We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 43 Nightlife in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Youll find yourself humming Guantanamera on the ride home from this famous open-air nightclub show that presents a song-and-dance performance reminiscent of 1950s Cuba.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Like most things in Cuba, time stopped at the Tropicana. The venue is kept the same way since it's opening. No trip to Havana is complete without a visit to the Tropicana. The show is very well produced, the costumes, the lights , the stage very well designed.
I find difficult to express in words the richness of the orchestra, and the singing. The girls are beautiful, and I guess the boys are good looking as well.
A wonderful evening,
The company of my lovely wife, a good meal at the restaurant, the show, one of a kind, a bottle of rum, beautiful girls...what more can a man ask for.
Priceless.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Szurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    469
    233
    102
    81
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

show was awesome. seating was terrible...wedding style vs theater style. made for an uncomfortable evening. We did the havana special tour from varadero. It was nice but after such a long day it would have been nice to have a comfortable seating arrangement at the show. We were gone from our hotel for 19 hours!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very expensive 80cuc (£55) + meal 25cuc (£17) + taxi 30cuc (£30) night out for a family of four. Loud brash and am sure this was very popular int h 40s & 50s but I do not feel it was authentic. Take a walk down any street in old Havana and listen to the music, stop and go in to the restaurant and enjoy a much cheaper and better night out. We had 3 brilliant nights out in Havana for the price of one trip to the Tropicana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjbChel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lights, Music, Action!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I don't think that a trip to Havana is complete without an evening at the Tropicana. It is not cheap and from our hotel on the edge of the old town was a 15/20 minute good taxi drive. The club is very well organised and you are shepherded in to your seats according to the price you have paid. A bottle of rum is delivered to each couple and the show begins. We had medium priced seats and could see most parts of the spectacle; however, there was some action on the stages above my head which I could not see; this did not detract from a fabulous show. Incredibly bright, colourful and with tremendous music. A memorable evening which was topped off by our taxi driver who, as promised, was waiting at the exit to whisk us back to our hotel. For such service I bequethed him our unopened bottle of rum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiremoonraker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tropicana show, colourful but stuck in the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were slightly railroaded into going on this optional trip whilst visiting Havana. Told it was a bit of authentic Cuba that told its history.

It was undeniably colourful and the opening was great but then it turned into pretty much the same dance but in different coloured costumes. There was no narrator or introduction to explain how this all depicted the Country's history. The show started in 1939 and they seem to have not changed anything since that point.

The showcost 50 cuc and this was a special price. We got half a litre of rum and 2 cans of cola per 2 people together with a small dish of nuts.

If I had the chance again I would have chosen to spend the evening in Havana Town instead for a more authentic taste of Cuban life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank beverleyminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing