We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of Cuba”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A little bit of Cuba”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What can I say, very interesting accommodation. It's kind of nice to see that nothing much has changed in the hotel for many years, it's an old building but still has a very strange appeal to it. If you are looking for luxury you won't find it hear. All that said I would be more than happy to go back for a night or two. It's also very centrally located so another plus point.

Rooms are quite small and the 3 we saw were all completely different. All rooms had a tv and air con, the later of which was a necessity, from recollection tv was not great but the air con unit worked very well.
Food in the hotel was not the best, we were B&B which was okay. Plenty of good places for food just outside the front doors.

This hotel also has a roof bar which is kind of where we spent a lot of time, views are pretty good and there is live musicians most evenings I believe.

Room Tip: We were all on the first floor but would suggest higher is probably better, if you don't like no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STUMG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    629
    414
    166
    111
See reviews for
243
748
112
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Of course its an old hotel but one ideally placed for visiting and absorbing yourself in the old part of the city and that doesn't mean you have to make any significant compromises. The elegance and charm of this place just adds to your experience of visiting this wonderful old city. Well air-conditioned rooms with lots of charm and great views from the balcony. Lovely roof-top bar and hot-tub. Placed right on Park Central it is in a great location right in the hub of activity with everything you need within walking distance and right across from the hop-on-hop-off tour buses, taxis, coco-taxis, bici-taxis and of course the old American taxi cars. Great service and an extensive breakfast spread, continental but with a good few hot choices included too. Plenty to set you up for the day and a lovely place to return to in the late evening with plenty going on outside. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms with balcony overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel Inglaterra is a great place to stay while exploring Havana. The location is perfect - on the Prado where Central Havana meets Old Havana, walking distance from a number of “must see” places – the Malecon, The Cathedral, Chinatown, the Capitolio, the National Theatre, etc. You only have to walk across the street to board either one of the Havana Tourbus lines that will take you all over the city and you can get on and off all day for a 5CUC ticket (the Necropolis, Revolution Square to name just 2 of several stops). The other bus will take you across the bay to the Castille de Morro fortress and lighthouse as well as to some beaches east of the city. I do a lot of photography and it was amazing to walk down the Prado immersed in the history of Havana. On the weekends, the Prado is home to several artists/street vendors, musicians, performers. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with a fantastic interior. I had a room overlooking the Prado – wonderful view. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. I had a room on the 2nd floor and was not disturbed by the nightlife either below or above. They serve a great hot breakfast buffet every morning (included) with 3 options for dining later in the day – an elegant dining room, a bar style restaurant and a roof top restaurant with a killer view. There is internet access limited to the hotel’s computers in the lobby but you can also walk across the street to access computers (and wifi if you need it) at the Parque Central (Iberostar). You can make arrangements to tour other areas of Cuba – I took a 2 day tour down to Cienfuegos, the city of Trinidad and the rainforest in the mountains. I will return to the Hotel Inglaterra and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Havana. As a solo female traveler, I was perfectly safe in the heart of Havana.

Room Tip: I opted for a room overlooking the Prado and Central Parque for the view and it was wonderful. Bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lighthousekeeper_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After reading a lot of the reviews for this hotel prior to arrival, I didn't know what to expect. Nevertheless, I thought the hotel was excellent. It's a beautiful old building (apparently the oldest hotel in Havana), the rooms are decently sized and clean, the service is "so so", but you come to expect that in Cuba, but the view from the rooftop is outstanding!

Room Tip: A lot of comments talk about the noise from the rooftop band. I was on Level 2 and had no problem. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'll never give it a 5 star because it is really far from it. 4 stars i considered, but the lack of water in the breakfast, the unfriendliness of the reception people, and the general perception that the main focus is to extract every CUC from the tourist as they can, leaves me with a 3.

Ignoring those issues, the building is very beautiful although decadent and in need of renovation. The rooms are large and clean and the one I got had AC (noisy). Mine had the window to the side street, and fortunately because it was noisy enough.

Although not my first choice in Havana, I hour recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the main stress a very noisy but the view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiagolopespt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our short visit to Havana and had a great time! The hotel is gorgeous on the inside - high ceilings and classy stone work. The rooms had a very vintage feel, but were well equipped with all the bathroom necessities! The hotel does get very loud at night, so do bring ear plugs! The breakfast quality was very good and many choices were available. Location is very central as the Hop On Hop Off bus is right across the street! Overall, we were really impressed with the place and felt like we were living like celebrities!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the original grander Havana hotels, the Inglaterra provided my wife and I an enjoyable 4 day stay. Location next to old Havana is outstanding - walking distance to everything. Lots of restaurants, bars and sights within a few minutes walk. Main floor lobby etc. is pretty much original. Lots of live music both on the sidewalk patio and at the roof top lounge. Rooms are fine but nothing special. Everything worked well although the air conditioner constantly dripped considerable water in the very hot humid Cuba summer. Food including the free breakfast was above average for Cuba. This hotel is worth consideration if you are looking for a 3 star place next to old Havana that is reasonable and safe. If you want 5 star, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner works if you are visiting in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyGuy1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
5.4 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Property: Hotel Inglaterra
Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing