We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havana History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was in Havana for 6 days and stayed at this beautiful historic hotel. The curving driveway entrance and beautiful lobby entrance is filled with charm and historical architecture. The rooms were ok- I was on the 4th floor which felt a bit damp but once you put your key card in the indoor slot (inside the room to activate electricity and AC) it was fine. The room was a good size for one person- two would be ok as well. It was clean, though the carpet could use a good shampoo. Front desk staff was helpful, as well as doormen. Changing money in the lobby is easy, was able to get some last minute gift items on the lobby level gift shop; also a liquor store on this level. In basement two more shops, great breakfast buffet; great pool side- enjoyed many a Mojitos and Cuba Libres at on site bar. Good distance from Old Havana and tourist attractions - you need a taxi. Neighborhood not dangerous but be a smart traveler. Evening entertainment from 6pm to about 11pm on the large back "veranda".

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diaspora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,660 - 2,666 of 5,721 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a wonderful time-we had Gary Cooper's room. The staff were wonderful as were the waiting staff in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was really good and the elderly pianist was superb -how insulting for her that some ignorant Dutch tourist gave her a pink pen as a present!!
I saw her later show it to the Maitre D' they shared a good laugh!

Room Tip: Speak Spanish, they really appreciate British people who speak Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelagh187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a wonderful old hotel and you shouldn't miss the chance to stay here, especially if your room overlooks the Malecon. But keep in mind that, like the rest of Cuba, you'll not get the same accommodations or food that you would in other hotels with five-star ratings in other countries. In short, this is no Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons, folks. But it is among the best that a developing country has to offer right now. Our room was updated alright, but it was rough around the edges. The rug looked like it had been installed in 1962. And the bath was not well constructed or maintained. The shower temperature would go up an down with the flush of toilets. The breakfast buffet had umpteen different choices, but the quality of the food is not what you would find in the U.S. For example, if hot dogs, frozen vegetables and day-old coffee are your idea of breakfast, well, then dig in. Still, it's worth staying here for the charm and that's why I gave it a very good rating instead of average. Plus, many of the vintage U.S. cars -- now used as taxis -- gather out front and that's a treat in itself.

Room Tip: If you can, get an upper floor room that faces the Malecon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Longislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A very grand hotel with loads of history. The rooms are nothing special, as others have commented, but adequate . Check in was very slow, which is a bit annoying when you are travel weary, and the money exchange lady was incredibly rude!
A beautiful lobby with fab grounds & views. Daiquiris overlooking the Tarzan pool are not something you forget!
I would say though, if I went again I would stay in old Havana as I felt there was not much going on by this hotel & there was more of a buzz in the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I think it's all been said before... Nacional is a lovely historic building. We had a large room, plain but very comfortable. Terrace bars are lovely. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, huge selection, pancakes particularly nice but all good. We found the location of the hotel very interesting and walked everywhere in the surrounding area. Centro Habana is fascinating so walking into town either along the Malecon or through Centro is great.
If you exit the hotel down the drive and cross the road just on your left is a small bar which sells very cheap bottled water and soft drinks, worth stocking up as soft drinks in the hotel bars are expensive. Hotel cocktails were good. The cinema cafe was ok, nothing extraordinary but nice enough with large portions.
Would love to go back, atmosphere was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is fabulous! The rooms are relatively basic (for Western standards, not Cuban) but the hotel just feels really glamorous and charming. The outdoor gardens are great, with views overlooking the sea, peacocks roaming the lawns, numerous places for quiet rum cocktails under the palm trees or listening to the inhouse band, and great decor (old lifts, chandeliers etc). The restaurants are okay, but it is conveniently located to other restaurants or is a 5 minute taxi ride to virtually anywhere. There are some outdoor pools which come in handy too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a must-see destination. It has the charm and character of Old Havana. Yes, there are some minor inconveniences, like the electric plugs don't quite fit and the cord sometimes falls out, and maybe the bathroom is a bit small. But overall, it is an experience not to be missed. I was in Room 804 and the decor was updated and lush. The service overall was impeccable. Food was good in every restaurant. This hotel has lots of European tourists and they handle the volume with ease. We were told the hotel was completely booked, and yet, we were accommodated on a personal level with great care. Take the tour of the hotel if you stay there - it is offered at 10a.m. and 4p.m. - it is well worth it, The hotel is an icon in Cuban history since 1930. I will give it 5 stars overall due to the unique historical significance and the experience of being in the place that was THE place during the 40's and 50's when Cuba was the place for Americans to travel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a water view - it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonaMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,746 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,496 reviews
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £195 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing