We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel option in Vedado” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Roc Presidente
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Havana
US
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good hotel option in Vedado”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is my fourth stay at the Hotel Presidente. It is still a good and reasonably priced hotel in Havana. The buffet was better this year compared to previous years (except for the coffee which was still as bad... buy your coffee from the bar in the lobby instead). The rooms still could benefit from some maintenance but they are overall good and clean.

A couple of changes this year : there used to be a Cadeca (money exchange office) in the hotel but not anymore, in addition there is now wireless internet in the lobby ($) and lower floors of the hotel (not the upper ones). There is now also a band that play in front of the hotel every night until about 11PM, nice new change unless you are in one of the lower floor and want to sleep early.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors, the view is very nice and you will hear the band less if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear JoeDassin 1: We appreciate so much you have booked in Roc Presidente hotel and we are very glad to welcome you again. Thank you for sharing your experience between us. Thank you for your opinions about the buffet, WIFI and the band. We noted your recommendations about the rooms. We hope you follow thinking to visit us. The best to you. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    312
    311
    104
    78
See reviews for
130
384
84
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I arrived very late and stayed for only one night since my flight was the next day in the afternoon. The security and reception staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was average. But the worse thing was that you are not able to get normal water to drink unless you pay 2CUC for a little bottle which is crazy expensive for Cuba. In a four star hotel I expect to be able to get some water with my breakfast if I want it.

It's very positive that they have a pool since the days are warm. To be able to jump in the water and cool off is just great even though the pool is not in its best standard. The guy working in the pool is very keen on giving good service and keep everything clean and tidy though so a five star for him.

There was an intern that took me and my friend to a restaurant called Restaurante Porto Habana. Really service minded and nice guy. Really good restaurant but don't order Piña Coladas since they didn't meet the standard.

Overall most of the personal were service minded but not impressive breakfast, crazy that you can't get water and the pool could be better standard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanesa8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Vanessa 8405: Thank you for booking Roc Presidente for your stay in Havana. We are very satisface you have had a nice stay in our hotel also you have received good attention from our staff. We will give your opnion to the guy to the pool. Thanks again for sharing your reviews and we hope if you can come back to Havana you decide to book again in our hotel to receive you as pleasure. SIncerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel was way above my expectation. The Hotel is in vedado area close to malecon. Breakfast has lots of choices and the quality is decent. Don't change your money at the hotel, go outside of the hotel on left there is the bank that will give you much better rate than the hotel.

The hotel is around 5 KM away from Old havana. I was playing 5 CUC for the trip to havana. Personally I enjoyed this hotel and I will probably back in three months.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chotukata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Chotukata: Thank you for having selected the hotel to stay in the Havana. We are glad you have shared your opinion about the hotel and our services. Certainly this type of review gives more value to the hotel and forces his staff and management to be better every day. It will be a great pleasure to give the welcome again in our hotel. The best to you. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews we were a little worried about booking this hotel but in the end we were very relieved and happy with our choice to stay here. The hotel was clean, inviting, and comfortable. The room itself was well maintained and pleasant. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, with large cushy pillows. The bathroom was clean and we had no problems with water pressure. We also had no issues with the air conditioning.
Clara, the housekeeper on the 3rd floor truly went above and beyond expectations and helped to make our trip that much more enjoyable. She did an excellent job of making sure we were comfortable. She was very friendly and made an effort to get to know us personally. She even gave us a parting gift that her son made for us and wrote us a kind goodbye letter.
In fact, the staff is what sets this hotel apart from all other hotels at which I have ever stayed. They were consistently, genuinely friendly and made every effort to make one's stay enjoyable. They gave good helpful advice and helped to make arrangements for activities beyond what the official tourist desk offered. They were also extremely accommodating and offered us one extra night in the hotel room for free because our flight arrived in the wee hours of the morning.
The buffet breakfast, that was included in our package, was decent. The coffee at the bar was the best I have ever tasted! And the pool bar snacks were ok. For a cheap, delicious meal, walk down a block from the hotel and eat at Calzada y F.
The location of the hotel, although not within walkable distance to the old town, was a great location, It is a couple of blocks from the ocean wall, across the street from an elementary school , in a fairly quiet and safe neighborhood. Gas stations with convenience type stores are within walking distance. Go there to buy water, rather than at the hotel bar; it is much much cheaper! A hop on hop off bus stops right out front of the hotel as well, making it very much conveniently located. The bus is only 5 cuc for the whole day and takes you to all of the major tourist sites.
Other pros were that the pool area, though a bit run down, wasn't terribly busy and was kept quite clean, they had fantastic bands playing on the veranda every night, and had internet access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kamomma: Thanks for your beautiful review. We are glad you have had a wonderful time in our hotel. We will give to Clara your opinion about. The staff is very grateful for your review. This kind of opinion makes our work and effort is not in vain and that every day we do best. We hope that you can come back again to our hotel to have another beautiful experience. The best and sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here for 2 nights in March. Clean hotel and very nice staff. The rooms were a good size and the beds / furniture were comfortable. The air con failed in my room, but my brothers room was fine. The hotel restaurant was quite good - service was a little slow but the food very good, would recommend that guests try it for themselves.

The buffet breakfast was outstanding - great selection and good quality food.

The buffet dining room has some amazing Art Deco skylights - lots of Art Deco features elsewhere in hotel as well.

All things considered we had a very pleasant stay here and we got a very good bed & breakfast deal by booking through Cubanatur (about £31 per person per night)

This was our 2nd stay in Havana and we thought that the location is perfect - it was just £3-4 for a taxi (4 passengers) to just about anywhere across Old Havana.

Would recommend a carriage ride around the old town - it will show you the sites

Hope to go back again one day,.........

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentish_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Kentish_Bob: The hotel thank you for sharing your experiences and opinions. We are pleased to have achieved your customer satisfaction. This forces us to be better every day in our work. Thank you for your reviews of the rooms and the buffet. Was very nice to have valued the architecture. Hopefully you will return again and enjoy with us. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good location and great staff. Stayed here for a few days in February before heading to Piñar del Rio, then for another night before heading back to Miami.

The Good:
Staff was very nice and the hotel has a lot of charm. My girlfriend lost a bunch of money out of the 8th floor window (don't ask) and the security guard was nice enough to go out on to the roof of the dining room where it fell and retrieve her CUCs.

The Bad:
I was all excited to be able to use the wireless internet and planned accordingly before departing the US. Upon arrival, I was told "No hay" when I asked for the cards. Apparently, the only hotel in all of Cuba where they were available was the Melia Habana, way the hell in Miramar. Several days later when we got back from Piñar del Rio, the same answer, "No hay."

There's a lot of places to stay in Havana these days. The location in Vedado and its staff make this a hotel to consider.

Room Tip: As soon as you check in, make sure the AC works. If not, switch rooms. My parents had their own ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris12381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Chris 12381: We are very glad you have selected Roc Presidente hotel for your stay in Havana. Thank you for your opinions about the staff and our services. We will let the staff know about your reviews. We noted your recommendations and we are very sorry for the internet card, but unfortunately, the Internet is not part of the hotel, is a service provided by the Telephone company in Cuba and we do not regulate cards. We hope you can come back soon to the Havana and to our Hotel. It will be a pleasure. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Its a really good place specialy for the service !! I want to thanks one of the waitress (Susana Quesada), for being such a great professional. She really made a difference during my stay. I hardly recommend to visit the lobby bar and ask for this girl...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NIG7THMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear NIG7THMARE: We appreciate you have taken time to write your opinion about your stay in Roc Presidente. Thankyou for your opinion about the staff and principaly Susana, we will say her the things here related. We hope you decide to come back again and visit us. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
3.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Property: Hotel Roc Presidente
Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Roc Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing