We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Obrapia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$659
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
Official Website
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
134
49
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
49
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecurity cameraslounge roomold havanasafe place to stayhot waterair conpedestrian streetper nightboutique hotelgreat mojitosspiral staircasewhere breakfast is servedrooftop terraceguest houseeasy walking distancefresh fruitexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Wonderful accommodation, helpful owner, great food (dinners in were better than those in restaurants!) Highly recommend staying here in one of their 4 rooms.

The owner even booked us on a 9-person van for our trip to Cienfuegos, thus we were picked up at Casa Obrapia and delivered right to our next accommodation, more comfortable and more convenient that bus travel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMN501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Having stayed at quite a few casas particulares throughout Cuba, I was VERY pleasantly suprised by La Casona de Obrapia... This is not "a spare room in someone's house" as per most casas, but rather an old building in Havana Vieja specifically renovated to provide basic accommodation for tourists. As such, it feels much more like a high-end hostel, or a budget hotel, than a typical casa (so if you're looking for the "living with a Cuban family" experience, you won't get that here; but if you just want somewhere clean & simple & inexpensive to stay, with a more hotel-like level of privacy, this is the place for you!). Since everything is new, the place feels relatively modern and is spotlessly clean. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny - but they are brand new and that counts for a lot in Cuba! The rooms are very basic but provide everything you need - a/c, fans, blankets, crisp white sheets (a luxury in cuba!) and comfortable beds. And pillows that don't feel like lumps of mushed-up foam (you'll know what I mean if you've spent any time at all in Cuba!). The ceilings are high, and the common area with sofas is a nice touch. Only real downside is no windows/natural light in rooms - but this is pretty common in Havana casas I think.

The owner, Raydel, is very helpful and speaks decent English. He can also help you out with finding accommodation in other towns (eg. Vinales) if you're moving on from Havana...

For 30ish CUCs per night, I think this is a great value accommodation proposition you'll in Havana. Excellent location in the middle of Havana Vieja - street feels a bit gritty, but you're just one block away from all the cafes & restaurants of Calle Obispo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elklondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Despite its outer appearance this casa is beautiful inside. High ceilings, beautiful colours, large communal space and we had a lovely, clean en suite room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good but we only had it one day as we found a great little bakery on Obispo.
We spent 3 nights here and its location just one block from Obispo was great for exploring Havana Vieja. It was very safe and quiet, we had no problems walking back at night.
Unfortunately for what we were hoping from our first experience in a casa it was not what we expected, especially compared to our experiences since...the owners were not as helpful/forthcoming with advice as some places we stayed but i would definitely recommend this casa to anyone wanting to stay in a casa particular :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

On our first trip to Cuba and decided to stay with the locals. A little put off when we pulled up outside but as with all the casa's we stayed in it was a hidden gem once in side. Very clean, individual style bed rooms colourful bathrooms and aircon. Breakfasts of fresh fruit and eggs with plenty of coffee. It could not be better placed being in the heart of the old town and the owner could not be more helpful. I would recommend any one to stay at these Casa Principals and especially this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We missed the entrance at night, dragging our bags from where the taxi deposited us, as no name outside, only street number. Once inside it was a different world: very bright, clean, comfortable rooms, teeny bathroom but with all one required. In our opinion, it's not necessary to change the bedding daily! Reydel was charming and recommended a good place to eat. Although only one block from the main hub of activity in the old town, it was a quiet location. Enjoyed our three days [24-26 Jan] and would definitely stay there again. Excellent breakfast and, as someone else commented, the best coffee we had during our two weeks.

Room Tip: Only saw two of the three rooms, but similar with slightly different decor. They have aircon which we didn't need.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews