We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (6,052)
Filter reviews
6,052 results
Traveller rating
1,968
2,382
1,090
392
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,968
2,382
1,090
392
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel tourmissile crisishall of famehistoric hotelfrank sinatramovie starsexecutive floornational monumentcabaret parisiensteeped in historyfamous guestsstep back in timeold havanalots of historycabaret showbuena vista social clubterrace bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,864 - 1,869 of 6,052 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Nacional for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location between the busy 21 and 23 streets and venturing outside gives a real insight to life in this glorious city. The hotel is striking from the outside and hopefully with a little more investment from the government it will regain its former glory. We stayed in a very nice room on the 8th floor with a sea view looking across the Malacon. Couldnt fault the room which although traditionally furnished was comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The public areas in the hotel are lovely its just a shame that the 1930's pool and pool area hasnt been renovated as they have a fantastic setting, but that may happen hopefully. We used the 1950's pool every day and found it a lovely spot to relax in the lovely Havana heat. Breakfast was OK with plenty of choice and a visit to the barista at the back of the breakfast room for some very tasty Cuban coffee is a must for real cofee lovers. There are some great restaurants in the streets surrounding the hotel if you are prepared to seek them out and with prices for every pocket. The area isnt the manicured restored old town but we really liked the sligtly gritty feel of the surrounding streets. If its not to your taste then is only a few CUC's taxi, bus or coco ride from the old town. Al in all we loved Cuba and our stay at the Nacional contributed to that. The only negative was the mysterious disappearance of a pair of my girlfriends shoes but that didnt take the shine off a great start to our Cuban holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank IanHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed as part of an overnight trip for our 10th wedding anniversary the lounge bar used for check in was brilliant all the famous people who have stayed in the hotel have their photos all over the bar.our room was on the eighth floor looking over the sea ,room was very clean and bed was very comfy. bathroom was big and again very clean.The buffet where we had dinner and breakfast was very poor .not a great choice and we felt as if we were being rushed out of the place, however the cocktails on the terrace bar were great and the staff much more friendly than the ignorant ones in the buffet.Overall I would visit this hotel again ,however I would like to eat in a better place next time..

Room Tip: top floor has best views if you get an ocean room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diceyLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by an old English couple we met during our travels in Cuba and so we thought why not ! We booked it for our last night back in Havana before catching the flight home next morning.

Check in only after 4pm and the front office staff although well versed in English have the really bored and tired demeanour of having to deal with tourists.

We were given the room keys saying that it was a fabulous room views of malecon and the sea. It was neither. It was an old dark dingy room. With little light streaming in and even the lighting in the room was very dull and added to the depressing ambience. Only saving grace was the bathroom was full lit up. Since it was only one night we didn't want to waste our time with going back down and changing room etc.

We went back down to explore the garden behind with is quite lovely. Peacocks in the garden. Feels like a boardwalk. We sat down on tables facing the malecon. And ordered mojitos and sandwiches. Weak mojitos and basic sandwich. But the atmosphere was lovely.

There was a performance of the Buena vista social club with 3 of the original band members. Bought tickets for it from the events desk and went for it. When we went down to the lobby we were accosted by the maître de of the restaurant saying that we won't be able to get dinner after the concert since all the restaurants will be shut by 11. So went to the restaurant at one end of the lobby and ate from a preset menu and to be honest it plain and tasteless and pretty expensive too.

Anyway we went to the concert which was held in the ballroom and it was petty decent and had a nice time. Now we finally end up back to the room at 1 and and we hear this buzzing sound that's continuous. It wasn't the smoke alarm but it was some kind of continuous beep and no way you could sleep with that, so we called housekeeping. The lady came and couldn't speak English but she understood the problem. Took an hour for maintenance to come in. Took him another half hour to figure the problem the another half hour to fix it !!!! It's was 3 am when we finally got to bed exhausted. To top that it was the most disturbed sleep ever with the pipes making noise all night ! Hearing the flush go off next door.

Woke up more exhausted then when we went to bed. Went down for breakfast which packed like a sardine can. Not an enjoyable experience. Just grab your plate, eat something and get out.

Would I recommend this place ? Nope. Go visit it and see it because it's an institution. But don't waste your money by staying in it. Instead stay in one of the lovely casa particulares which will give you true authentic experience and will put you in the touch with the real Cuban hospitality.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pratibha-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for letting us know your opinion about your stay in the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.
We regret that you did not enjoy the charm of this majestic hotel, its history, maybe that was recommended by the British.
This hotel is 83 years old, it retains the original reception, the original lobby, it is located perfectly on the Malecón.
The breakfast offer is the buffet restaurant, where you select the foods, I not understand how you were not foods sufficient. We would like that you know during 3 years in the Hotel we celebrated the India food festivals, to achieve this, we work with the Embassy of India in Cuba.
Sorry for the problem in the room and the long time taken for the solution.

We would like you return to Havana, the Hotel doors are open to receive you.

Best Regards,

Antonio Rodríguez Martínez
managing Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Without question I'd stay here again. It's a unique hotel, a beautiful design, and has played host to a whole range of famous visitors down the years (something they aren't shy about letting you know!)

The exterior and reception are gorgeous, there is a money changing facility both in reception and deeper within the hotel, and there is plenty to see within the hotel, from the Cuban Missile Crisis exhibit in the grounds to the lovely art downstairs by the breakfast area. I'd definitely recommend you take the free tour of the hotel, as it gives you a great sense of how it fits into Havana history.

There are a few places to eat within the hotel, and depending on what you pick from the menu, the food is not bad.

The staff were (almost) all very helpful, and spoke English (and of course Spanish). The hotel was clean and safe, and happy to help with booking a transfer and locating local landmarks.

I would make the point however that this isn't really 5 star standard, if you are used to European 5 star. Parts of the hotel are quite shabby (old greasy carpets, mouldy patches) and if you are going to spend a lot of time in the old town (which I'd heartily recommend) this hotel is a little far out. That said there are a wealth of cocotaxis (like a moped with a plastic shell) that will take you to the old town for around 7 CUC, quite fun in itself going along the seafront with the warm wind blowing in your face.

I will remember our stay here with enormous affection, and with a little interior refurbishment, this would be worth five points. Whether you like it here will depend on what you are looking for - if it's pristine 5 star you may be better elsewhere, if you want a unique and eccentric experience go for it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest.
Thanks for sharing your review about the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.
We are glad because you admire the history of this living museum and learned the history in depth through the historical tour of the Hotel.
Right now, in the housing block are replacing some carpets and the original tile floor is restoring.

Thank you very much for recommending us, we noticed in your words, you achieved to travel back in time and you enjoyed our services. We hope you return.

Best Regards,

Antonio Rodríguez Martínez
managing Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a city break, hotel was steeped in history and everywhere you looked there was more history to see! The view from the gardens was amazing and to sit there and watch the carnival down below was brilliant. The staff were helpful and friendly but the choice of food could have been a bit better. The room was really good and of quite a high quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews