We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th time staying here....first time since april 2011”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sercotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sercotel Lido
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“4th time staying here....first time since april 2011”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was shocked as it was still as cheap as before & the elevator actually worked. They gave me room #505 which was actually decent. I had a problem with toilet but didn't want to move as I had a good balcony view & the room was renovated. The handy man fixed it in an hour. I'm use to it not having hot water but I got quite a few warm showers in which was also a surprise but wasn't needed as it was 35-40c outside. The food still is not very good but I only ever ate my free ham & cheese sandwich for breakfast anyway. The staff all remembered me & most knew my full name. I am pretty hard to forget but still it was nice to be treated so well & remembered. The world cup is on so the lobby bar was busy with locals during games but I had no issues. It was nice to see that they done renovations to the hotel as it was pretty run down & the elevator never use to work half the time. great location as it is centrally located near the malecon & a block off the prado. you can walk anywhere from here. I get treated better then most there by what i have read. i had a Cuban stay with me & it does say no guests in room if they are not staying in the hotel but they never stopped me when i brought a swiss tourist up to my room. maybe nobody saw but nobody said anything. That rule is in place i think because you do get local women in the lobby & they want to make sure they are paying guests if they want to stay in the hotel. they are not going to let tourists bring locals or friends up to their rooms without them paying it when they have only paid for single. Do the math for those who complain about this. They would be losing money if they had too many beers & slept in your room. This is happens in many hotels not just here.

Room Tip: room 505 was the best room i had yet there. i get great treatment as i have brought them business ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    58
    45
    38
See reviews for
14
63
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Ok, so it was cheap, and I got what I paid for. But the view from the balcony was great, I could see the Capitol building. I had a room on the 4th floor, but the music from the upstairs restaurant was really loud. The desk staff were not very helpful when I was checking in, but the man when I was checking out spoke English and was quite friendly. The water in the shower was not warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on my first trip to Havana in November 1992. It was cheap hotel, good location, bad service, cheap food in the restaurant downstairs and cheap drinks in the rooftop bar. We were just awaiting our flight home and it was safe place to be at the time in strange country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Dirty, dark, with small rooms, tiny toilets, an old look, and located in a of ill repute street, at least according to Lonely Planet.
Furthermore, the hall is full of prostitutes. Avoid it; you'll find something better in La Habana for sure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mic844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my first trip to Havana. It was very inexpensive and centrally located a block away from El Prado. The hotel was very old and the room was had that funky smell of mold. the shower just had cold water. When I complained about not having hot water they told me that they would fixed that. Well the whole week I stayed there I never had management fix the problem. I
When my cousins came to visit I was not allowed to bring them into the room. In the morning they had a breakfast buffet for $15. the quality of what they had was awful. They had a bar up on the roof of the building with cheap cocktails and for me that was about the only thing worth it. One day I had a visit from some men clamming that they were from the state security asking me all kinds of questions, That was very scary. I also hated that the staff was constantly asking for me to help them resolve what ever need they need. After that I decided to checkout and stay at my cousins house. Never again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Absolute_Cuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel is cheap by Havana standards and also centrally located. It is quite a bit cheaper than a casa particular and presents a better option for budget travellers due to its location just off the Prado.

The room was less than impressive with a very tired feel about it. Peeling veneer on the furniture and dingy, musty feel. Still, for the price was better than I expected. I stayed here for three nights and on each one, there was no hot water and the shower was little more than a dribble. Also, had to use my flip-flops to terminate a few massive cockroaches. Lovely!

The one redeeming feature of the hotel was the pleasantness of the staff, who are friendly and jocular. I speak some Spanish, so perhaps this helped. Even so, I was pleased with the service and managed to negotiate a very good rate for the taxi to the airport at the end of my stay. I wasn't due at the airport til the late afternoon/early evening and the hotel was kind enough to look after all my stuff even though they had no formal storage arrangements.

Pleased, but don't expect casa quality and quirkiness!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are noisy as they face the street. Would avoid these, they are also more expensive. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake-Aman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langnau am Albis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

The price for value is good. The hotel is cheap and simple, there was everything what we needed for our short stay in la habama. A simple breakfeast with a great view from the rooftop is includet. Nice place for only little money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caviezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#44 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#39 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#32 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Lido

Property: Sercotel Lido
Address: Consulado 210 | Entre Animas y Trocadero, Havana 10400, Cuba (Formerly Islazul Hotel Lido)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sercotel Lido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sercotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing