We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“retro authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Habana Riviera is retro in the most authentic way. You can still imagine the Chicago gangsters who built the hotel smoking cigars in the lobby, you can even buy a freshly rolled one from Juanita at her stand. Good music in the bar or big ball room especially on weekends. Pool was a big plus, sea water, you can really swim laps here. Incredible view from the room, best value for its price class (USD 80 per night). If other reviews say the hotel is run down, I thought it was quite well kept up by Cuban standards, it is not easy with the embargo. The hotel has charm, style, a good Cuban experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Well what can I say, HELL NO NEVER AGAIN.. this place is the worst place I have ever stayed in the smell in the room was bad mold in the a/c vent think I could see it grow during my stay, this place is old and lacks everything, oh wait the breakfast is so bad that we went to the gas station across the street to get mini pizzas. And the main restaurant did not have anything on the menu but only ham sandwich and box cereal, STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP

Room Tip: Avoid this place, it is better to sleep on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a throwback. Can you imagine a 1950's hotel that has not seen any serious maintenance in 60 years. Room smelled of mould. Bathroom was a spackle spectacular. The middle elevator did not work. On the lower level, they had used, yep, rope to rope it off with the door open. Scary.
Avoid if you can. We were with a group.

Room Tip: Try to find a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were staying in this hotel for over 14 years but it didn't hold the staff back to steal money from our safe in the room. It happened before but we didnt really realize it as we trusted the staff and just thought we spent the money somewhere. Anyway, we contacted the manager about this issue as we were sure money got stolen, not spent by us. The manager wasn't helpful at all, he even said we are watching too many American movies where money gets stolen! His attitude was more than disrespectful and rude. We had a long conversation with him but he didn't do anything about that. Later we found out that he has a master key for all the safes in the hotel so we tried a trick... We put a hair on the door of the safe and gently closed it so the hair stayed in place. Sure enough someone tried to open our safe again 4 more times!!! The problem with an issue like this is, if you go to the police to report that, you'll spend your whole vacation dealing with it and there will be no outcome at all! Stay away from this hotel!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paulitotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel has serious deficiencies. It has upkeep problems - the elevators did not work - the pool was dirty - the rooms were not clean -the internet cards were "unavailable" for the computer -towels were removed for cleaning and never returned. The pictures on the internet are a misrepresentation totally - bottled water was not offered but had to be purchased at inflated prices. The front desk is not helpful - with information about Havanna . To telephone out of country costs one approximately 10 dollars us a minute! The breakfast is edible if you like warmed up eggs THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR - MORE LIKE 2

Room Tip: "Las habitaciones est malo no ayuda no agua not limpio "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here one night prior to a cruise. Food was mediocre but staff were pleasant. Best coffee was in the bar.
Common areas were well maintained; nothing has changed there in 6o years since Ginger Rogers was the opening act! Our room was bland and yes there was a moldy ceiling although I don't know what else to expect given Cuba's climate and the hotel location right on the Malecon. We had 3 beds in our room, no screen on window so I'm glad we did not have children with us.
I really enjoyed the pool which is a ruin. It's clean but falling apart, tiles missing, stairs to viewing area broken and cordoned off. Quite different from when Esther Williams swam there in the '50s. These things could be really depressing if you let them get to you but this is Cuba so you can embrace the good with the bad and enjoy or fixate on how unlike Cuba is to wherever you're from and be miserable.
I wouldn't want to spend too much time here, certainly not a week but I'm glad I went there, just to absorb some history (Meyer Lansky built this place to house his casino, before Castro sent him packing).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Would we stay here again? Erm..... No. We did find the staff friendly, but only once I started speaking Spanish. It was better to eat the bar food than in the restaurant, where a number of our group experienced poor service and cold food. The room obviously hadn't been cleaned since the hotel was opened in the 1950s. On arrival we were so tired we didn't notice how dirty the room was. The following morning it was a case of getting out of the room as quickly as possible as we had forgot to pack our chemical warfare suits. We realised the room was so dirty it was making my flesh crawl.

I appreciate we are in Cuba and the country is very unique to what you would experience anywhere else, however, dirty linen at breakfast, a lack of bowls for breakfast cereal as staff were too busy chatting to replenish them.

One of our group commented he hadn't brought swimming trunks. When I witnessed someone throwing chlorine powder into the pool, I was glad I hadn't brought mine. Have always considered skin a nice accessory for my body.

It would be more hygienic staying in a rubbish dump. You can still have a basic level of cleanliness, just not here. Maybe they should employ a maid to vacuum and change the dirty bed sheets.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mikey777icc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.3 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#29 of 81 in Havana
4,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,806 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roc Presidente
Hotel Roc Presidente
#15 of 81 in Havana
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR

Address: Paseo No-1 e/ 1ra and Malecon | Vedado, La Habana., Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £120 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Habana Riviera, located in front of Caribbean Sea, located in the heart of Havana City is. It has 352 rooms with views of the ocean and the city, 16 Junior Suite, 1 Suite, 2 handicap rooms. Stylishly modernist, the building's 50s look (and feel), Grand lobby, with original structure, furnishings and décor very well preserved. Spacious lobby bar set next to a row of large glass panels that place one almost literally next to the water, and the Mirador de la Habana restaurant with nice views of the littoral and city. Prestigious symbol of Havana City, its beauty, its Caribbean captivation, its cozy environment makes it into the most wanted hotel by the visitors. Services: Outdoor Pool, 1 Restaurant, Lobby Bar, Bar-Cafeteria by the Pool, Buffet breakfast included. Rooms: A/C, Minibar, TV, Safe. 3 Elevators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Riviera Havana
Habana Riviera Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing