We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roc Presidente
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and just love it because of its size and quiet location. There are many palladars within walking distance and we discovered several new ones.The staff here are always friendly and remembered our names from previous visits. I will be returning to Havana in September with a delegation for a Masonic Symposium and this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself and get an upgrade to one of the Presidential suites.They are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Mertoni: We appreciate very much you have booked in Roc Presidente again. Was a great pleasure for all our staff had received you as ever. Thank you very much for your time to write your reviews about the hotel. We are glad to read that you plan to stay once again with us. We hope to be able to offer you once again our hospitality. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    328
    320
    107
    79
See reviews for
134
400
84
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sommieres, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as part of a larger group end of January 2014.
The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were big, no noise from neighbouring rooms, view to Malecon.
The water in the bathroom was way too hot, though!!
The buffet restaurant was OK, but lacked a bit in imagination, served more or less the same food every night.
Great outdoor areas, large terrace and swimming pool.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lillisan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear lillisam 115: We are glad you have booked in Roc Presidente. Thank you for your time. We appreciatte very much your comments related to the personnel at the reception, rooms and other places inside. We are pleased of having attended and helped to make your stay enjoyable and memories. We hope that you remember us and decide to visit again. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip to Cuba for 2 days at the beginning and two days at the end. We had different rooms both times. Rooms were nice and big with big bathrooms and great views from the 7th and 9th floors. The lobby and veranda were very nice with that old world charm. Located 3 blocks from the ocean. The big problem we found with this hotel was mold and mildew in the rooms. They were damp and smelt bad. Our second room had a huge amount of mold right above our bed and you could see where there was more that was painted over to try to cover it up. Even the watercolor picture above the bed had run down into the bottom of the glass frame. Not a very healthy place to be. My partner was continually sneezing while in the room. The bathroom taps in the shower and bath faucet continually dripped and couldn't be shut off (needed new washers). The second room we stayed in was missing the bathtub faucet all together. As much as we liked the ambiance of this hotel I think it has seen better days!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first to check for mold and mildew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Gayle6769: We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Roc Presidente hotel. Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay. We are very sorry you had found these big problems in the room, we noted and we will check immediately to solve them as soon as possible. We are glad to read that you have liked the ambiance of the hotel. We appreciate your recommendation. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I had a group of 11 artists there for a week. Overall I would say were were all pleased. There were a few glitches but here’s what we liked: The rooms were generous in size, bathrooms were great the views were fantastic whether we had rooms overlooking the sea or overlooking Havana. I found the receptionists very helpful for the most part. Some reviews talked about internet access or the absence of WiFi. There IS WiFi. You buy a card (tarjeta) for 4.50 CUC’s – about $41/2 and that gives you one hour at the lobby computers or your own WiFi connection on your computer. I was up on the 6th floor and had no trouble getting on line. I will say that some of my clients – the ones who were using iPads had some difficulty getting on. Some of them figured it out and some didn’t.
If you have either a computer or an iPad you search for wireless networks and you will see ETECSA. That’s the one. Click on connect, then open a browser window. You will be asked to enter the login and password that’s on the card. I need to stay in contact with clients around the US so I bought 2 or 3 cards per day to do that.
Back to the hotel. I liked the beds – firm and comfy. I slept really well and I’m a light sleeper. The rooms have safes and cards to open the room doors. My room card worked fine each time but some of my clients had to return to the desk more than once to get the card re-programmed. In some cases the safes didn’t work. Not a big deal for me as I carried my passport wherever I went. There’s a small bar in the lobby and that was nice to have. Glasses of wine were 4 CUC’s. Beers I believe were less. The breakfast room is on one side of the lobby and the hotel restaurant is on the other side. Get to the breakfast room early because it can fill up fast. The selection was really good. From scrambled eggs to eggs over easy to just about everything else you can imagine. The coffee machine put out some nasty stuff they call coffee, but it was better than nothing. However, the restaurant is another animal altogether. We went in one night as a group to have dinner and to a person we decided it was the worst pizza we had in our lives. The wines were good but forget the food. There are plenty of good restaurants around town so you don’t have to deal with the one at the hotel.

One of these restaurants is nearby and is one of those Paradors- restaurants in family homes. The one most convenient to the hotel (3 blocks away) is on the 11th floor of a high rise. I was skeptical at first but the place was fantastic. Called Porto Habana we had a bill for our group totaling 174 CUC’s. 8 of us went so you can see that the average per person is about 20 and that included two bottles of wine, two sangrias, dessert and cappuccino. Fantastic food! Beef, chicken, pork, rice and beans, tapas, lots of good choices and in such a great atmosphere. Have the desk make a reservation for you.
Bottom line is that I’m planning to bring more groups to Cuba and without hesitation will stay at Presidente again. Another group of 20 artists were in Cuba at the same time as my group (I organized for them as well) wound up staying at a higher end hotel. They had no electricity or hot water for two days! So my vote goes to Presidente. One last thing. Some people mentioned not having hot enough water in the shower. I found that one day the water would be luke warm and the next day really nice and hot. Not a deal breaker for us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea might be preferable for the view, but I was content with what I had - a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Nyartist 1: Thank you for booking in Roc Presidente hotel. We are very glad you have had a good time with us and your group too. Thank you for sharing your opinions. Thank you for your recommendations, we will analyze each one in order to improve these. We hope you can come with a new group to have a beautiful experience with us again. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Roc Presidente as part of the Havana leg of an 8-day tour. Overall our stay was pretty good, the bed was large and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, if sometimes a little disorganised, and the hotel possesses an incomparable old-world charm. Unfortunately the rustic nature of the building and furnishings also extended to the amenities and both the showers and window shutters were a bit of a pain to deal with. The lifts were tiny and one of them was broken during our stay, so we typically had to leave our room 10-15 minutes before we were due in the lobby. We also had a couple of miscommunications with the front desk. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay here. The location near the Malecon is picturesque and the historic centre is only a short and cheap cab ride away. Breakfast by the pool was a lovely start to the day and the cocktails served in the lobby and on the terrace were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamcaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sir, We want to thank you for writing your reviews and ratings about our services. We are very pleased that you have felt well between us. We will consider its recommendations. We hope that in a future visit to Cuba you can visit. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday harbor, wa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit off the regular tourist path, so walking the neighborhood, one feels as if you are seeing the local Cuba.a different experience.
Stayed here for a few days,the staff is awesome and acccomadating, the rooms are well equipped with twin beds, and shutters on the windows. The bathrooms are large for the room, and well equipped with toiletries, towels and toilet paper. I stayed on the 3rd floor and the shower was abymssal, only a mild drip of hot water, but plenty of towels.
The lobby bar is my favorite, and the girl band that plays in the evenings are wonderful. Even tried the formal dining room, had the chicken and it was good, had a bit of spice to it..
The weather for part of my stay was torrential rain and winds. The howling wind through the shutters was amazzing, and kept me up on night, just listening to the noise. The Malecon was closed to traffic, but the waves washed over the street. Pretty awesome. The street even flooded by torrential rians and winds but the area is used to this as 15 minutes later there was no evidence of water on the street.
Cuba is different, viva la difference.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ruth: Thank you for having stayed at Roc President. The staff is very grateful for having left their opinions and sharing their experiences. We are pleased that your stay has been beautiful and different. It was a pleasure to have attended. Thank you. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This beautiful old hotel is still in fairly good shape, considering most of Havana around it is crumbling. It has beautiful features like great antiques in the lobby, wonderful tile, crown molding, and great views of the ocean and the pool cabana from our window. It's a great jumping off point to see the rest of the city. It's inexpensive, and the staff by and large are helpful, if occasionally rude. They have bands perform every night, from the front porch or the lobby. The porch itself is a great place to sit and enjoy a cigar. If you don't want to spend a fortune, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zootarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Estimated Zootarst: It is a great pleasure that you have selected the hotel for your stay in Havana. We are proud you have recognized the old values ​​of our hotel as part of its charm and history. The staff thanks you for sharing your experiences and opinions and hopefully you will return with us to enjoy our charms as you say. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#21 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Property: Hotel Roc Presidente
Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Roc Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing