We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Another great stay at the Atlantico"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“" Another great stay at the Atlantico"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came to the Atlantico last year for the first time to celebrate my birthday and wished to return at the same time this year. In my last review I mentioned how much we enjoyed our stay and the excellent service by all the staff.

Last year we stayed on the third floor in the building above the store. Odd number rooms have the ocean view and quiet street. We had sent an email to Dayme Rodrigues requesting if possible the same room. He replied immediately welcoming us back and would try to acomodate us per our request. Upon arrival the front desk receptionist had received our request but unfortunately the room was occupied but would be available in a few days if we wished. She gave us a room a couple doors down with exactly the same decor and view which we were quite happy with and did not move. We appreciated it very much that Dayme was so helpful in trying to acomodate our request. We were very impressed with this service.

We were happy to see all the staff in the dining room and bartenders that we became aquainted with on our last visit. Graciela, Jose and Submey greeted us warmly. Miguel our favorite bartender was always happy to make us a cuppocino. Liuba, our energetic and lively social organizer was always trying to get everyone to join a salsa class and bingo. She was also busy every evening letting all the guest know about the nightly entertainment which we always enjoyed.

On my birthday, Jose presented me with a Birthday cake and a bottle of our favorite red wine. There was often a music band playing in the dining room at Lunch and Dinner and at times we would dance with Graciela which was a lot of fun and everyone joined in.

Once again we took the Shuttle almost every day on our two week stay, except on Thursdays when the shuttle only goes to Havana in the afternoon. On that day we would walk the amazingly beautiful Playa Del Este to the town of Guanabo where one can spend
a lazy afternoon of sightseeing with good restaurants and outdoor bars for a cold beer.

Our beach in front of the Hotel was kept clean, with lots of security. There was always a staff member ready with a wisk broom to clean off a chair or move it where ever we wanted it. A safe place to swim in the ocean and the water a nice temperature.

Last year I had a massage by Fidel which was very good. I was happy to see that he was still at the Hotel and booked a massage each afternoon for our entire stay except Sunday his day off. I booked a 20 minute partial therapeudic massage for 5cuc's and a great bargain for the massage he gives. I hope that I will see him when we return next year.

Last year we enjoyed the fish dinners very much but not so much this year. The small little tuna they had often were not to our taste and were disappointed that it was not the same. I have never had an allergy in my life but after eating fish for a few days I developed a severe reaction with rash all over my body. A nurse at the hotel was very helpful with an injection of antihistamine and tablets along with cortisone cream which improved it after a week. She would check with me every day to see how I am coming along. The entire staff in Hotel is very helpful.

Last year on the third floor we had a lovely chambermaid named Marta but she was working the other side of the floor. She was very happy to see us and when I had some chewing gum stuck to my black capris that some kid attached to a chair in the dining room, she took care of it for me, and was just like new. Our chambermaid this year was Naiby also very helpful and always willing to please. The room was kept clean and always ready for us when we arrived from our Havana trip at 1:30pm.

The Hotel was fully occupied which indicates that this is a very good place to stay and will certainly be back in the future. Except I might mention that we won't be flying with Sunwing any time soon.

Room Tip: A room in the building above the store on the higher floors in odd number rooms which gives you an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear customer:

We appreciate that you send us your opinion and experience in the period in which they stay at our facility. Indeed as you we mentioned we are a country that carefully takes care of hygiene, maintaining strict control over the washing and sanitizing of all meat, fish and vegetables, making by our doctors daily sampling of food a day to maintain good health of our customers and our reputation. The management is proud that her trip to Spain and the Atlantic Hotel has been great and we've entered your preference list their views on the professionalism of our staff to all workers in the Hotel I communicate.

Work looking for the satisfaction of our customers so we serve and prioritize feedback we receive on TRIPADVISOR . Thanks for your time sending us your so positive about our services valuation.

Regards

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    148
    148
    76
    71
See reviews for
88
184
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Will never fly on Sunwing again as they have rearranged the seats so that they can seat more passengers; sardine can style. That is my only complaint. My knees were in contact with the seat ahead. Cannot help being in close touch contact with the persons beside you. I strongly suggest an aisle seat. I want to return to this hotel but will find a flight to Havana instead of Varadero via another airline. This is also a much shorter ride to the hotel, approx. 40 minutes instead of 1.5 hours.. The Cuban food at the Tropicoco Hotel is better.. Never got sick until I ate what they said was "Smoked Meat" sandwich on the return flight to Ottawa; spent a couple of days not venturing too far from my home.. They do charge 2 CUC per day for the safe in the room; so what? No bugs or mosquitos around. The hotel sits on the most beautiful beach. Site was chosen by Batista in 1954 and used by him as part of the Bank of Cuba where he and his cronies enjoyed the best beach in Havana. The addition to the original was built in 1974. Very high Security around the whole area as the Cuban Govt. made a clean sweep lately due to some Tourist's complaints about too many "Chicas" They even have National Police patrolling the beaches. Best part is the daily bus transportation to Havana/return, twice a day - free.
Great Havana Night shows at the hotel, twice a week. Excellent singers and dancers, however, only recorded and not live music. Local musicians moving around the area. All staff at the hotel were great. As in Canada, a little tip is encouraging for them as their wages are not to our standards. The two women at the poolside bar were great also; one CUC creates a smile.
Music is the history of Cuba. Cuban music makes you want to live. Helps them with the USA Blockade problems.

Room Tip: No elevators!! Three floors. Great exercise going up and down. No need to use exercise room. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank judoxca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Customer :

We welcome your feedback and have been pleased with the services offered by the facility. We have passed your comment about the Cuba trip Sunwing in, they accept and value each criterion which airs on the service, and we know what will be considered.
We appreciate your stay has been a good opinion about the staff and look forward to being your preference.

Greetings and see you soon
Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for a year. We really enjoyed our stay at the Atlantico. The beach was fantastic and the rooms and food were fine. It's actually a lovely resort but like many places in Cuba - it could just use a little tlc. I stayed at a 4 star in Varadero and the food was only slightly better. Obviously it is not the Hilton but we found it to be clean and comfortable. The staff were all pleasant.

The best thing though is the bus to Havana they run. If you love art and culture - the city is incredible. It really makes for a well balanced vacation!

If you like to party - the hotel is pretty quiet after 10pm. We went to Havana once at night and it was great - but when we went to a club later in the evening - we were pretty shocked by the sex trade goings on. Despite this - I'm sure there is a ton of great spots we didn't have a chance to hit.

All in all, much more fun than the isolated mega resort complexes and more economical.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Customer

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and thank on behalf of the direction it has taken some time to convey his personal opinion about the services provided by the facility, experience and assessment is vital to improve our services and achieve customer satisfaction.
All opinions are taken into account and are transmitted to the agencies and companies that assist them.

We are available

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Sunwing flights were on-time both ways and Sunwing reps were always there at the airport.

But to the hotel - we went 1 year ago and again last week. There has been significant improvement in the upkeep, gardening and painting of buidlings and rooms. Ours was freshly painted, clean and comfortable. It clearly is a 3 Star.

Food is plentiful and lots of fish, chicken,vegtables and fruit - plus always a 2nd choice. Our only complaint (as last year) was that they keep running out of Red Wine. They have now entertainment in the main dining room for lunch and supper.We always tried to get Graceiela as our server as she is accomodating and pleasant. Our table was waiting and drinks were there. The much maligned pool ladies were great - not mean or grouchy. The pool was used by many and was always clean.

In the evening many of the servers dance to the music and it is delightful.Tipping is respectful (given the average wage) but many don't as Europeans assume that it is included as it is in the EU.

The Internet access is often down and needs to be upgraded to high-speed but 6 CVs/hour is not too bad. 2 CV for the safety deposit box is a tad high.

Regardless, we will go back again next year for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor = easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohannOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Customer
We appreciate your stay in our installation has been satisfactory and that the jobs that have been made at the hotel to be recognized by our customers. Since late 2013 we are focused on improving our products and services and we are currently engaged in repair of our rooms, modification of all our cuisine and many other things with which we hope to improve our product and services to our customers.

Thanks for your time sending us your about price / quality rating.

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel (don't get this confused with the Aparthotel with same name...) from 18 Feb 2014 until 25 Feb 2014.
I'll go step by step of experience...

Check in/and reception- no problems there, lady was good there, but there's a surprise that Sunwing or travel agent doesn't tell you: if you want to use the in-room safe, you have to pay 2 peso's per day to use it, cash up front! No real problems if you go to the reception for a question or money exchange. It's in the typical Cuban fashion... when they're done with their conversation, they'll ask what you need...

Rooms: regular standard room, nothing fancy. For those who haven't travelled to Cuba before 99% of stuff is dated, but everything worked, and we always had hot water. One can't be too picky down there. I was concerned about 2 things: bugs and hot water. No bed bugs, and always hot water. Maids were great, very friendly and accommodating.

Food: smaller dining area, but never had to wait for a seat. No real complaints about food. Ok selection, never got sick. The service in the a la Carte was good, and the food was good too, BUT the service in the main buffet had something to be desired. Almost every meal I was left to try and find cutlery because the waiters would clear the tables, but not replacing cutlery etc. They'll grab you a coffee, but if you don't tip, good luck getting another one from them....
The only real complaint I have instead of the pissy stuff is the table cloths...most often had dirty food all over them from previous meals...often from days ago.

Bars: Lobby bar - 'tenders always great, very friendly!!!

Piano bar - saw it open only once in a week, but never went, so can't comment.

.BUT the Pool Bar...well, that's another story! Saw 2 ladies there working (opposite of each other), each with the personality of a bag of hammers. You tip, or don't tip, you get the same service....a scowl and sloooooow. Ask for something other than a beer or a Cuba Libre and it's a chore. I witnessed the tender say there was no Mojito's to a guy, but 2 minutes later a lady came up (who was a tipper) and she got one!
They'll move at the same pace....slow....it was very busy, lady just had her back to everybody, and the poor animation / entertainment guy stepped in to serve people while she was staring at some hamburgers on the grill for a while!

Pool: not used too much by people, mainly used by kids. Looked clean, except sand, but guess what, that stuff is everywhere!

Beach: beautiful....duh! would be nice to see extra grounds people once a day picking up garbage......it is a PUBLIC beach, so it is NOT the fault of the hotel. BUT it would look nicer for the hotel if it was done. Beach attendants / lifeguards were fantastic, always there to help, and get you chairs and an umbrella anywhere you want it.

Entertainment: Daytime staff fantastic! Always have stuff on the go, and if it gets slow, they go talk to the guests and make them feel welcome. Great people!
Evening entertainment - good, normal Cuban fashion dancing etc etc. good hang out in evening

General: there's a little shop for trinkets, smokes, booze, etc etc, people there great. Grounds are in good order, maintenance and security friendly. There's a hallway lounge area between lobby and rooms, nice spot for a cigar/cigarette and relax with a drink, BUT it would be nice if the cushions were replaced or doubled...hard as rock! Only comfortable if you're drunk, LOL.

All in all, it wasn't a waste of money, but I just don't understand why it was so expensive. I paid the same money for a semi-modern resort in Varadero and got way more. You'll get better value if you were to go up the street to the Tropicoco. I'll go back to Atlantico only if the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest:

I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations and appreciate your comments on the negatives he found, they alert us to pay more attention.
The menu offered in the buffet restaurant is governed by the standards of HOLA CLUB 3 star Hotel. Has choice of chicken, pork, fish and beef all week being cooked in various ways. However we have made ​​a number of modifications including 2 themed nights (Dinner Italian Dinner and International) hope that will please customers who visit us.
We are focused to improve our products, we are currently engaged in repair of our rooms, changing room furniture and curtains and decorate tables with which we hope to improve gaining comfort and satisfaction for our guests.

We deeply regret that your stay was not completely satisfying.

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

There is a limitation of where to eat. Food is okay. Front desk is unaccommodating. Bar/food service and house staff, make an effort. Many suite doors have to be slammed to close and are not well kept.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear customer:

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback about the period when we visited. Welcome to make known to the community satisfaction rating of TRIPADVISOR. All feedback we receive help us to work on improving our services.

Greetings;

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Jan. 2-4 2014 We spent 3 nights at this establishment and were very glad it was only 3 nights!! At first glance it looked clean enough when we arrived but when we finally got into our rooms (after sorting out which keys actually unlocked our doors!) we could see how dirty the place was. You didn't want to take off your shoes in the rooms, the bedding was very old, and the whole feel of the place was very outdated and broken down. I don't know what they put inside the pillow cases but they were the lumpiest things I have ever slept on in my life. This was a family-run business, not very professional at all. When the maids were working on the rooms, there were old men lounging around in the hallways. We felt nervous that they could enter our rooms at any time while the maids were working. If you have expensive camera equipment or anything of value, I don't suggest you leave it in your rooms. The buffet food looked ok until you noticed that the cold food wasn't being kept cold, and the windows were left open so birds could fly in. There were white smears on all the table cloths that we later realized it was from bird crap! The birds were also eating out of the buffet dishes when none was near them! We were a group of 7 and we all got stomach upset while we were there.
The good thing about this place was the free shuttle into Havanna so you could do some sightseeing. It took about 20 minutes. If you don't book a tour from the concierge, find an english-speaking taxi driver and do your own tour. We hired two 50's cars and went all over the city for $40/ each car. Very worth it! Havanna was awesome, you have to be aware of the locals trying to sell you things or begging for things while you walk the streets.
The waiters were great and the bar staff were great too. Miguel was the best bartender.
The beach out front of the resort was beautiful, further toward the other resort, the beach tended to have a lot of garbage…
All in all I would suggest spending more on accommodations, it makes your trip… Their star rating is a lot lower than here in Canada or the US.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMCLc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear customer :

We regret that your stay in our facility has not met your expectations during your stay and you have not informed us these cleaning problems as there are steps that are not in our hands the solution though CLEANING is an objective problem is solved in time to meet the complaint. However all our rooms have safety means to provide the guests safety from safe deposit box for valuables and even magnetic lock that takes daily readings of the door who drunk or not.
The buffet restaurant has tables to display hot and cold foods in optimal working conditions , sometimes the products on display dishes so the temperature is regulated freeze . A. It has Conditioner going on during service , fading to their request guests resent this air is not natural and as read with open windows is impossible to keep the heated room . When service is provided daily to over 100 people is impossible that tastes are the same, we got in some seasons elderly tourism to which disturbed the A. Conditioning .
We regret receiving this negative review as we work for the sake of customer satisfaction. When installing any dissatisfaction with services is transmitted to our technical quality or CEO together with the representatives of the agencies draw on the opinions of customers giving priority to achieve improvement reviews, critical personal views or other .

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
17.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
17.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
17.0 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
13.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Club Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Property: Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Address: Ave de las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar. Habana del este, Havana 10900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Caribe Club Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico Hotel Havana
Gran Caribe Hotel Atlantico
Gran Caribe Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing