We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tryp Habana Libre
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$659
US$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$238
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$173
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Official Website
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (4,558)
Filter reviews
4,558 results
Traveller rating
448
1,457
1,583
627
443
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
1,457
1,583
627
443
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorhuge hoteltwin centre holidaypool area isrooms are bigcoppeliagovernmentvieja
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 4,558 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went back to visit my 'hometown' after 50 years. Shocked to see how deteriorated the place was. A $10 US tip to the desk clerk got me a top floor executive level room overlooking the ocean. That was after regecting her first two offers of rooms on other lower floors. Do not accept a room below the 20th floor. I heard lots of complaints from guests about lower rooms. Even then, the rooms on upper floors are worn down. Cracked tiles, cracked furniture, broken mirrors, old furniture that has been somewhat repaired, the all brass elevator interiors have not been polished in years, the swimming pool has not been available in years. Tip: Walk to the street to get a cab, not the ones on the hotel driveway, or negotiate on the fare before you board the cab. All cab drivers will try to get as much out of you as they can. Fares should be between $3 and $6 CUC, do not pay more. Lots of street hustlers walking near the hotel: asking if you want a 'girl', 'man', go to a nightclub, cigars, weed, you name it and they will sell it to you. Carpets are dirty, luckily, my room had a tile floor, cracked in places but clean. Tip the maids and you will have a clean room. A $1 CUC tip goes a long way there. Breakfast buffet at executive level was good. Tip the waiters and they will be very nice to you and get you a window table. The internet use at the business center is expensive and slow connections. I found the nearby restaurants to be more expensive and not great food. You can do better in Old Habana restaurants, make sure that there are locals eating there; that's how you know they are good and inexpensive. It was great to go back but don't expect US or European standards. The country is broke and it shows it at all levels.

Room Tip: Tip the desk clerk ($10 minimum) on arrival and request a room 20th floor and above. Tip your maid and get a clean room and towels. Tip the breakfast server. A $1 CUC tip goes a long way there. Walk to the street to get your cabs, they will cost you less. Or negotiate before entering the cab. Fares should be between $3 and $6 CUC. They will ask for $8 CUC or even more. Havana is small and most cab rides are 5 to 10 minute rides.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Marcus56,

We are very pleasant for your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location, the breadth of our rooms and nice views. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the maintenance condition of the hotel, corridors moisture, humidity, air conditioning or hot water. Undergoing some maintenance and repair of the pool is finished, changing rugs or carpets in the hallways to remove moisture and are putting new ceramic inside the rooms. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is aesthetically pleasing. However, it ends there. My first encounter, right off the bat was a roach in the shower. I encountered two more roaches during my stay. The air conditioning did not work and after 8 attempts to get someone to come and fix it no one showed up. I gave up and kept the sliding glass door open and the room door slightly open, creating an airflow. I did this during the day. The breakfasts menu is great, but the first day you get there, you are pretty much on your own trying to figure things out. It took me 20 minutes to finally get a plate -- breakfast is a buffet. There is internet access, which you have to purchase at a cost of $10 Cuban CUCs (the equivalent of about $11.50 US) for an hour of time. Access is only available between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. This is a Melia Brand hotel and I've stayed at other Melia Brand hotels overseas as well as in Orlando, FL. I am usually very pleased with Melia Brands. This one was Motel 6 quality in terms of service. I will not go back to that hotel. I stayed in other places while in Cuba that were much better quality at equivalent prices.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are facing the Ocean, which is a block away. These are great views. The other rooms face the traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerP312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear TravelerP,
We are very pleasant for your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location and good breakfast. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the service, insects and air condition problems. Undergoing some maintenance works, changing rugs or carpets in the hallways to remove moisture and are putting new ceramic inside the rooms. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Habana Libre hotel is in a great location in Havana. The view from the room is excellent. Rooms are of a reasonable standard (by Cuban standards). The hotel itself is not as grand as the National De Cuba hotel, but the bedrooms are slightly more modern. It's a close call between the two, although I'd give the edge to the National. I think it is fair to say though, that hotels in Havana, in General could do with modernisation. Therefore to a degree, exception has to be made when comparing with hotels elsewhere in the world. The Havana Libre's alright though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear OliverS,

Honestly we are very grateful for your time used to write your opinions about the service Tryp Habana Libre. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the location, excellent view of the city, the amplitude or comfortable rooms and good breakfast. It's No 1 priority of our team to focus on each of the assessments made by our guests or service associated with installation. It is our stated goal to improve every aspect and every day closer to 100% fulfill all your expectations. We greatly appreciate you recommend our facility and we want to welcome you again in the Tryp Habana Libre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The only positives of this hotel are location (although it's not close to Habana Vieja) and the view from upper floors. The finishes are worn out with cracked tiles, water damge on the bottom of all doors, the hallways smell really bad and the water pressure is terrible. The buffet was ok until a cockroach cruised right by my wife's head. The pool was closed and there were pieces of concrete falling off the outside of the building (be careful on the balcony). The sidewalks surrounding this hotel are full of giant holes and cracks (some are big enough to get lost in). The price they charged us was outrageous for the quality. I would recommend the Hotel National or the Melia Habana instead of this one. Maybe consider a casa instead.

Room Tip: Nice view from upper floors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Aaron A
We offer our sincere thanks to publicize your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the maintenance condition of the hotel and the inconvenience on the buffet. About the pool it was reopened last month completly new, and there are other maintenance being done. We hope to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A must in Havana! People who complain about maybe a little lesser service, cleanness etc. or facilites than in other 5 stars don't unterstand a thing about this hotel, the history, cuba and havana - they better go to another country or place which is not demanding for some background infos and appreciation of historical sites and monuments. It's annoying and absolutely displaced to here some of this people complaing if they maybe have to que a little longer at the reception cause the computer fell out. Absolutely fantastic and mystic place which so much history! People with a litte knowledge about cuba should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Nick469

Thank you very much for your comments and passion for our hotel, history and country. It is really supporting for us. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews