We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother !!!”
Review of Cubanacan Comodoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cubanacan Comodoro
Ranked #70 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother !!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thankfully only had to stay here for 1 night as we asked to be moved to another hotel. Check in was fine but no information was given as to the whereabouts of bars, restaurants, where to have breakfast etc. we were shown to our room which was large but very outdated and smelt musty and damp. When we went to breakfast there was nowhere to sit and no information on where to get tea/coffee etc so we ended up sitting outside in a rusty lean to type of shelter. We couldn't wait to check out and transfer to our other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    117
    183
    148
    186
See reviews for
120
239
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
*
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The professional and friendly staff gave us a warm welcome. They were never far away and certainly made our stay more than relaxing. Not many guests around, so no waiting for service. Great breakfast, especially the 'omelet chef'. Bungalow was nice, with clean linen every day. Only one little downside is the fenced seaside of the hotel, so no easy walking at the seaside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having read a few of the recent reviews, I have to concur with several points that have been raised.

1) Location – this hotel is about 15 to 17kms away from the tourist sight-seeing locations, so be prepared to shell a substantial amount in taxies. Do not bother with the hotel taxis. They are overpriced. Rather, walk out of the hotel, turn left, walk over to the Melia Habana hotel, cross the road & you should find a fair few taxies eagerly waiting for your custom. Do not forget to bargain. You’ll be better off by a couple of CUCs.
2) Hotel renovation – agree. Parts of most of the balconies are crumbling concrete & require some TLC.
3) Money change – the reception rate displays the current bank rate, but definitely cheats & palms you off with a lower rate. Beware. Rather, walk over to where the taxies are parked & there’s a bureau de change. There’s always a queue there. 10 to 15 min wait to get served.
4) You’ll need to buy your own water – hotel charges 3CUCs per bottle, which is equivalent to US$3/-. I’ve drunk cheaper beer in a posh restaurant in Havana. There is a small super market, in almost the block as the bureau de change. Walk over there & pick up a few bottles. The shelves are sparse. Very few items. The place is over manned, we saw at least half a dozen assistants trying to look busy in what is really a modest corner shop & what is really glaring obvious is the lack of variety. No more than 30 items – reminds me very much of the cold, austere days in a European communist country after the war!
5) Air con – permanently on in one room & nothing in the other room. Don’t bother faffing about with the remote controller – none of them work. Had to call the hotel service person to come & switch it off, as the rooms were freezing.
6) This hotel seems to have water & plumbing issues. On our 3rd day, the hotel ran out of water!!! No water for washing or cooking or drinking – can you believe that?
7) Pool – although the filtration pumps seem to be operation, there was plenty of crap floating about.
8) It’s certainly NOT 5 stars nor 4 stars. 3 stars @ best.
9) Beach – don’t bother – there is a tiny little rocky rampart with a few deck chairs dotted about. Stay by the pool.
10) Expect to pay 2 CUCs per night to use the safe.



We had a substantial 3 bedroom bungalow. Large, airy & clean with a reasonable sized lounge & wrap around balcony. Beds are large & comfortable. We did however get large hand written notes form our daily maid, wishing us well & hoping we had a pleasant days sightseeing. Her ploy worked well, left her a large tip.

Breakfast – there is good variety, though you’re advised to go early. Arrive late & you may well have to wait for a table. Some of the more popular items are not replenished. Occasionally some of the staff displayed their considerable talents by butchering some fruit or a large chunk of meat. They had that demonic look which seemed to suggest that they had their boss on their mind! Generally most of the hotel staff were well behaved, polite & went about their business stoically. Although I did notice a certain reluctance to engage with the customers.

Italian restaurant – would have fared better in this review if the waitress had managed to get our order right. No apologise or manners, just a grunt by way of acknowledgement.
If you can, do try one of the more popular restaurants in the city – superior food & service at a cheaper price.

If you’re in Havana only for a few days, then try & get a hotel closer to the old city, where most of the restaurants & touristy bits are located. Otherwise it’s OK.

Room Tip: If you have to stay her, go for a bungalow. Avoid if you can, it's too far from the main town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kishor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is urgent to a capital repair, even the lobby area air conditioning not working properly, but they have a cafeteria with good prices and selection, services are good in general,the walk area offer some options like ice cream,sodas, beers ,etc. a grocery have a decent variety and the sea view back at the hotel is clean and quiet, like I said is a option to spend some hours away of the Havana central, my wife most of the times enjoy to be there in a day time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorge a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Half of the staff polite, half indifferent to customers. Reporting a problem qith the service or room usualy is unhelpful. Bathroom left wih no toilet paper or shampoo. Itens (food) on breakfast or dinner usually run out before the end of the time supposed to. Air conditioning poorly working. Roaches on floor. But still, for cuban standarts, not bad for a mid budget.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drkult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

When you walk around this hotel you can see that it was once a great luxurious place. But as with many of the hotels in Cuba, it has seen its glory days. However, when you visit a country like Cuba, you should not expect a 5 star western hotel. So for Cuba, this is still a pretty good hotel. Of course it could be improved and could use some repairs. But in general it is OK.

Our room for the two days was good, It was not perfectly clean but everything, incl two TV’s worked. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was good to eat.

Its location is as mentioned not perfect. It is a pretty long taxi ride to Old Havana and there isn't much to do outside of the hotel. But you do get the opportunity to ride in one of the many awesome taxis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are looking for a bit of luxury in havana, this is not the place for you. This hotel is quite a way out from the centre of havana and is in dire need of a full renovation. It rained while we were there and there were buckets everywhere to catch the leaks. We stayed in a bungalow and the air con in two of the rooms was permanetly on leaving them freezing cold. The staff on reception were not at all helpful when the fault was reported.
Having said that, if all you are after is a base for exploring in and around havana, this hotel is servicable. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and the majority of staff are friendly.
Beware, If you want to change money in the hotel, ask behind the counter what exchange rate they are using, as the one they advertise isn't always what they pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#39 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#22 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Comodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Comodoro

Property: Cubanacan Comodoro
Address: 3rd Avenue and 84th street, Havana 21016, Cuba (Formerly El Comodoro)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Cubanacan Comodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Comodoro Hotel Havana
Cubanacan Comodoro Havana
Cubanacan Comodoro Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing