We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall I had a pleasant experience but service needs to improve”
Review of Tryp Habana Libre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryp Habana Libre
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall I had a pleasant experience but service needs to improve”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I think the hotel is relatively clean and accommodating to the most discerning traveler. I am not sure it deserves it's 4 star rating, it have a long way to go before achieving this status. My experience at the breakfast buffet was bearable for the most part, some of the fruits same to be of very poor quality. My main issue was housekeeping getting and iron to my room was like pulling teeth. The wait time was horrendous. All in all it is and ok hotel when you consider your in Cuba.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidAlbury242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear SidAlbury

We are very pleasant for your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location, the breadth of our rooms and good breakfast. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the breakfast, haousekeeping and the maintenance condition of the hotel. We made some changes in the housekeeping department and we are impoving the service. Undergoing some maintenance in the rooms, changing rugs or carpets in the hallways to remove moisture and are putting new ceramic inside the rooms. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    1,346
    1,470
    592
    407
See reviews for
878
1,971
200
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a former Hilton 50 years ago, don't think its been touched since. First impressions I thought Wow! Shortly afterwards I started to see all its little niggles. One of the guys in our group sat on a chair and just broke, the security were straight over asking for the room number - not are you ok? Just looking to bill us, we hadn't even checked in yet? Lucky for us it was a place to stay for the night and didn't spend much time in the hotel.
The hotel included dinner and breakfast, the dinner had a nice selection and and service. The next days visit to the buffet was bedlam there was no plates, no tables and virtually no food. The buffet was over crowded with people all pushing, snatching and acting like animals. The lifts were no better the hotel was full of rude people all pushing to get served first. I understand its not the hotel fault who stays at the hotel but surely they should maintain some kind of order?
the room was cleanish, it was falling apart, the bed throw had a white stain on the top... the fridge door fell off in my hands the shower only worked if you wanted cold water and the toilet was broken. Wifi available in the lobby for 10 CUC which I think is a lot. Was happy to check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef_on_hoilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Stef_on_h,

We are very grateful for your time and your opinions about the Tryp Habana Libre service. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the amplitude of the hotel and dinner. On the other hand we are very dissaponted about the breakfast, levators and maintenance problems in the room. It is our ted goal to improve every aspect and every day closer to 100% fulfill all your expectations. We greatly appreciate you recommend our facility and we want to welcome you again in the Tryp Habana Libre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We Flew in on an unplanned trip for our 1st visit to Cuba, On arrival at the airport we thought it would be easy to get a hotel, however we wanted to stay in the old city and there was a conference in town and all the hotels were full, the lady at the information desk was very helpful and recommended we stay in a Casa particular ( someones home) but we were not confident about this idea so we eventually decided on the very expensive Habana Libre booked via an agent at the Airport.

On arrival at the hotel we presented the voucher given to us by the agent, but the hotel had no knowledge of the booking, we waited nearly 30 mins while the desk clerk investigated, eventually we were given a room on the 23rd floor. We entered the lift which looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a decade, the emergency phone was hanging off the wall there were broken tiles on the floor.
The room itself was Ok Large, Airy,Clean with a Great View of the City but Basic the bar fridge was not stocked or working the TV was old and signal was bad, but we slept well and the City was only a CUC 5 $5.75 to the old town. There is no Room service or Coffee making in the room.

Breakfast was an experience a Lady playing a Grand Piano added ambiance to the OMG what is that on the breakfast Buffet, we decided at that moment we were not going to gain much weight on this trip our first experience of cuban food was not a good one. We have been back since ( not to this hotel) and our experiences were much different (see my other reviews).
In the Lobby of the Hotel You can book shows, City Tours ( we took one for CUC 12 each) and rent a car or drop one off.
To get a taxi you have to see the Taxi Boss outside the Hotel and they will tell you before you get in what the price will be, this is a Government run hotel and so are all the facilities and shops.
The cost for one night double room was CUC 180 $206.90 Bed and Breakfast would not stay again having now seen other venus at a much better price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAZGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear MAZGD,

We are very grateful for your time and your opinions about the Tryp Habana Libre service. On the other hand we are very dissaponted about the elevators, cleaning and general maintenance. It is our stated goal to improve every aspect and every day closer to 100% fulfill all your expectations. We greatly appreciate you recommend our facility and we want to welcome you again in the Tryp Habana Libre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went back to visit my 'hometown' after 50 years. Shocked to see how deteriorated the place was. A $10 US tip to the desk clerk got me a top floor executive level room overlooking the ocean. That was after regecting her first two offers of rooms on other lower floors. Do not accept a room below the 20th floor. I heard lots of complaints from guests about lower rooms. Even then, the rooms on upper floors are worn down. Cracked tiles, cracked furniture, broken mirrors, old furniture that has been somewhat repaired, the all brass elevator interiors have not been polished in years, the swimming pool has not been available in years. Tip: Walk to the street to get a cab, not the ones on the hotel driveway, or negotiate on the fare before you board the cab. All cab drivers will try to get as much out of you as they can. Fares should be between $3 and $6 CUC, do not pay more. Lots of street hustlers walking near the hotel: asking if you want a 'girl', 'man', go to a nightclub, cigars, weed, you name it and they will sell it to you. Carpets are dirty, luckily, my room had a tile floor, cracked in places but clean. Tip the maids and you will have a clean room. A $1 CUC tip goes a long way there. Breakfast buffet at executive level was good. Tip the waiters and they will be very nice to you and get you a window table. The internet use at the business center is expensive and slow connections. I found the nearby restaurants to be more expensive and not great food. You can do better in Old Habana restaurants, make sure that there are locals eating there; that's how you know they are good and inexpensive. It was great to go back but don't expect US or European standards. The country is broke and it shows it at all levels.

Room Tip: Tip the desk clerk ($10 minimum) on arrival and request a room 20th floor and above. Tip your maid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Marcus56,

We are very pleasant for your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location, the breadth of our rooms and nice views. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the maintenance condition of the hotel, corridors moisture, humidity, air conditioning or hot water. Undergoing some maintenance and repair of the pool is finished, changing rugs or carpets in the hallways to remove moisture and are putting new ceramic inside the rooms. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is aesthetically pleasing. However, it ends there. My first encounter, right off the bat was a roach in the shower. I encountered two more roaches during my stay. The air conditioning did not work and after 8 attempts to get someone to come and fix it no one showed up. I gave up and kept the sliding glass door open and the room door slightly open, creating an airflow. I did this during the day. The breakfasts menu is great, but the first day you get there, you are pretty much on your own trying to figure things out. It took me 20 minutes to finally get a plate -- breakfast is a buffet. There is internet access, which you have to purchase at a cost of $10 Cuban CUCs (the equivalent of about $11.50 US) for an hour of time. Access is only available between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. This is a Melia Brand hotel and I've stayed at other Melia Brand hotels overseas as well as in Orlando, FL. I am usually very pleased with Melia Brands. This one was Motel 6 quality in terms of service. I will not go back to that hotel. I stayed in other places while in Cuba that were much better quality at equivalent prices.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are facing the Ocean, which is a block away. These are great views. The other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerP312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear TravelerP,
We are very pleasant for your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location and good breakfast. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the service, insects and air condition problems. Undergoing some maintenance works, changing rugs or carpets in the hallways to remove moisture and are putting new ceramic inside the rooms. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Habana Libre hotel is in a great location in Havana. The view from the room is excellent. Rooms are of a reasonable standard (by Cuban standards). The hotel itself is not as grand as the National De Cuba hotel, but the bedrooms are slightly more modern. It's a close call between the two, although I'd give the edge to the National. I think it is fair to say though, that hotels in Havana, in General could do with modernisation. Therefore to a degree, exception has to be made when comparing with hotels elsewhere in the world. The Havana Libre's alright though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear OliverS,

Honestly we are very grateful for your time used to write your opinions about the service Tryp Habana Libre. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the location, excellent view of the city, the amplitude or comfortable rooms and good breakfast. It's No 1 priority of our team to focus on each of the assessments made by our guests or service associated with installation. It is our stated goal to improve every aspect and every day closer to 100% fulfill all your expectations. We greatly appreciate you recommend our facility and we want to welcome you again in the Tryp Habana Libre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The only positives of this hotel are location (although it's not close to Habana Vieja) and the view from upper floors. The finishes are worn out with cracked tiles, water damge on the bottom of all doors, the hallways smell really bad and the water pressure is terrible. The buffet was ok until a cockroach cruised right by my wife's head. The pool was closed and there were pieces of concrete falling off the outside of the building (be careful on the balcony). The sidewalks surrounding this hotel are full of giant holes and cracks (some are big enough to get lost in). The price they charged us was outrageous for the quality. I would recommend the Hotel National or the Melia Habana instead of this one. Maybe consider a casa instead.

Room Tip: Nice view from upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Aaron A
We offer our sincere thanks to publicize your reviews about Tryp Habana Libre services. We also appreciate that you send us your conformity to the privileged location. On the other hand we are deeply disappointed not to meet all your expectations, especially those concerning the maintenance condition of the hotel and the inconvenience on the buffet. About the pool it was reopened last month completly new, and there are other maintenance being done. We hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
4.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Habana Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Habana Libre

Property: Tryp Habana Libre
Address: 23 Calle L E 23 Y 25, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tryp Habana Libre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5- star Tryp Habana Libre, one of the most emblematic hotels in Havana, is located in the heart of the Vedado district. This majestic 25- story hotel (572 rooms) offers a unique view of the ocean and of the magical city. Ideal for business people, events, getaways and honeymoons. Guest rooms - 532 rooms: 282 standard, 250 standard panoramic view. Dining: 4 restaurants (a la carte, buffet), 3 cafeterias, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Melia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Cancelon, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tryp Habana Libre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Habana Libre Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Habana Libre
Habana Libre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing