We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommanded accomodation in Havana”
Review of Casa Mer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Mer
Ranked #49 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed 6 night (30 CUC/room/night) in this casa particular with a friend at the end of January 2013, beginning of February. We simply loved it!!! The location, the hosts, the atmosphere, the coziness and comfort! Excellent choice!

Senora Mercedes, her son Wilfredo and the nephew Alejandro are great hosts and their home offers an oasis of green tranquility in Vedado. The location is excellent because it allows a better picture of the city itself. I highly recommend travelers to try and discover the other parts of the city, not just Habana Vieja, and the best way to explore the very pretty and leafy Vedado is to choose to stay there. Taxis are about 5 CUC in and out of the historic center and the ride is worthy, Alejandro has a car and takes guests every morning to the city center. There are also nice venues to dine out in Vedado, as well as some landmark places one must visit in Havana (Hotel Nacional, Fresa y Chocolate for jazz, Plaza de la revolucion, el Malecon, etc.).

The house is very beautiful, pre-revolution architecture, very spacious, nice garden, big and comfortable rooms, well equipped bathrooms and all the comfort one might need,The beds are very good!! (during our trip through Cuba we encountered some dramatically bad beds:-)) A special mention to the cleanliness of the house, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless and elegantly furnished, bedsheets smell great, so much better than some hotels we have seen in Varadero! Breakfast is excellent (5 CUC per person) and the hosts have always good advise to offer and a solution for any kind of issues concerning planning trips around the island.

I highly recommend this casa particular for those who travel to Havana for leisure as well as business. We had an excellent time there. Many thanks again to Mercedes, Wilfredo and Alejandro!

Room Tip: You can ask for double beds room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank narcisvlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at Casa mer on our first few nights in havana, and then again on the last 2, before heading out of the country.
I cannot recommend this place enough.
First: if you re trying to pick between staying in vedado or havana vieja, I strongly recommend picking the former. its more airy, open, residential, a break from the hustle and bustle of Old havana, the noise, the crowds. after you spend your days roaming old havana, its so nice to go back to vedado, for some down time.
Second, many of Havana's must see sights are actually in vedado, so you re not at all far away from where you wanna be.
this casa has it all: friendly and knowledgable owners, real people, a real family, that is eager to help and advice you on your trip, but is not in your face in a touristy sort of way. they re wonderful people, educated, well mannered, and best of all,kind. their casa is immaculately clean and comfortable, its rooms spacious, high ceilinged, comfortable, the breakfast wonderful, their backyard amazing for making you feel like you re really on holiday.
After having spent 8 days in cuba, and a few nights in other casas, in cienfuegos, trinidad etc, I can honestly say that this was the best place we stayed at. and i cant imagine it getting any better.
if you have to choose, please choose this one. Amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Mer. They were wonderful with our baby and made us feel really welcome. They even managed to cook us a dinner on the evening of our arrival with short notice, although they made it clear that they were not willing to provide any further dinners and so we had to go to restaurants in the neighbourhood. The highlight for me was the art deco bathroom in green and black...unbelievable, loved it. A beautiful and relaxed house in a nice neighbourhood. We would recommend this casa to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

A lovely house to stay in away from the tourist crowd in Viejo Havana. Leafy Vedado is quiet and relaxed where you mingle with the locals, but easy by taxi or shared taxi in an old 1950 American car to get to all sightseeing areas.

Wilfredo and his mum are lovely hosts and you will enjoy good breakfasts and a comfortable stay.
They are also trustworthy and will help you in any way they can.
A really good casa to stay and be part of the family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed with the previous reviewer at Casa Mer and can by all means affirm his review. I had a most enjoyable stay at Casa Mer. The family, Mercedes, her son Wilfredo, and her grandson, Alejandro, are gracious and most helpful hosts and will definitely make you feel like part of the family. Ask them anything, and they can provide useful information about Havana and Cuba in general. And Alejandro can drive you into town in his Lada for 6 cuc or so (about a 10 min drive). As Jeff mentioned, the dining room opens out to a nice porch and backyard, where we spent our mornings and evenings over a coffee or glass of rum. And even their dog is sweetheart.

So if you plan to visit Havana, this is without a doubt the place to stay. It's way more personal and intimate place than any of the pricier hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you want to experience Havana not just as a tourist, but also as locals experience Havana, I recommend you stay in a casa particular. And what better place to do that than in leafy, residential Vedado?

This big, 1940s home houses a small extended family that has lived here for generations. A family of doctors, they have registered with the government to run a guest house, in order to supplement their incomes. They are really lovely people.

When I was there, there were a couple of rooms available, each with two beds, and one big bath that adjoins the two rooms. There is a nice porch in back, with rocking chairs, a big yard with fruit trees, and at the end of the yard, views of Havana.

I ate at Hotel Nacional, government cafeterias, cafes, paladars, and they may have had the best food at Casa Mer. Breakfast was 5 CUC and every morning it was a different kind of eggs, a pitcher of fresh-blended juice with mango, banana, etc., fresh fruit, different breads, strong Cuban coffee... dinner 10 CUC we had chicken and potatoes one night, lightly battered and pan-fried marlin another, always with more food than you could eat - tomatoes, cucumbers, rice, beans, breads, soup, desert, etc. Sorry travelers but Wilfredo if you are reading this you should raise your dinner price!

I also really enjoyed Vedado. Cabs are everywhere and you can get one to Habana Vieja for no more than 10 CUC. There are a number of paladars nearby also - El Farallon is pretty good. It is very close to Necropolis Cristobal Colon, a nice walk to Plaza de Revolucion. Various small businesses nearby, and also a CADECA money exchange. And a little farther away in Vedado, towards the Malecon, there are all sorts of bars, nightclubs, music venues, and of course Hotel Nacional.

Oh, at time of visit rooms were 30 CUC.

Highly recommended Cuban experience!

Casa Mer
Calle 28 Nº206
entre 21 y 19
Vedado, C.Habana, Cuba
telefono (537) 833 4412
licencia Nº 8804
www.casamer.justincuba.com/

email Wilfredo at casamer@justincuba.com

Room Tip: Oops, there is no swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Casa Mer is an Oasis in Havana. If you really want good, trustworthy accommodation then this is the place for you. We had an up and down trip to Cuba, our last trip was our honeymoon 10 years ago-we had a fabulous time. It was inexpensive and the people were amazing. You'll see in some of my upcoming reviews that this is now not always the case but I can say with conviction that Casa Mer rescued our vacation. We booked 3 days with Mercedes and her son Wilfredo in this well maintained gem but were so disillusioned with our previous lodgings that we called to extend by a further 3 days. This was no problem at all for them. Incidentally, they both spoke a little English which was helpful.
I am a big Deco fan and this was a real treat. The place is in very good order with many original features, It is furnished with classic pieces from the 40's and 50's even the General Electric fridge that Mercedes remembers her father buying. It still works perfectly, we chilled our champagne for our anniversary in it and shared it with our hosts. There is a quiet, clean and tidy relaxing garden behind with views over to the river. Reading in the sun on the rocking chairs is most pleasant.
The area is mainly residential and you feel safe at any time of day or night. It is not in the centre of all the action of the city or old town which is perfect after a day of tourist overload. There are no street hustlers or worrying people here. There is plenty to occupy yourself with nearby with some architectural beauties. We loved going over the bridge to Miramar, home to some spectacular embassy buildings. Getting further away is best achieved on the hop on hop off Havanatur open top bus, only $5 for the whole day until around 6pm. There are many local restaurants and peso stores. They have good food and are very good value.
The proprietors are what really make this establishment work so well. They are kind, helpful and charming, they really can't do enough for you. You are in good medical company here, Mercedes' 3 children are all doctors.
They made us fabulous coffee each morning. We did not try breakfast but I am sure it would have been good. Unlike other Casas they did not charge for coffee and telephone calls, Wilfredo told us it would not feel right. I think he should charge but we left a good tip to cover this anyway, I think you all should too. The price at 30cuc per night represents extremely good value. We have stayed in many of Havana's "top" locations and if we return we'll stay here again.
Now I have said before that I am a bad reviewer because I give top marks so often but really this place would be getting 6 if I could add another mark!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good but we noticed some were twin so if you want a double just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajscubapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
5.9 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
4.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,774 reviews
9.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,538 reviews
6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mer

Address: Calle 28 # 206 | e/21 y 19, Vedado, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing