We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Loved staying here, purely for the fact it is right opposite the iconic Havana sea wall.
Only stayed one night as part of a two day organised excursion from our All Inclusive resort. Hotel is a fairly short cab ride into the main tourist/historic areas, but its worth walking along the sea wall which should only take you about 20 minutes.
Rooms are OK if not a little dated but kept clean. The public areas are impressive and you get a real sense of history. The food is good and the drinks are reasonably priced(compared to european standards).
Havana is a colouful but poor city. People are generally friendly and keen to talk to visitors and give you their point of view of the world and their country. There is a minor level of harrasment from people deparate for US dollars or tourist pesos. The city is generally safe, although I would use the normal street smarts when moving round the city at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of sea wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popeyeNqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    2,165
    1,005
    365
    195
See reviews for
783
2,434
331
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights during our recent trip to Cuba. It's a really imponent hotel that affirm itself in the neighbourhood, as we enter in the lobby I thought "wow!"... a little vintage but that give you the sense of being in a part of the history.

As we get to our room in the 2nd floor, near to the presidential suite, we understand that in our room stayed some famous musician a long time ago! The room was nice, looked as at been refurbished recently, but the bathroom was not impressive.

The hotel has good outside areas, near pools and at the back with views to the Malecón and we were lucky because was time for Cuban Carnival and all the cubans were out in the street down the Malecon seeing the Carnival cars passing by.

The hotel is not central, is in the Vedado, but in the morning we pick up an old convertible taxi to Old Havana and we came back in Coco Taxi - a must :)

The swiming pool at the our we rush in was completly full of people and was difficult to find a chaise long to put our towels and lay down, but after a while we get one and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon resting our legs from the all day walking.

The breakfast was nice and we tryed the both days staying near the swiming pool window for getting more light, inside it's a little bit dark!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anasoraiagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulcinj, Montenegro
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The lobby and the common areas are terrific but a hotel isn't made only of that, specially if it's supposed to be 5 stars.
When I arrived no one offered to carry my luggages, so I had to carry it up the stairway in front of the hotel and then to my room after the check-in. I was not intended to save on tips.
It took 10 minutes untill the reception clerk noticed me and there was nobody else waiting. The first room they designated me was not ready, It was not cleaned after the last guest ckecked-out, so I had to go to reception again, carrying my luggages, to get another room.
Back to the another room - carrying my luggages - it was small, dark, smelly and old. As it is a historical building, it's okay the antique furniture, but wardrobe's doors should open properly, bathroom's door should close adequately, and the carpet and the curtains must be changed - they were full of stains and I think it had a terrible mold smell.
The mattress was easily the worst I've ever slept. It was too soft and its softness was notably because it was very old.
The bathroom was very small but at least it was clean.
The air conditioning system brought a terrible smoke smell in the middle of the night.
Breakfast is just average but I may have misjudged it after a terrible night.
I recommend a visit and a few drinks at the hotel but that's all.

Room Tip: Maybe the U$ 1,000 per night presidential suite is worth the stay. But I doubt,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricArthurBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here some time ago and promised myself to return. So I stayed at the Hotel Nacional again and found it to be as good as last time I was there. The location of the hotel is amazing, close to the sea and to other main attractions in Havana, walking with history in the midst of superb architecture. I would strongly recommend staying at the Hotel Nacional. I did my reservation directly at the hotel’s website (www.hotelnacionaldecuba.com) and everything worked perfectly again. I’m definitely thinking about coming back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNACIONAL, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Customer of the Trip advisor
First of all, I want you to say thank you due to your opinions about our services. We thank you for chose The National Hotel during your stay in Havana.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a happy stay between us. These opinions help the hotel management to keep the service standards, which are the ones which make you, chose us for your next visité.
Best regards
Belkis bero
guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 1night while on a trip to Havana from Varadero. A really beautiful hotel. The best bar area is the one with all the pictures of the famous people who have stayed there. The lobby area is gorgeous, as are the gardens and terraces.

Unfortunately the grandeur stops there. The rooms are quite basic and outdated. Ours looked a little shabby. The food in the buffet restaurant was quite limited and not of a very good standard.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed with my wife at the Hotel Nacional as part of a wonderful tour to Havana a few weeks ago.

I was very excited to be staying at such a historic landmark hotel being interested in the history and politics of Cuba and Havana.

The hotel has a magnificent location overlooking the Malecon and the Atlantic coast. The gardens and terrace take full advantage of this and it is a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail and watch the sun go down.

Our room were fine - not huge but comfortable - a little dated but this is part of the charm of the hotel...

We used the pool (the kidney shaped one) - lovely to have a dip but not huge. Nice place to have a coffee next to the pool which we did.

We ate at the buffet (dinner and breakfast) - standard fare for these types of places - nothing special.

The lobby is fantastic - a hive of activity with people coming and going. The staff were helpful - they organised a 1 hour tour for us around Havana in an old American 1950s convertible car (30 pesos) which was great and I highly recommend you do it while in Havana - it brought us to places where off the standard beaten track (Miramar, etc).

There are quite a few boutiques/souvenir shops in the basement

One hint - make sure you have American type plugs for your appliances as the hotel was built in the 1930s and our room only took the US type plug pins.

Overall, I think if you are in Havana, you should consider staying here as it is steeped in recent history - take a look at all the famous people who have stayed here (pictures everywhere) both pre and post revolution...!

Havana is a great city to visit and The Hotel Nacional is its most famous....!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNACIONAL, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Customer of the Trip advisor
First of all, I want you to say thank you due to your opinions about our services, what we let know to the rest of the employees. We thank you for chose The National Hotel during your stay in Havana.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a happy stay between us. These opinions help the hotel management to keep the service standards, which are the ones which make you, chose us for your next visité.
Best regards
Belkis bero
guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Although this is a self-acclaimed 5-star hotel, it's not really - some loose bathroom fittings and an absence of tea/coffee facilities in the room cannot really claim to be 5-star. The hotel seems to suffer from some faded grandeur, basking in its former magnificance as a place frequented by the stars. While the lobby and hallways are impressive, the rooms are run-of-the-mill.
The pools are ok and the view out across the harbour is great.
The breakfast buffet it plentiful and of a good standard, while the meals in the eatery lunchtime are reasonably priced and fill a hole, without being overwhelming!
I wouldn't necessarily recommend having more than a couple of nights here as there's not too much to do - I suppose you could take a city tour (which is ok at best) or go to see the Tropicana show (which is just cabaret to be honest).
As for the hotel though, it's a nice place offering a good night's sleep and would still recommend it as a place to stop in Havana.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,640 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing