We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Cuba! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's Cuba! :)”
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Having arrived after a long journey we had to queue for about an hour to check although when we got to be front it only took a couple of minutes! Our room did smell a bit musty at first but once you open the window it's fine! The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom, yes it's dated but it's full of nostalgia! No need for air con as no humidity. The hotel is very busy a bit like a train station! The garden areas are lovely and great for a few drinks, they have peacocks around the grounds which is nice . I must tell you the breakfast is mental! Total chaos and nothing edible but quite entertaining!!! Be prepared! Also the food in the hotel is pretty bad so would eat elsewhere if you can, I had read reviews but thought people were being picky but it's pretty awfull! Overall I liked the hotel and the atmosphere is nice just a shame about the food! It's not 5 star but it's Cuba and its still fab!!! :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JILL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    2,109
    983
    355
    193
See reviews for
749
2,398
323
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Room was not 5* quality as advertised; curtains showed real wear and tear; when airco was not on damp smell was noticed! carpets wear and tear; bathroom had recently been done up as paint spots on the tiles and bath tub showed; there was something with the water pressure as shower gave a drizzle.
Now the positive; travel into the 1920-1950! and you will love it.
Breakfast buffet was extensive but no fresh pressed juice! or at least I did not spot it.
Outside restaurant Baraccada was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloggie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My third time in the Hotel Nacional. I have stayed this time 9 days. Arrived late at night and was told in the reception that they were going to give a "nice" room, but I needed to move the following day to another one (in the category I paid), since they didn't have a room for me: i refused and after a short argument, I was given a room without needing to move.
The room, in the 7th floor, view to the city (not to the sea), was clean, with a very well furnished minibar.
The hotel was terribly crowded and sometimes there were big lines to get into the cafeteria for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the first destination of my Cuban trip, so I had no idea about the hotels in Cuba. So I thought it was average, but after a week in Cuba, I understand that the Nacional is a high end for this country.

Generally the hotel has a nice entrance, old but nostalgic lobby, very attractive garden. The rooms are comperatively comfortable. We even had a 32" Samsung plasma TV which is not common in Cuba.

The location of the hotel is decent but a bit far away from the center. On the other hand you can enjoy couple of nice night clubs in 5-10 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days. Service was not very good for us(they said someone would be sent up to open the safe, and it took about 30 mins and extra phone calls. ) Food in the buffet, and the pool are the only good things about this place.
Overall, not worth the stay, only a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was in Havana for 6 days and stayed at this beautiful historic hotel. The curving driveway entrance and beautiful lobby entrance is filled with charm and historical architecture. The rooms were ok- I was on the 4th floor which felt a bit damp but once you put your key card in the indoor slot (inside the room to activate electricity and AC) it was fine. The room was a good size for one person- two would be ok as well. It was clean, though the carpet could use a good shampoo. Front desk staff was helpful, as well as doormen. Changing money in the lobby is easy, was able to get some last minute gift items on the lobby level gift shop; also a liquor store on this level. In basement two more shops, great breakfast buffet; great pool side- enjoyed many a Mojitos and Cuba Libres at on site bar. Good distance from Old Havana and tourist attractions - you need a taxi. Neighborhood not dangerous but be a smart traveler. Evening entertainment from 6pm to about 11pm on the large back "veranda".

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diaspora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a wonderful time-we had Gary Cooper's room. The staff were wonderful as were the waiting staff in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was really good and the elderly pianist was superb -how insulting for her that some ignorant Dutch tourist gave her a pink pen as a present!!
I saw her later show it to the Maitre D' they shared a good laugh!

Room Tip: Speak Spanish, they really appreciate British people who speak Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing