We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Casa in Cuba!”
Review of Casa Obrapia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Obrapia
Ranked #88 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Casa in Cuba!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stay here if you can! I recommend it.

Just got back from Havana yesterday, stayed in 4 different Casas during my 2 week travel around the island, I can honestly say this one is the best by a mile.

Paid $34 CUC (£21) for a room with breakfast ($30 CUC without breakie), sadly only stayed one night though. It was a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh juice, coffee, scrambled eggs (very well cooked by the way) and the only decent bread I've had since arriving in Cuba.

The rooms are very well designed with a modern contemporary feel to them, the Casa has been lovingly restored with massive high ceilings, great art around the walls and beautiful stained glass throughout the flat.

There is air-conditioning that works in the bedrooms, which is required in Havana, each rooms has a safe you get a key for, and I got lovely soft white towels that smelled flowery and it was all very clean throughout the casa.

Each room has an en-suite loo and shower with hot and cold high pressured running water, this is a massive luxury in Cuba. Having struggled to shower and wash my hair in the dripping showers elsewhere, it was a real treat to come here. It was also the first time I really slept well in Cuba as the room I stayed in was away from the main street so there were no chickens crowing, no horse and carts thundering down the street, no locals shouting out about the goods they are selling. I didn’t miss them either.

The casa is on a side street just behind the main shopping area in Havana, it’s really easy to find as a two minute walk into the hustle and bustle.

The owner(Raydel) is very friendly, and helped us by booking a taxi to the airport. He has internet access there which is rare in Cuba too and also let us leave our cases there for the day before we had to leave for the airport.

Down side, I don’t really have one except if you are a large couple you may find the rooms a tiny bit small for a Salsa but there is a large living room you can practice in, with the massive balcony doors looking out over the street below. Any way a single person I had more than enough room for me and my large case and a little Salsa. Loved this one!

Room Tip: As with all Casas don’t forget to negotiate a discount if you are staying for a more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    44
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
87
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
P200e
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We spent a total of 6 nights at Casa Obrapia (3 nights at the beginning and 3 nights at the end f our travels) and really loved the stylish decor, cleanliness, and location. They serve breakfast and dinner upon requests, but the options are very limited for vegetarians; we only ate (breakfast) once during our stay. We recommend paying a couple of more CUCs and go to the breakfast buffet at the Hotel Ingletera (5-10 minutes walk). The house itself is situated on a not the best looking street, but it's very safe (we've walked home late a few times and had no issues) and one block from Calle Obispo, the main vein of Havana Vieja. You're walking distance to everything!

Room Tip: We stayed in both room #2 and #3. Room #2 was smaller, but had a safe, while #3 had more space, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P200e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This stylish B&B is located on a stretch of Obrapia that looks pretty slummy, but the casa itself is impeccably clean and beautifully restored. There are several guest rooms, and their downside is that they're quite small (though with dramatic 17-foot ceilings!) However, you can hang out in the cozy salon (with a great balcony overlooking the street) on at one of the tables in the inner courtyard. The owner, Raydel, while friendly, didn't interact with us a lot. But he struck us as being both very professional and blessed with excellent taste in design.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Vaud, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

very good situation in old La Havana, nice rooms in a colonial house with a little patio, food was ecxellent and the room was clean and had averything like AC, nice bathroom and hot water.
We would definitely advice you to go there if you plan to visit la Havana!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

It was the first „casa particular“ on our trip in cuba and we were very surprised about the „Casona Obrapia“. The stylish rooms (totally four) have all comfort you need: air-con, fan, ensuite-bathroom, safebox and a comfortable bed. The breakfast is very tasty, the dinners is the better option for dining then the restaurants. The main attractions are in walking-distance. Raydel and his staff are really nice and helpful, giving us great tips for day- and nightlife in Havana and also helped us with the planning of our trip and finding other great casas in Cuba. Don’t miss the bar Chanchullero (in walking-distance) for great Mojitos ;-)
Don’t think twice: La Casona Obrapia is a wonderful address. you can book it directly here: reservaobrapia405@gmail.com,
fon +53 7 862 8285
mobile + 53 5 291 7099. have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank my_traveldiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

reservaobrapia405@gmail.com


Travelled July 12, stayed there for 3 nights, brilliant location, very safe we walked at all hours of the night and never had any altercations. Raydel was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. Rooms are nice and clean and have everything one would need.
Thanks so much for all your help!
Gemma & Thomas

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The owner Raydel is my book of answer in Cuba. He's very resourceful and helpful and I've got things sorted out in Havana with his help when I needed it the most. The rooms are tastefully-furnished with all the comforts you can ask for and Alex is an amazing cook. Highly recommend it for staying in the old town of Havana.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#60 of 79 in Havana
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Obrapia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Obrapia

Property: Casa Obrapia
Address: Obrapia no. 405, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing