. Stayed for 2 weeks. Sonrisa was perfect, 10 minute drive to windsurfing, can access town by foot (walked to town each night for dinner). Sonrisa is nice, clean, great pool and patio area/garden. The owners are very nice, helpful and accommodating. Nice little breakfast in the morning, suited all of our needs. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again. Loved it!!

  • Liked — Screened windows and fantastic beds!
  • Disliked — Some traffic noise.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

After a fantastic two week stay at Sonrisa, I was ready to move in.
I highly recommend this to all dive travelers. The dive shop that Sonrisa uses is awesome and they have 3 locations on the island. The hotel is close to the town, so it's easy to dive north or south. And there are dive shops that they work with both north and south, so it's always easy to get fresh tanks.

Sonrisa is a small and intimate hotel with the most wonderful staff and owners you could ask for. Jacqueline is an amazing host and will go out of her way to help make your stay memorable. They made our stay so nice with a tasty breakfast every morning. We also all got together for a nice bbq midweek. After checking out other hotels I would highly recommend the Sonrisa to anyone who wants a fantastic little hotel that may not be on the water, however makes up for it so many other ways. The location is very central - unlike many resorts, you can walk to restaurants and bars in town. Its 5 star in my book.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dpc6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed at Sonrisa Bonaire the last week of March 2008. We could not have been more pleased. Highlights included Jacqueline's willingness/enthusiasm to help us book whatever we needed-- this included reservations for a night snorkel with Woodwind (wonderful!), a last-day sail/snorkel, and reservations at Capriccio, an Italian restaurant that served up one of the best meals we've had in recent memory . . . anywhere. The property is cute and clean, and everyone in the family was pleased. A big plus-- Jacqueline serves strong, good coffee in the morning! She will give you as much as you want.

We do feel compelled to rebut the only partially negative review at Trip Advisor, which is dated January 7, 2008. Sonrisa has never advertised itself as on the water-- it is a five-minute walk to Divi Flamingo, which is the "first" on-water lodging that one hits when walking on the boardwalk leading to town. Town is maybe 7 to 10 minutes away-- we walked it several times a day, we always walked to dinner, and we sometimes intentionally walked a very long loop home to get some exercise. In other words, there is no problem (or misrepresentation by Sonrisa) about location. As for the pool, our youngest was in the pool about 6 hours on day 1, so it seemed fine to us. No problem with pool size or availability of shade and pool chairs. (If you want a gigantic pool, a la Sandals in the Bahamas, this place isn't for you.) Our two-bedroom apartment was immaculately maintained and plenty big. Finally, we are clueless about the complaint about mud-- maybe that reviewer arrived after a freak thunderstorm? Nary a drop fell from the sky while we were on Bonaire, so we had no mud "problems."

Our family relies heavily on Trip Advisor reviews when booking lodging. We want unique, small places with genuine and interesting guests and proprietors. If that's what you are after, you will love Sonrisa.

p.s. Papaya Moon serves excellent Tex-Mex on the island. Who knew? Have a great time on Bonaire, and don't eat too much!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, assistance in booking activities, and free breakfast.
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrej28
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Jacqueline (owner) is very friendly and very dedicated to making your trip the best.

Sonrisa is more a pousada than a hotel in my mind, which is a big plus: you get a much more personalized service by an owner who enjoys her job; you feel a lot of taste and care is put in the design and maintenance of the place which is really clean.

The building, garden, patio are very nice. Check their website, their prices are quite lower that the 200$ currently quoted on Trip Advisor. I felt that it was a good value.

We stayed in a poolside hotel room on the ground floor. It was a standard size for a hotel room. We enjoyed the view on the pool which guests used very little. So we could enjoy it fully! Other reviews mention that the area is rather commercial / in development. On the ground floor, you are definitely isolated from the exterior thanks to the design of the place. Morning & evenings are very quiet. I can't say during the day as we were out enjoying the island but it did not seem to be noisy.

Jacqueline should pitch her breakfast a bit better than a "sandwich and a cafe" as it was really good.

It's definitely a great place for families and windsurfers. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Liked — the care of the owner
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alexandrej28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.5 mi away
BnBBonaire
BnBBonaire
#15 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonrisa

Property: Sonrisa
Address: Kaya Finlandia z/n, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sonrisa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Kralendijk (Capital) with a nice garden and swimmingpool walking distance from restaurants, supermarket and beach. We have eight hotelrooms and two - one, two or three bedroom/bathroom apartments with very comfortable beds. There's also a wetcell where you can rinse and store your dive gear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonrisa Hotel Kralendijk
Sonrisa Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing