We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Iberostar Parque Central is really two hotels separated across a block and joined by a "tunnel" - which you would not know is a tunnel.
We stayed in the second newer modern hotel, a tunnel away.
The room was fine, a little tired, a window view onto the bathroom which is weird as always, and with patio doors opening on to the Havana madness, with a view of the beautiful Bacardi building.
Wifi is available in the lobbies but payable otherwise.
The location in the "old town" is perfect.
The lobby is large and welcoming, and leads off to one or two restaurants which are good.
Each "hotel" has a rooftop pool and both are good; however, our sizeable Virgin Holiday cabin crew persisted noisily at our rooftop pool every day for three days at least.
No problem at all with Jinteros, I think they're allowed one shout of "taxi?" or "cigars?" then back off, so just ignore them.
I did get duped by a convincing "nun" on one occasion and then a "school teacher" who seduced us with long yarn and then was "on his way to tend his wife in a caesarian delivery who was asthmatic but could no afford an inhaler refill" (but had time to talk to tourists).

You couldn't make it up could you? I didn't. Beware of paternal school teachers in Havana, or his/their next scam.

Cuba is amazing! Have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra g, Guest Relations Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Believe us when we say that we have really enjoyed all your comments about the good experience living with us and also about the remarks about some of the people on the city, as you recognized every person is a different world, some they like to trade words, and others a little different, but the most attractive part is that with your witty industry you managed to make a very colorful and delightful comments to share on this traveling community, we hope we will see you very soon in our hotel, for sure with a large smile on your lips.

thanks a lot for these suggesting words,

Hospitable regards,

IBEROSTAR PARQUE CENTRAL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,164 - 2,170 of 7,075 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel some time ago but it was a great experience, the hotel is located in the centre go the city and is really convenient, the staff were very helpful especially the concierge, as my bag did not arrive . I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra g, Guest Relations Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words, on this site, we are really happy that you enjoyed your staying with us, even when your bag did not arrive, you can rest assured that we will pass your comments to the concierges and the rest of the staff.

once again thanks for all your warm words,

hospitable regards,

IBEROSTAR PARQUE CENTRAL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for its location right in the old town of Havana. We travelled with our teenage daughters and requested two rooms on a high floor in the old colonial part of the hotel with a view of the park - this is exactly what we got. The rooms were lovely with lots of character and did not seem shabby at all. In fact I think some of the rooms have been refurbished recently. The bathroom was spacious with modern furnishings, soft towels and bathrobes. The beds were very comfortable. The only problem was our air conditioning did not seem to function properly during the day compared to that of our daughters' room, but it was perfectly cool at night so it didn't bother us too much.

The rooftop swimming pool is lovely with a view to die for! We loved coming back in the afternoon to cool off after a day of sight seeing. It was not always possible to find a bed free, but there are plenty of chairs too. Each afternoon there was a live band by the pool playing Cuban tunes. It had a lovely atmosphere. We ate dinner at the restaurant by the pool one night - the food was excellent, as was all the food in the hotel. We also ate twice at the lobby bar for convenience. The cocktails are very good at this hotel and quite reasonably priced too. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and cava, if you want it!

The hotel lobby is amazing. I could have spent all day there just watching people coming and going, listening to the live bands that were playing there most evenings.

The service at this hotel was very good. The concierge was very helpful arranging taxis for us and a tour in one of the old American cars, which is an absolute must. Our driver, Juan, was so informative. You can walk to most places from this hotel: Floridita, Calle Obispo, Plaza Vieja etc. so I would definitely recommend it as a good base for exploring old Havana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CLOSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, and for the time you took in writing your experience to share with other travellers .
It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate that you recommend us.

We are confident that we will welcome you back again at any of our hotels.

Paulina Chahin
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This review is a little late as I stayed in here a couple of years ago but I had three fabulous nights at this hotel at the end of my holiday in Cuba!
The staff work extremely hard to make your stay perfect, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were beautiful. I stayed in a recently refurbished room.
Relaxing on one of the roof terraces with a cocktail, taking in the views, is a must!!
I also had a massage at the beauticians which was excellent and very reasonably priced.
I will be hopefully returning to Havana in January 2015 and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lucia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra g, Guest Relations Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, a big thank you for your nice words, we will be here for you the next January.
For sure you can count on us sharing your warm words with the rest of the staff.

Hospitable regards,

IBEROSTAR PARQUE CENTRAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriend at the beginning of our holiday. We couldn't have asked for more. The hotel now has an 'old' and 'new' section. We stayed in the 'old' bit which seems the be the main part and it was just perfect.

The rooms are very nice and amenities provided are brilliant. Buffet breakfast wont let you down, lobby bar is a nice place to chill (with a nice cigar cart to chose from), and food here and in all the restaurants is good! The location is brilliant. A stones throw from the Capitol, Floridita and about 10-15 minute walk into the old city. Also about a 30-40 minute walk to Revolution Square but can grab a taxi easy enough if you preferred. And it is so safe to walk around the choice is yours.

One quick tip, go to the restaurant on the top floor by the pool just before sunset in the 'old part' of the hotel, not only is sunset lovely over the old city but grab a mojito or some food and just sit watching the Capitol building, a very special view!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra g, Guest Relations Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive remarks about our facilities, for sure we intend to spread your words, among the staff for they are the best prize to be won when dealing in tourism, lodging and catering,

Once again a lot of thanks, we hope to meet you soon in our hotel.

Hospitable regards,

IBEROSTAR PARQUE CENTRAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

30/6/14
If you want to experience all that central Havana has to offer, have great views, access to 2 roof-top pools and good food then this is the place. It’s rated number one in Havana for good reason and I felt that the upgrade price was sensible. If you stay here you will be gloating at all the people who saved a few bob by staying in cheaper hotels away from the centre and then wasted hours shuttling back and forth. We have stayed at the Hotel Nacionale De Cuba before and the Parque Central hotel is better overall.

Rooms are large and in pretty good condition although you expect a little shabbiness in Havana. We liked the room even though there were a few worn fittings. There was much debate about the difference in rooms between the old and “new” sections of the hotel. I think the preference depends on your taste: If you like traditional wooden décor with an old-world feel stay in the old section (it’s far more elegant); If you like chrome/black and pseudo-modern then stay in the new section.

What’s not in doubt is that the whole hotel is really lovely with a focus on great service. Uniquely, it has two roof-top pools (one on each building) which offer a fabulous vantage point from which you can watch the Havana world go by. We’ve been to Havana twice now and this really is a special spot. The romance of watching a Havana Sunset while having a nice meal and cocktail on a roof-top is something to savour.

Breakfast is lovely with a huge choice from the buffet. Lunch is available in the pool-side eating area or restaurants and dinner in one of several restaurants. The poolside burgers and pizzas are very good but we ventured into Havana for dinner which is both cheaper and more exciting.
Overall, costs for a posh hotel are pretty good. Drinks and food are similar to UK pub prices and even the mini-bar is not too bad. It’s obviously massively cheaper to buy drinks and food outside the hotel in the various bars and restaurants of which there are hundreds.

Tip: Walk down Obispo Street and take in the sights and sounds, sample a few cocktails and have dinner in an outside seating area where they have live music. If hawkers approach you trying to sell anything just say no politely but firmly. They soon go away. Don’t buy cigars off the street – you will be ripped off! Go to the official shops where the prices are still good and you can be sure of quality. Buy your rum in the small local shops of which there are many. The prices are ridiculously cheap. Take a ride in an open-top car around the famous sites BUT, do not buy this as an excursion as the holiday company will rip you off. Some of the best cars are parked up in the Parque Central Square opposite the Capitol Building. We negotiated with the driver and paid 35CUC ($35 USD) for one hour but our friends bought the same excursion through the holiday company rep for 75CUC each! Do go to the Tropicana and if you can get tickets, go to see the Buena Vista Social Club.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank markanddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, and for the time you took in writing your experience to share with other travellers .
It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate that you recommend us.

We are confident that we will welcome you back again at any of our hotels.

Paulina Chahin
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Very nice hotel and beautiful old school lobby with restaurants and bar. Very nice and helpful staff who speak decent English which is helpful if you don't speak Spanish. Rooms are nice and clean and large. They are a little bit dated bit still good. The highlight for me is the rooftop pool/bar/restaurant with the amazing views. Real sanctuary after a long day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Parque Central. We are glad to read you have had a great holiday with us and hope to be able to offer you our hospitality once again.

Paulina Chahin
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £235 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Parque Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Iberostar, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing