We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambos Mundos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice and Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Ambos Mundos is a beautiful hotel in central Habana vieja. It’s famous for the fact that Ernest Hemmingway once stayed there. The central lobby and hallways are magnificent to see. There is a nice sphere in this hotel and it’s a perfect spot to stay when exploring old Habana.

As this hotel is located on a street which you cannot reach by car your taxi will drop you off at a nearby square. If you have a lot of luggage there are porters there who will take you to the hotel. It is a quick 3 minute walk but if you are not sure where you have to be I would advise you use the porter.

The staff at this hotel are friendly and very helpful. They will give you a small map of the area and mark some of the more important sites for you. This hotel has an extremely old fashion Elevator and a bellhop will always ride with you. Going up is never a problem but if you have a lot of suitcases go down first and inform the bellhop you will need him in a few minutes as the call button does not always do the job.

The rooms are clean and very nice. The high ceilings keep the rooms cool and you don’t need the air-conditioning in the rooms. Cuban plumbing is a big problem and this hotel is no exception. You’ll have to consider yourself lucky if you have hot water, but then again with 30 degrees Celsius who needs it? During one night there on one of the upper floors a pipe broke and water was streaming down into a central patio. Quite a sight to see and indoor waterfall going down 4 floors but they had that fixed relatively quickly (for cuban standards). The views from the rooms if you are on one of the higher floors is great. But if you really want great views go up onto the rooftop restaurant. This is also where breakfast is served. The breakfast itself is not that nice, but the views make up for that.

By European standards this hotel might not have much. But you should not go to Cuba and expect to find Europe. This hotel is worth the visit and is a good place to stay in old Habana.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    275
    199
    90
    73
See reviews for
116
357
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

..really, we just about managed 3 nights before asking our travel agent to organise an alternative. In the 72 hours we stayed there, here is our impression of Ambos Mundos....

Smell of pond - everywhere outside of the room. Gross.
Room was dirty - lovely clump of black hair in the bath. Lush. Bed shirts dirty and smelly.
When it rained, it pours - in your room! Our bathroom lampshade was flooded from water inexplicably coming from above the room (we were on the 4th floor) and water poured in from below the window. They bought up towels (eventually) but left them on the bed without helping us mop up the water. When we complained we were told "yes, it happens".
Then on the last day, no water in bathroom at all!
Food poisoning - please, do not even think about eating the meat at breakfast time. (Nice view from the roof though).
Sound of lift resonates through room throughout the night.
Prostitututes in the lobby every evening. Chairs 'sticky'.
Shouting and singing heard in room from the lobby until 4am.

Ok, so this hotel has been visited by Hemingway and if you're a die hard fan, you may want to stay here (the location is good). You can pay homage to him by visiting one of the many other establishments that he frequented. The staff, generally, were absolutely fine and the location is central. Totally appreciate resources are low and life is tough but for the price they charge for each room there's absolutely no excuse why this hotel is such a dire state.

Oh fyi - Havana is NOT cheap.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCfanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Very nice hotel, with amazingly beatiful roof with a city view of Havana and great Mojito - on of the best in the city. Also lots of pictures of E.H. and real very old Otis elevator:)

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The Ambos is a clean safe hotel, nothing like some of the reviews i had read before i went. If you are expecting western european standards then yes you will be in for a slight shock, but the breakfast on the rooftop restaurant are good, ask for the omlettes from the staff, highly recommended.
The internal rooms are very cool, if fact i had to turn the air con off as such a shock after being outside, the external rooms with the views are better but hotter, you takes your chance with what you prefer. Staff are good and if you tip the maids 5cuc at the start of your stay then you are sure of good treatment.
As for the safes, well non of us had any problems with stuff being stolen, and just outside the hotel if you turn left at the entrance facing the lift, there is the cafe paris, where the food is very good, the menu in english, and live salsa bands on day and night usually too. Just up the road is the bank with 24hr cash machines, that take visa cards, both credit and debit.
One tip, don't buy bottles of Havana club in the hotel bar, they rip you off for 21cuc, just 2mins walk opposite cafe paris there is a little shop that sells the same ones for 5cuc, and bottle water for around 2cuc.
If you fancy dancing nearby the hotel, check out hotel florida, on the same side as cafe paris, but bit further up the street going towards the capitol building, or sometimes there is tango opposite the hotel, go out the entrance by the piano and turn right, cross the street and you are there.
All in all a very good hotel, showers and bath are clean and work, toilets are very good both in the room and in reception.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The hotel is of course famous as the hotel Ernest Hemingway stayed at off and on for 10 years and it has a grand old feel, even though it is rated 3 star now. It is in the best part of old Havana (Vieja), the most wonderful city I've been to because the World Heritage Fund has done up every building and square in this part of Havana and every building seems to have survived. Vieja is pedestrianised and you can walk to nice cafes and restaurants, bars and even an old chocolate cafe and the Ambos Mundos is right in the thick of all this. The Amdos Mundos has such efficient and friendly staff, from reception, housekeeping to the elevator man. Our room had a good view and was newly decorated, but had no curtains, but the great staff found us another room quickly, also with a nice view of the Plaza de Armas. In low season you can be selective about your room in most hotels. Beware, there are blocks of windowless rooms in the hotel interior on each floor, probably once used for children, maids, etc., which are okay but have only louvred shutters. There is only one lift, (a brilliant antique), which is no problem, even though many tourists come to see Hemingway's room till 5.30. Breakfast is on the amazing rooftop (awful food, but better than most of Cuba!) and its a famous place to have a mojito around sunset. There's a bar in the open foyer off the street, where a pianist played for most of the day time. We had stayed one night at the equally famous Hotel el Nacional in Vedado, a truly fabulous 1930's hotel with garden and pool, but opposite were Soviet depressing concrete blocks. Honestly, number one tip is stay in Vieja, the oldest part of Havana and where the buildings will blow you away and where you won't have to catch taxis all the time.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehappytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We were originally booked into the Valencia, a few blocks over, but they were having plumbing issues when we arrived, so we were moved over to the Ambos Mundos for the first 3 nights of our stay in Old Havana. The staff were great and quite hilarious and without us even asking for it, made sure we had a room with a window and also gave me a flower when I arrived. The foyer and elevator are very beautiful, the piano players were all fantastic and the rooftop bar is excellent. Very strong Mojitos!

Our room had a great view and a good bathroom, but had a few rough patches around the edges. The downside of the rooftop bar (apart from the terrible breakfast - which we experienced everywhere in Havana, it seems Cuban food is almost uniformly terrible) was the fact that our room was directly underneath it and, as others have noted, the noise from the moving of very heavy iron furniture around in the mornings and evenings sounds like the world was ending. Still, this noise was better than the bad Beatles covers we were subjected to on our Friday night back at the Valencia. Another story...

Despite the few cons, my partner and I had a great time at the Ambos Mundos, especially considering the fact we paid Valencia prices to stay there, ie. significantly less.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Dropped off by virgin transfer a few blocks away as this hotel is in a pedestrianised area. Taxi driver carried our cases and then asked us for 5 pesos - so carry your own! Reception staff okay, booked in within a few minutes. We did not keep our money in the safe because of previous reviews, instead we carried it round in a money belt, not ideal by any means. It can be a hike if you don't fancy taking the lift which is manned by an attendant at all times. The room was pleasant, small balcony with tall window shutters, 2 single beds, adequate wardbrobe space for a few days stay. After reading reviews of no window etc we were pleasantly surprised and did not have any mishaps during our stay here.
Breakfast on the roof terrace, fantastic views of Havana its a shame that the breakfast is not as appealing. Self-service watched over by uninterested staff, some strange looking sausage/meats and a limited selection for the health conscious appetite. Whilst enjoying a mohito in the lobby one evening we were sketched by an aspiring artist, a charactacture, worth the few pesos tip.
Location - Old Havana at its best. The Hotel is round the corner from the Chocolate Factory - a must! Sample cold or warm drinking chocolate together with freshly made chocolate for around 80cents per drink - not to be missed for any chocolate lover. The market is approx 5 mins walk away and has fantastic paintings and sketches - well worth a visit.. A small bar opposite the entrance to the market offers a welcome Mohito in the midday sun. A walk along the harbour front and you will meet the locals who sit with makeshift fishing lines and are more than happy to chat away to you. For an interesting evening, walk to the harbour front where the taxi drops you off and sit at the harbour side cafe bar with the locals, a Bucanero beer straight from the fridge will cost 1 peso and you can sit and soak in the atmosphere. Take a taxi to the Jesus statue across the water from the cafe bar for 6 pesos and watch the sunset - this is fabulous.
Los Mundos Restaurant, opposite the Capitolio building is fabulous and well worth a visit, not advertised from the outside, flanked bya couple of cubans. Walk up the stairs and you will be met by a fabulous restaurant with food fit for a king and at very low prices. Be warned though that the portion sizes are also fit for a king and possibly best not to order a starter unless you are supersize!
Havana itself is fabulous and too many attractions to name, one of the most vibrant, charming and characterful places in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnastaciaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
6.2 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
6.0 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambos Mundos

Property: Hotel Ambos Mundos
Address: Calle Obispo No 153, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambos Mundos 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ambos Mundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambos Mundos Hotel
Ambos Mundos Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing