We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habana Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Habana Riviera
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A landmark historic hotel. Needs renovation but rooms are quiet big and all of them are sea view, The hotel is clean and staff very polite. Breakfast suprised us with the young chef making omeletes to order. All we could expect from this hotel of almost 60 years old with all that history behind it.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianaKyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    131
    194
    122
    135
See reviews for
105
248
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I had booked the hotel for 7 nights and much later I saw the bad reviews it has on tripadvisor and I was terrified. However, when we reached the hotel we saw it was totally different from the descriptions. We took a standard twin room on the 16th floor. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable with a breathtaking view. And it did not smell like mould at all. The air-conditioning was functioning well and there was hot water all the time.
The location is good, not far from Havana Vieja. The swimming pool is not bad.
Very kind and helpful staff. We ate at the restaurant that is near the pool and it had very good pizza and club sandwich at reasonable prices.
The breakfast was OK, there was a rich buffet which was not bad for Cuban standards.
Overall, do not expect a real 4 star hotel but if you take into account that you are in Cuba then it is fine., and it is much much better compared to other hotels I stayed at.
Oh and there is Internet at the lobby. 8 CUC for an hour

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eleni31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We didn't stay here, but came for lunch and a swim. The architecture is just stunning, I fell in love with the building's 50's kitchy allure. The staff was considerably better than in any other state-owned place we'd been before. We walked all the way along the Malecon from Havana Vieja, pleasant promenade.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After reading all the review on this hotel, I was scared to arrive. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and hospitable staff. It was expected to have experience a pungent smell of tobacco (after all we are in Cuba), that was a bit upsetting in the lobby, other than that the lobby was clean and welcoming. I was there for ten days in December 2013 on an educational trip. I must say i was not disappointed. Unlike the other guests I did not visit the pool or use many of the hotel's facility. But my room on the 19th floor had a breath taking view of the Caribbean Sea, the Malecon. The rooms were cleaned daily, given the fact that resources are limited in this country, staff worked assiduously to prepare clean, nicely designed bath towels daily. Meals at breakfast were acceptable. Its not a four or five star hotel. One was cognizant of the state of the country, the economy and trade affairs. Many of the foods were local. The breakfast staff was quiet hospitable and attempted to personalize meals upon request. This was really pleasant. However, buffet dinner lacked variety, it was not to my liking. This hotel does not have free WIFI or internet services. This hotel is located minutes away from many local attractions, places of interest and Old Havana. Traveling to and from Riveira is easy and affordable.

Room Tip: The higher floors, floors 18 and above have the best views and air is a bit fresher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

By our standards, the Havana Riveria is a crumbling badly in need of TLC. But it is an example of what Cuba has to offer. This is a state run hotel with little resources in terms of ight bulbs, toilet seats, and toilet paper. The carpets and curtains must be the original from 1959. We had no hot water and the shower head was so clogged with scale we had just a stream of water with no pressure. The condition of the hotel is bad and shows why the embargo needs to be lifted. Cuba is a gem in terms of its people & culture- I will want to return & hope investment will help the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for 5 days. Hotel is fairy run down, but one can sense the greatness from 50 years ago. Swimming pool not very nice, rooms dated and often nto working power sockets etc.

Breakfast is just about acceptable, but the worst thing is that staff at front desk are unhelpful and dont seem to care ata times (though some were also very helpfull)

If you get this cheaply, then great, but dont expect 4 star

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGICVIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is just a very, very, very bad choise!! we were located in the 8th floor, where the "presidential" suit is located, when the door of the lift opened a terrible bad mold smell hit us, the explanation of the reception lady was that a customer has left the tab water run all night and the floor was floded.... however when we entered the room, the truth just hit us: we just paid to be part of a horror film...
the smell of the room, the dust all over the place, the dirty bath, the dusty bed.... it was just TERRIBLE!!!
At night there was a party going on and on... at 2 am we called reception and their reponse was epic: do not worry, the party will finish at 5am!!!
Do not stay in this place, unfortunately due to the internet restrictions in Cuba one can not do much research... but just check different option on this website or go to a travell agency.... believe me you'll feel in the end like in a horror movie in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank horsesibiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1303.7 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
73.8 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habana Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habana Riviera

Property: Habana Riviera
Address: Paseo No-1 e/ 1ra and Malecon | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Habana Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Habana Riviera, located front to the impetuous Caribbean Sea, with its romantic Malecon and in the heart of Havana City is imposed by the special atmosphere that offers its environment. Its architecture offers an eastern atmosphere of rare exoticism and novelty. The 16-storey Habana Riviera looks like something out of 1950s Las Vegas or Miami, an airbrushed postcard taking one back to a very different time and world. Stylishly modernist, the building's 50s look (and feel) carries past the revolving door entrance over to the grand lobby, whose original structure, furnishings and décor have been very well preserved. The spacious lobby bar is set next to a row of large glass panels that place one almost literally next to the water, and the Mirador de la Habana restaurant has very nice views of the littoral and city. A less publicized detail is the modern artwork that graces the lobby and entrance to the hotel, which includes pieces by renowned Cuban sculptor Florencio Gelabert - a fact that could prove of interest to anyone with an eye for modernist art. Through the years, the Habana Riviera has been able to maintain its refinement. Sculptures by artist Florencio Gelabert and suggestive and valuable wooden works and other artistic jewels reinforce the building's seductive flavour. Prestigious symbol of Havana City, its beauty, its Caribbean captivation, its cozy environment convert it into the most wanted hotel by the visitors: poets, dancers, painters, actors, Premiums Nobel writers, artists of all kind, ambassadors, officials, presidents and famous world figures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Habana Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Riviera Havana
Habana Riviera Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing