We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location- loved Havana!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We’ve recently returned from a twin centre holiday with Thomas Cook (3 days in Havana, 11 days in Varadero).
The NH Parque Central is a very good hotel, thoroughly deserving of its Cuban five-star status.
It is excellently located overlooking Parque Central near to most of Havana’s major tourist sites.
The Capital Building, Revolution Museum, Cathedral and Old Town Square are all within a ten to fifteen minute walk from the hotel.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, as was our room overlooking the park.
The rooftop swimming pool is a real oasis after day’s sight-seeing, affording beautiful views over the city. Snacks and drinks were readily available at a reasonable price.
Money exchange is Government controlled and therefore airports, banks and hotels supposedly offer the same exchange rates. Although at times a little slow, we found the best place to exchange money was in the hotel foyer (where the rate of around 1.36CUCS = £1.00 was a few pesos better per pound than in Varadero).

Havana was very hot (with high humidity) at the end of August, so drink plenty of water. There’s a small kiosk just to the front and left of the hotel (1.50CUCS for a large bottle) or use the small supermarket in the precinct, also to your left.

The Cubans are delightful – warm, friendly, smiley.
Havana is a real time-warp; a wonderful city to explore.
Print off a Google map of the Old Town – it’s all you’ll need to find your way around.
It is a very safe, non-threatening city, even at night, so get out and explore the back streets of the Old Town for yourselves.
El Floridita is two minutes away – enjoy a strawberry daiquiri, Ernest Hemmingway’s favourite tipple.
From El Floridita walk down Obispo. Obispo runs down to the Plaza de Armes (10 minutes walk) – an excellent street for lively bars and restaurants.
About three quarters of the way down Obispo is San Ignacio. Turn left into San Ignacio and you are one minute from Cathedral Square (El Patio Restaurant in the square is atmospheric and serves good food). Just round the corner from El Patio is the tiny La Bodeguita bar where Hemmingway enjoyed a mojito or two.
If you turn right off Obispo into San Ignacio walk for about ten minutes to Plaza Vieja (Old Square). In the corner of the square is a brewery making its own excellent dark beer, served in a six-pint tube on your table if you’re really thirsty!

A must for everybody – see the concierge in the NH Parque Central and ask for a chauffeur-driven old convertible car. For 30CUCS for one hour (about £22) we saw the rest of the city. Within five-minutes of the phone call Amram turned up in a red and gold 55 Chevrolet convertible. He drove us through Havana New Town to Revolution Square, Christopher Columbus Cemetery, past John Lennon’s statue and down to the National Hotel. Amram enjoyed a drink with us in the bar, explaining to us the history of the hotel and its guests. We finished off with a drive along the Malecón and back to the hotel. It was the best 30CUCS we’ve ever spent!

For those wanting to try the famous Cuban cigars just walk straight through Central Park and past the Capital Building. Turn right at the end of the Capital Building and in front of you is Tabacas Partagas (an ornate cream and maroon building) – five minutes away. Tours and a shop open daily from 09.30.
Next door to the Cigar Factory is a fenced-off area. It’s a ‘graveyard’ for rusting American trains – for 1CUC the guy on the gate let us in to take some fun photos!

After three fantastic days, we’re off to the Iberostar Laguna Azul, Varadero – a two hour drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chrisandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,897 - 3,903 of 7,251 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Really well located, everything is in easy walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet brilliant, huge choice! Great roof top bar and swimming pool with lovely views of the city. The cigar shop is great and the lady that runs it is a star! Only downside is the beggars outside. Tip: across the street on the left hand side is a shop where you can buy water, beer and wine for a fraction of the cost charged by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here for 10 nights in the new part, Torro, and the hotel has everything you could want. Breakfast is in the old part accessed via a tunnel, has plenty to choose from, service is fantastic from the staff. The only downside in the room is no tea/coffee making. Tip, If you use the minibar to keep your own drinks cold, leave the cupboard door to allow the fridge to work efficently! The staff are very helpful indeed. Resturant food is execelent but expensive, Go local like Los Nardos, 5 mins from hotel. Its very popular resturant so may have to wait for table.

You will not go wrong with this hotel, it is central to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinMking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The first point to make is, yes, it is an excellent hotel and I would love to return. But I know that it is keen to retain its reputation and even improve, so below are a few suggestions along with the plaudits. Lets start with the paludits.

The reception area is first class. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff are lovely: welcoming, efficient and friendly and the location is just fabulous; if you love Havana you could not be in a better spot, right on the boundary between Centro and Havana Vieja.

So to the suggestions. We stayed for a week on full board and had the impression that the dining arrangements were not really geared up for this. The set menu in the Mediterranean Restaurant, though quite adequate, did not change. When we complained, we were given the a la carte menu with the reasonable instruction that the most expensive dishes were off-limits. Fair enough, but these restrictions seemed to change every night! Sometimes the seafood was off-limits, sometimes just the lobster. Sometimes we could pay extra and have these dishes, sometimes we could not. These are small points but just become irritating as time goes on and could easily be sorted by some clear instruction to the waiting staff. More importantly, the actual quality of the food in the Meditarranean Restaurant (we did not try the others) was not really up to the standard of the rest of the hotel - some of the beef was super (go for the sirloin) but some of the cooking was, to put it kindly, a bit irratic and the choice of puddings, for pudding worshippers like us, was disappointing. I think whoever is in charge of the Meditarranean Restaurant needs to review the instructions given to the waiting staff and the standard of the cuisine if they want to attract people like us who love Havana so much that we want to spend as much time there as possible. By the way - big thank you to David who kindly sorted out our occasional moans with patience and efficiency, as far as the sytem allowed him to.

One tiny point about the facilities in the rooms - does the hotel really need to charge the equivalent of over £3 for sachets of instant coffe and a tea bag? Just seems a little mean!

OK, back to the plaudits. Breakfast is excellent: loads of choice and good quality. The roof top pools, although small, have the most amazing view of Havana. The cleaning staff seem excellent and our particular maid Tatiana was a gem. Room service and laundery service are quick and efficient. The gym, though small, was well equipped and one of our party loved the massage she got.

One unusual though not necessarily unwelcome aspect of this hotel is that it is in two parts! We were happily ensconced in what I presume is the slightly older building, which has all the facilities you need and it took us a while to realise that there is a whole separate building, with an Italian restaurant, second roof-top pool ect., so I should make it clear that all the above comments refer to the bulding which faces the central square.

So to summarise: a lovely hotel and cartainly the best we have stayed at in Havana. Just get the arrangements for longer-stay diners up to speed and give us free tea and coffee in the rooms and even people like me will find it difficult to find anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiefWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights includingour stay in Varadero for 11 nights.
Well this hotel certainly is your five star quality without the pricey tag.
The hotel reception, restaurant and bar are all so posh and grand. The people are friendly at the hotel. The Breakfast was really good everything from american english and continental Breakfast yummy! all top quality of course.
The room was very big and spacious and had an amazing view of Havanna the room is a tiny bit dated probally more of a four star plus room but bathroom fantastic with luxurious amenities.
The roof top pool has another stunnig view of old havanna plus a great pool and indoor jacuzzi.
The pool bar great with really good drinks and your usual burgers and hot dogs. The lobby bar was great had lovely music and great drinks everything was fantastic This is the best hotel in havanna Stay here you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

A gorgeous hotel in Havana. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient and the reception staff are great. It was our honeymoon and the hotel treated us really well. We were put into a lovely room with a view of the park and after a swim in the pool, found that a bottle of 7 year old havana club and a lovely cake had been left for us to enjoy. The room was cosy and clean.

The rooftop pool and whirlpool are lovely. Great location. Little cigar shop in the hotel is best value we found and the staff were great. Concierge service were amazing. The bar and staff in the bar were top notch, but the drinks are at hotel prices. The steakhouse is worth a try and the food was good, but again expensive. The service here was actually much poorer than in the rest of the hotel. The italian was also very good.

If we visit Havana again I would definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The title speaks for itself. It was mine and my sister in laws first time in Cuba celebrating my sister in laws 40th Birthday. N H Parque Central is the best hotel ever and we will be staying at this hotel every time we go to Cuba from now on. Yes we are most definitely going back.

Checking in and out of the hotel – Was the quickest and simplest I have ever known in any hotel I have ever stayed in.

Bedrooms and Bathrooms – Very clean and was cleaned on a daily basis.

Breakfast – Again very clean eating area, the staff are very polite and food is constantly being topped up. Wide variety for breakfast i.e cooked English breakfast bacon eggs sausages, variety of fruit, cereal and continental croissants etc.

Restaurant – We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as it was not part of our package and seemed quite expensive to eat there. However there are loads of restaurants in the locality, all within walking distance. So go out and experience the real Cuban cuisine. Our favourite restaurants were Los Nardos and Europa this one was on Obispo Street. The food is very reasonably priced.

New NH Parque Central – Yes there is a newly built part to N H Parque Central. You can access it by using the tunnel inside or walking outside. We looked around and it is very modern, however the standard room is slightly smaller than a standard room in the old part.

Pool – Both the old and new part of hotel have roof top pools, being scared of heights I did not think I would enjoy sitting by pool. But it was no problem.
Hotel – All areas of the hotel is kept clean at all times and there is such a lovely atmosphere in this hotel. Personally we both preferred the old part because the rooms were bigger.

Currency –You have to travel with Sterling Pounds of Euro’s in cash and change it up in the hotel it is the same exchange rate in the hotel, bank and airport so you won’t lose out at changing your money up in the hotel.

Safe – There is a safe in the room which is operated by your own individual combination number so no risk of money going missing or any other valuables or important documents.

If you want to experience Cuba then you need to stay in Havana. We specifically went for Salsa...... boy did we Salsa!! We enjoyed going to Hotel Florida and we did visit both Casa de la Musicas. There are 2 clubs, one which is Havana within walking distance from the hotel the other in Mirama. You will need to take a taxi. Make sure if you take a taxi, horse ride or coco taxi always agree the price before you get on board.

There are plenty more things to do in Havana apart from Salsa like visit the Museums and Cigar Factory’s which we promised ourselves we will do next time. Santa Maria Beach is 30 minutes away on a shuttle bus and costs 3 peso.

All the guys at the concierge were very helpful Victor, Ari, Frank, Eddy, Marcos, Miguel and Maykel to name but a few are all very knowledgeable about their country so if you want to know how to get somewhere ask them and they will give you a map and point you in the right direction. Remember to always give a nice tip, if someone has been helpful then show your appreciation. Tipping is normal in Cuba.

All we can say is Cuba is a must, Havana is a must, NH Parque Central is a must. Watch out Cuba because the Salsa queens are coming back only this time it won’t be for 10 nights it will be for 14 nights and even longer if we win the lotto!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Biggadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,806 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 81 in Havana
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £147 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Parque Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Iberostar, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing