We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is staff is very nice and helpful. The band that plays in the bar area is great and the pool is nice . The hotel rooms are bright, spacious and clean. The breakfast is very good with many choices of omelets, fruits, drinks and much more.

Room Tip: Rooms at the satellite building are newer, please ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsiaAleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    174
    238
    98
    72
See reviews for
130
219
72
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Feb 2014 - We enjoyed the hotel; it was great and we got to know the staff too. The hotel is along the ocean and located outside of Havana municipality but it is on the route of the $5 CUC (all day 9-6 )2 level daily "geton-getoff" bus tour(40min to Havana downtown). There is also a grocery market across the street where you can get cheap bottled water ($2 5L). They just got wifi ($6 hr). The pool is very nice and there is a natural pool in the ocean where you can hang out. $10 - $15 to get a cab to/fro downtown. There is a 24hr pizza place which is a great value for the $. The breakfast buffet is great, but know you are in another country and there fare is just different but you can "fill up". If you are going to see Havana Cuba as a traveller/explorer this is a great choice, if you are expecting 5 star, then go to one, but I never regretted this choice and would return again.

brad
EDMONTON, CANADA

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brad w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were sent to the Copacabana when our original hotel didn't have room. They treated us very well. This is a very moderate priced hotel right on the Ocean with spectacular views and fab pool. Large room with a balcony not directly looking out over the water but close enough. I
for one am glad they could accomodate us for the two nights we were displaced. They had entertainment in the little bar which was quite good. The staff that I encountered were pleasant and our room was cleaner than expected. Carpets could use a good clean, walls need to be repainted and hall ways cleaned up. I didn't expect a 4 star so not too upset. Poor bar staff was really attentive. Food was mediocre at best. Buffet was just average. Eat at the pool bar their sandwiches were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyLali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Ok, we travel a fair bit and use trip central on every outing to get a feel for resorts etc. This resort is totally acceptable if you are not expecting a 5 star (which does not exist in Havana!) There was decent entertainment every night and very cheap drinks! The pool was not crowded and the staff were fine. A open top bus leaves every half hour right out front to Old Havana, great 20 minute ride!!! The buffet looked.. ummm not great, however there is a FABULOUS funky/modern bistro kitty corner which was INCREDIBLE! We mostly ate for peanuts in Old Havana during the day, wonderful inexpensive food! Our room was decent with a nice view of the ocean although we did not like the first room they showed us and asked to be moved to the "right side" of the resort. The internet was sketchy, and very slow.... All in all a great time was had and we would recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the right side of building, do not settle for a room with a less than ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcabrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

News flash: a three-star hotel in Havana is not a five star in St. Lucia. The Copacabana is, indeed, a bit shabby. So are most things in Havana. I can say, however, that when we moved from the new wing to an old wing because we wanted a balcony, I saw no difference in the two (my husband said the older room was better). There was no smell of mildew, and the bathroom worked fine in the older room (the newer one had problems). I didn't swim in the freshwater pool, but it looked very nice, and we spent hours snorkelling in the salt-water pool, where we even saw an octopus! There again: the ocean pool is crumbling, but that's Havana. The water was warm and lovely. Look out for sea urchins, though -- don't use the western stairs into the pool; they're a sea-urchin nursery. The downside to the hotel is the dining room. The food is unpleasant and the service slow. If you want an omelette in the morning or something off the grill at night, you will wait a long time, as there is usually only one person working the counter, he does one order at a time, and is frequently interrupted by colleagues who seem to have nothing to do but chat. I gave up on what seemed dangerously undercooked meat and fish from the grill and switched to the stuff in hot trays, which was ok. Fortunately, there are options right across the road...the 2do Piso in the pink building just to the west of the main door, which is bare bones but nice food (we had to get our own wine, but I think they had just run out) and Lavastida, a white house kitty corner to the hotel, which was wonderful...a tapas bar and formal restaurant, just opened in mid-December. They're expensive by Cuban standards but cheap by Canadian. It is a bit far from downtown, but we thought it was worth it to be oceanfront.

Room Tip: Our balcony had no furniture, so I borrowed some from the pool deck. I didn't ask, I just did it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diver013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

90 CUC for a crappy and tired room, broken and dirty bathroom, old and acidic food and indifferent staff ???? no way... I would not recommend this Hotel. They need to work on these issues and to care more about the customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reina299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This resort has an ocean pool basically a pool fed with ocean water that rises with the tide and was exceptionally warm. The rest of the resort was clean but not exceptional. Our room for 90 CUC a night was just OK but it had a great view of the ocean. The food was weak but the small lobby bar had good drinks and reasonable prices. The reason to stay here is the location of course and the pool.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robusto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
15.8 mi away
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
#59 of 79 in Havana
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#22 of 79 in Havana
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
987 reviews
3.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Havana City Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Havana City Copacabana

Property: Be Live Havana City Copacabana
Address: Avda No. 4404 | C/ 44 y 46, Havana, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Copacabana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Be Live Havana City Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Havana City Copacabana Hotel offers the best services to those travellers who want to stay in an unbeatable location in front of the sea, on Havana's coast. The hotel, one of the most renowned accommodations in Havana due to is location in front of the sea, features 168 rooms —double, superior and junior suites— and is equipped with all the necessary facilities for a perfect holiday in Cuba: restaurants, boardrooms for meetings, gym, tennis court, an artificial and a natural swimming pool. The Be Live Havana City Copacabana Hotel, located 20 km away from Havana's International Airport, has a perfect location for you to rest and enjoy your holidays in Cuba. This hotel lies in the residential area of Miramar, the perfect place for you to enjoy the tropical waters of Cuba and its capital. Its location will allow you to easily get to the main tourist attractions of the city and enjoy a diving session. Cuba's National Aquarium is located just 200 metres away from the hotel, and Havana's Maqueta museum just 1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Be Live Havana City Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copacabana
Copacabana Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing