We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 43 Nightlife in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Youll find yourself humming Guantanamera on the ride home from this famous open-air nightclub show that presents a song-and-dance performance reminiscent of 1950s Cuba.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We done a 3 day 2 night tour of Havana from our hotel in the Cayo,s. On the second night we visited the Tropicana show.. What an excellent night it was. Greeted at the door with a cigar for men & a flower for ladies we were shown to our seats where we were given a glass of bubbly. There was a bottle of rum to every 4 people + 4 cans of coke. The show was great & the costumes stunning. Overall it was a good night & good value for money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    480
    242
    105
    83
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricey . . . But a piece of history (I guess)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Celebrating its 75th birthday this year, the Tropicana was a must do cabaret back before the lock down, and now it's a bit of a pricey gimmick, but still glitzy and colourful.

I've seen the BVSC before and the dancing looked a lot more precise and on time, but at Tropicana it seemed like there were holes in the timing. The costumes and dancers were impressive, as was the singing, but the value was not there for me.

We paid the $95 seats without dinner . . . More than a concert in Australia or the USA, and got seated in a very squashed table on cane chairs no that close to the stage. So I guess I would've appreciated it more if the cost of the ticket and the free glass of sparkling wine and small bottle of rum was more appealing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TopLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were there on 11th May with a tour group. The show is very entertaining. Enjoyed it to the utmost. It can be compared with Moulin Rouge in Paris. Worth the money to go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take a Walk Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A Little expensive I'll grant you $100 for show and Drink plus a cigar,+ $30 for Dinner but the experience was worth every penny. And at home we would pay the same for a good night out.

We booked via our hotel and were given a table right by the stage perfect for taking pictures of which i took loads.

My husband works for a Cruise line and said his Singers and Dancers must never again complain about hours of work or pay again. These Ladies and Gents put on a show 7 days a week for 2 ½ hours with such energy we were awestruck, and we were taken back to a different time and loved every minute.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAZGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Like most things in Cuba, time stopped at the Tropicana. The venue is kept the same way since it's opening. No trip to Havana is complete without a visit to the Tropicana. The show is very well produced, the costumes, the lights , the stage very well designed.
I find difficult to express in words the richness of the orchestra, and the singing. The girls are beautiful, and I guess the boys are good looking as well.
A wonderful evening,
The company of my lovely wife, a good meal at the restaurant, the show, one of a kind, a bottle of rum, beautiful girls...what more can a man ask for.
Priceless.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Szurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing