We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst staff, ok hotel”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I would have to say there was 2 staff that were quite good at this hotel, one was a security staff member, the other was front desk. Over 4 nights I only saw her once, the rest of the front desk staff could not be more rude and could not care less.

The hotel is next to a museum and that itself is next to the capitol building - which is nice.

Across the road is Central Park, and unless you really have your wits about you is a place to avoid when you are alone - day or night.

The first night I was there I was having dinner at the rooftop bar and grill when a lady came and sat with me, as it turned out she was a prostitute.

A couple of days later while I was in my room the phone rang and it was some lady trying to get me to come down to the lobby - apparently we had drinks the day before and I was her friend. Only thing was that I went to Santiago for the day and sat with no one in Havana. During the phone call she said I was a New Zealander - a very strange and accurate guess of my nationality.

now long after I had a phonecall from a man claiming almost the same thing, but mainly wanting me down in the lobby - also said I was a New Zealander. Eventually I just went down and asked at the front desk about it, and the lady said did they know your name and I said no so she said dont worry about it. I asked how often this was going to happen and she just shrugged and that was it as far as she was concerned.

I could never buy internet there - the answer everytime I tried was 'its not possible' so in the end I went to a different hotel on the corner of Central Park and bought it there.

There is a restaurant, a rooftop bar and grill and a bar in the hotel. The restaurant runs until 10pm - no problems. The rooftop bar says 2am but couldnt get food there at 12am, so went to the bar which says 24 hours with sandwiches and snacks. No luck - they stop serving any food at 10pm. Very frustrating trying to get food in this hotel, and its certainly not of any quality worth going there for!

I ended up eating at the same place I got the internet and I was blown away by how amazing the staff were and how immaculate the hotel was presented.

I would suggest avoiding this hotel at all costs. There is not enough character for that to influence your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JetSet-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of Cuba Direct. We explicitly said that we wanted a better hotel because it was our wedding anniversary and we wanted it to be special (and the reviews on here weren't great). Cuba Direct convinced us that it had been recently renovated and that they'd request one of the newer rooms, so naively we took their advice as the location was so good.
We arrived late in the evening for a 2 night stay only to find that we'd been designated two single beds. When we asked to be moved we were rudely told that it was full (similar to other comments on here), there was no room service and the restaurant and bar had closed, so no dinner for us! The breakfast buffet was basic, whereby the fruit and pastries looking very questionable due to the flies within the dining room. Again, a lack of service and general rudeness when asking for cutlery as we ended up clearing a table and setting one for ourselves.
Long story short, it's a great location, but not don't expect reasonable service, food or rooms, and don't be fooled by the beautiful lobby!
P.s. The rooftop bar was awful, I asked for a soft drink and the only option was juice, which was served in a small carton with a straw.....

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what you say, you still get stuck in a rubbish room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Parbeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel Inglaterra is a fabulous Old Colonial Hotel, that still has the magic and decor of days gone by. The decor is of its "period" and is well maintained. The hotel is in a prime location overlooking the Parque Central, which is the hub for the historical district. The hotel is clean and well serviced, with ground terrace, Restaurant and great views from the roof terrace. The staff were first class and really friendly. The food was of a high standard and reasonably priced considering the prestige of the hotel. If you get an outside room, beware of the street noise, as it can go on till 2/3 am. I had already researched this and used earplugs. I'd rather have a room with a view. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Havana :0D

Room Tip: Our room was spotless and serviced every day. You can get inner rooms which are quiet or outer rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devlin_Hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for Easter Break for 3 nights. It is a lovely place with the best location in Havana! The staff working there is very friendly and very helpful - including a lovely door man. Our room was good- the only thing I would ask when visiting to have a window in a room, as it can be a bit dark...Overall it was a great stay with real Cuban atmosphere. The music never slips in this city and the people are always happy. Floridita is literally 5 min away - go and try their lovely cocktails!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pati556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Considering that this is the oldest hotel in Havana with over 100 years, don't expect it too be like other hotels. The architecture is quite nice and the rooms are big, although very unusual and different. We had the room with the windows to the main street and it was kind of noisy. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices (except the coffee, which was terrible). There was a small restaurant on the roof top with a very nice view and good cocktails. Located near the old Havana, the hotel offers easy access to all of the city and it is close to the Malecon. The staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed 5th April 2014 for 4 nights. this is the worst hotel i have every stayed in.
i was in room 112 over looking over the front, it was very noisy and the fumes from traffic was horrible.
The room was dated, the on suite had mold over the ceiling and walls. ever now and them there was smell of Sewerage, which you have pour water down the drains to stop.
there was bare wires on the air con unit.
The breakfast was a joke, when a limited amount of Baguettes were put out the majority were consumed but kitchen staff. were one morning i cracked my egg, it went all over me, totally uncooked, had to wash in toilets behind reception to my surprise also smelt of raw sewage but only more potent.
i did ask to move room but was refused

Room Tip: cuba is a lovely place, just don't stay here, i find it very hard to belive the average review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As I spent almost each day in the center of Havana this was one of my favourite points where I used to spent some time.Good coffe anda sandwiches in caffeteria,About acommodationj inside hotel I can not say anything as I dont sleep there .Hotel is 50 meters from Theather National ,200 meters from Capitolio,300 meters from famous Partagas cigar factory and 10 minutes walking to Havan Vieja.Location is absolutly amazing for walking distances to best points in Havana.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croato_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,757 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: £130 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing