We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in Havana, disappointing breakfast.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Frailes Boutique Hotel Havana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Frailes Boutique Hotel Havana
Ranked #506 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Stonesfield, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location in Havana, disappointing breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Set in the centre of old Havana, this hotel boasts an excellent location for viewing the sights and visiting the local bars and restaurants. Our room was clean and quite well-appointed, though it was rather disturbing when water was trickling down through the spotlight above the bath. A maintenance monk attended but it continued to drip, so I bathed in the dark. Although the room was quite pleasant it suffered from total lack of natural light as there were no windows. It felt a bit claustrophobic. Also, the breakfast arrangements were rather disappointing. We took it at a cafe just over the road but the quality of food offered was quite poor and the service haphazard. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay as Havana was such an interesting city, but another time I would choose a hotel with rooms with some windows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ménerbes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a wonderful find this hotel was in old Havana. The staff were charming and helpful although the men are dressed as monks it was not a monastery it is just the theme they have adopted. It is extremely well located for all the sites in old Havana so you could walk almost everywhere, although you will need a car if you go to Ernest Hemingway's house which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Do book a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giverny112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Los Frailes is in an excellent location. In the center of Habana Vieja, it is extremely well located for the historical part of the city. The rooms are clean, well equipped and with a mini bar and good selection of TV channels. Set in an old monastary the whole hotel is themed as such. The staff are dressed as monks (including cleaners). The doors to rooms are very old, huge wooden doors. The rooms are old monastic rooms, and therefore the standard doubles do not have any windows. This didn't bother us and added to the character of the place. The rooms are set around an inner courtyard, which is very atmospheric and nicely kept, developing the monastic theme very well.

If you want a window in your room, then best pay for an upgrade or find a different hotel. The staff were efficient but not overly helpful. The internet (a problem it seems in most hotels in Cuba - we went to 3 others before we could find working computers/internet) was not working on the computer in reception. Breakfast was not the best we have had in Cuba.
Oveall a good hotel, that we would recommend for a short stay in Havanna.

Room Tip: Want a window, pay for an upgrade. All the standard doubles are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel is a converted monastery so is very atmospheric, right in the middle of the historic part of Havana. Would recommend upgrading room as some do not have windows - we had a junior suite which I had emailed the hotel to request - we paid 30 CVCs( £22) each for the 2 night upgrade (as was booked as part of a package don't know the actual cost of the room) and the room had two french windows with balconies overlooking the street below. Breakfast is at a nice restaurant across from the hotel. The room and bathroom was spotless with no creepie crawlies. Very friendly staff. Havana is amazing - music everywhere and very safe. Food generally in Cuba is nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burdie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I visited this stunning little hotel on a visit to Cuba last January and only now noticed i have not left a review. I was on a 10 night ai and 4 nights in havana break, I was so bored with the ai that i swapped to leave early for havana, at 1st el comodoro or something hotel which was awful and i paid extra to move here. The hotel used to be a friary or monastery and the staff wear a robe they would have worn, the rooms individual and perfectly suited to the building which has several full size copper monks around the hotel which tourists from outside took great delight in having their pictures taken with. The staff fantastic (they work 24 hours at a time then 2 days off) the location near a picturesque square which had a small film festival while I was there stunning and the restaurant in the corner actually had the buena vista social club playing and I was lucky enough to see them play, only drawback was the bfast served at restaurant on the corner which was sub par but still really enjoyed my time here and would highly recommend it to anyone. sorry about the long delayed review but so well deserved.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms would be nice but the one i had overlooking the streat with a little balcony was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellinman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Staff is very friendly. The rooms have no windows and strong musty smell. This cost $160 which is a bit of a ripoff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpolides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Had a short 3 day trip to Havana - which is a fabulous city. We had booked to stay in a junior suite at the hotel Commendador for my other half's birthday. Due to overbooking we were moved into the cheaper Los Frailes on the understanding that we had a junior suite. On arrival at Los Frailes we were given a windowless room. I asked for us to be moved to a suite as we had paid for this, and was told that none were available. After creating a stink for 30 mins a junior suite suddenly became available! I think this is really bad practice and left both of us with a really bad first impression of the staff and management. the rest of the trip however was lovely, and with the exception of this start our stay in Los Frailes was lovely, with friendly staff and helpful. However, our departure was also diffcult. We had booked flights on Cayman Airways and the airline changed our return flight to a day earlier than planned. We checked out a day early (having pre-paid, and having paid for our mini-bar bill) but were called back to the hotel after we were en route to the airport - the hotel called our taxi - for some unknown reason. We had to return and wait for 10 mins before being told we could leave!

So, in short, a great little place to stay - BUT if you want a junior suite you may want to stay somewhere else where they honour their obligations.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1300.6 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
70.8 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
5.8 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.8 mi away
Casaverde
Casaverde
#248 of 690 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Buena Vista
Casa Buena Vista
#105 of 690 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Frailes Boutique Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Frailes Boutique Hotel Havana

Property: Los Frailes Boutique Hotel Havana
Address: Calle Teniente Rey, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing