We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bunking with Mom”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambos Mundos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bunking with Mom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We thought this hotel was reasonable and beautifully in the middle of Old Havana. That was its best asset. The rooms are what you might find in Italy, not fancy but functional. While we received new towels each day the rest of my family complained they were well worn and should have been dumped. However it's Cuba they don't have much. It was very clean and the staff exceptional? Service was great especially on the Terrace restaurant. Food delicious.

Room Tip: You don't go to Cuba to stay in apool😏numbers with 17 Re triple beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    275
    197
    90
    72
See reviews for
116
352
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a very charming historical hotel. Good for a visit to the hotel lobby, check out the Hemingway's room and a drink at the hotel bar or roof top terrace (when it is open, currently it is closed for some repair). Avoid staying here for all causes. I stayed here for 3 nights in mid of Sept 2013. 1st night everything was fine. 2nd night, the hot shower was not working because apparently, the construction worker at the roof top accidentally broke the hot water pipe. Although much promise was given that the hot water will be restored within 1 day but until the day I checked out, there was still no hot shower! And the air conditioner started to break down after the 2nd night. The room is clean but everything looks old. Towel, tiles in the bathroom, stain on the sheets. There was even water leaking into my room on my last night which I suspect was due to the construction work. Bellboy or doormen were friendly but the front desk staff was not very friendly or helpful. What they cared is about making money from the tourists! The free breakfast was good. Something for a consolation for the money you paid. You can get a much better deal at local homestay (Casa de Particulares) in Old Havana than staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I went with a tour party of 15. My twin room smelt musty and one pillow had a large boot print on it, I would have preferred the room maids to have spent more time cleaning rather than writing elaborate notes wishing me well for my stay. The work that is being undertaken on the roof terrace and the alleged room in which Hemingway stayed often started at 5am. I was fortunate as others in my group had water pouring into their room, filthy sheets and only cold water showers. Location is in the centre of old Havana, but women should not venture out alone unless you want constant hassle. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair; little to excite the palate and every day one had to ask for spoons to be made available. This hotel has rested for too long on the fact that Hemingway stayed there, and needs serious updating and it is unlikely to tempt one for a return visit

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we stayed two nights in august. the location absolutely cannot be beat. the roof deck was unfortunately closed for repairs. the staff were pleasant and helpful if you needed them. they speak english, but of course brush up and try to use all the espanol you can muster. breakfast is included. its sad, but ok, so you wont starve. the towels and linen were very old and worn, but clean. note this hotel, like many in cuba (all?), is run by habaguanex, the corrupt gov agency, so you might think twice about that issue. if you can arrange to stay in a home in old habana it would more directly support the people, or so i heard. there is an nice outdoor restaurant we liked right on the malecon nearby, its the one furthest from plaza de armas. there are cabs at the corner of that square for the airport or to easily arrange a visit to hemingway's la finca vigia, cojimar or other sites.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meesalikeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

For those that want to visit a little of history, stop at this hotel and visit one of the rooms that Hemmingway stayed in during his satay in Havana. It is presently looking at the time of his drinking and has a few artifacts relating to his boat, daiquiri drinking and some writing. There is a small charge to view the room but the lady who was looking after visitors there was very knowledgeable and helpful. We did not have time to spend travelling to his house whch we will visit next time in cuba but this provided a small insight into Hemmingway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The best of this Hotel ist the roof terrace, which right now is under construction, so till End Of November 2013 not worth to check in this Hotel. Its very much visited by large group of tourists, due to the the room that was habited by Ernest Hemingway, but nothing really special.
Rather recoemnd other Hotels in Old Habana such as Santa Isabel or Saratoga.

Room Tip: Upstairs, in the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed our two stays here and loved the huge foyer and bar, dripping with atmosphere, its open windows letting in the light, music and bustle of Havana's streets. Our room wasn't great and the water never hot but the piano player was fun, the bar comfortable and the people- watching fantastic. Don't expect western comfort and luxury - do soak up the place and its history, including Hemingway's room (wonder if his shower worked, not that he'd have complained about cold water ...).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
6.2 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
6.0 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambos Mundos

Property: Hotel Ambos Mundos
Address: Calle Obispo No 153, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambos Mundos 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Ambos Mundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambos Mundos Hotel
Ambos Mundos Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing