We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My friends and I stayed at this hotel Sept 4 to 11th. We took a night flight out of Montreal with Sunwing. I like sunwing but I don't recommend this flight even though you get a little extra time in Cuba. We were scheduled to leave Montreal at 9:30 but a flight delay ( Why???) caused us to leave at 11:00. Needless to say, checking through Varadero Airport and then the bus ride to Havana, we arrived at 7 a.m. Friday morning. No sleep at all. No problem though, I was at the BEACH and relaxed there all day. The beach is beautiful and the music and sound system were fantastic! They played relaxing ambient music in the morning and salsa and reggaeton during the day. Very nice. Some hotels try to cater to what the tourists say they want (North American music), but I love to hear Cuban music. Thank you Club Atlantico! I have been to Cuba many times..this is a typical 2.5 Cuban hotel. Not great but not terrible. We all had our own rooms which were large enough even for two. No it wasn't perfect... it's Cuba. I heard someone complain that the staff didn't speak English. Everyone I spoke with at the front desk spoke Engish. There were indeed a few rude staff members...the ladies serving at the pool bar but otherwise fine. The flights of stairs were a little much...I didn't mind but if you have any problems or are not in good shape you should request lower level rooms.
Food...hmmm...not great, lots of chicken and cucumbers.... but really ok. One night fresh yucca an pork... it was soooo good! Ice cream is great!
I picked this hotel because it is 20/25 minutes outside of Havana. If you walk to the street you can get a taxi for $15 to get you into Havana which we did every night for dancing. We had a beautiful beach and an amazing city. The best of both. There were some tourists, both men and women with "Cuban friends" and this is allowed in this hotel so be forewarned.
Bugs.. a little colony of tiny tiny ants in my bathroom... harmless.

My only complaint was check out day. We were not leaving the hotel until 11:30 p.m. but had to check out of our rooms by noon. It was really difficult to shower and change later on even though a comunal room was provided for this purpose.

We went snorkling with the person who runs the catamaran and this was amazing. $30 each and some gifts for his girlfriend who also came along to help out. Well worth it. In Cayo Coco you would pay double that or more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adorocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    144
    148
    75
    70
See reviews for
86
181
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We enter to the hotel and are shocked because it looks like a hostel and is totally different from the pictures we viewed on the internet at the time of booking. We asked for a king sized bed and were told these rooms were only given to Italian visitors. We are taken to our room and are once again shocked by its appearance. The bedroom was so tiny that the bathroom door was touching the right side of the bed. The room consisted of two singled beds which was not what was booked.
We requested clean sheets at reception because they were dirty. It took 3 hours to bring sheets that were not clean and we ended up making the bed at 3 am.
Upon relaying our experience to the sun wing representative she went to the front desk and they accused her of lying and said they never have any complaints. We were advised by the sun wing representative not to change hotels as there were no hotels that were better in the area.
Upon going to sleep in the evening and every subsequent evening there was noise outside our room until 3 am which prevented us from sleeping.
It was advertised on the internet that each room had an alarm clock but this was not the case and we had to arrange for a wake up phone call from reception each morning.

It was also advertised that there was a full kitchen in each room and there was no kitchen, and each room had a balcony with an ocean view but we were told from reception that none of the rooms had an ocean view and we had no view. It was also advertised that there were elevators which would have been helpful as I suffer from a knee injury and my girlfriend suffers from back pain and it is difficult to walk and painful to climb stairs but there was no elevator. It states there was international cuisine but it was mainly Italian cuisine consisting of pasta and pizza. It was advertised that reception speaks Spanish, English, French, German and Italian but in reality staff only spoke Italian and Spanish.
We went to the a la carte restaurant that evening and sat down to a table of greasy, dirty, dishes and cutlery. When we informed our waiter of the dirty dishes and cutlery he laughed and said they were just for display.
The chefs recommend a place to go for music in Havana and then they ask me to take them with me and pay for their drinks.
Later that evening we ran out of toilet paper and had to wait 7 hours for the staff to bring one roll of toilet paper. We asked at reception and called reception and toilet paper finally arrived at 3 am in the morning!
We went to the poolside bar and wanted to order breakfast but the woman behind the bar starts accusing us of not being from the hotel and says she has no food for us and waves us away with her hand even though we displayed the appropriate proof that we were staying at the hotel....never given breakfast.
Having missed breakfast we then have lunch in the restaurant until 2pm and then wait for Barbarita, the sun wing rep while she deals with another sun wing client. After Barbarita is finished we explain the problems that we had today and we ask to leave hotel atlantico. She then speaks with the customer service manager and he tells her that we are mistreating the staff! And he says that the staff says we are demanding and we want clean sheets and toilet paper. We then start speaking to Barbarita about numerous incidents that occurred during our stay. Other hotel guests come forward at this point with complaints consisting of lack of service, inappropriate staff behavior, lack of toilet paper in the rooms, aggressive, rude behavior of the restaurant servers ,uncooked food, staff unable to communicate in English, events and activities are only in Italian, . These complaints came from hotel guests who had stayed for as little as two days. The customer service manager’s response was not to solve the problems but instead asked us to leave the hotel and said we were the only ones that were complaining! Then the customer service manager and staff said they were calling the Immigration. The staff later said that the manager would be arriving with immigration. We had already stated that we were leaving and we would prefer to stay at the airport rather than stay at club atlantico. We then went back to our room and started packing.
We stayed at another hotel for the night and when we requested to be reimbursed from sunwing they tried to offer us a miniscule discount off our next travel with Sunwing.....you've gotta be kidding me....like I would ever travel with sunwing ever again.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunnnnnnnnnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

The atlantico hotel is a little gem with a great staff always willing to help. The hotel is just few meters from the sea, there's also a swimming pool with children's area. I took the all inclusive offer and it was amazing just for £18 per person per night. The food was excellent (Cuban food) and the sea was ... just incredible.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CubaDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

been to Cuba 5 times now, I can guarantee to anyone that this is the bet value for money hotel that I have encountered! For what u pay, you cannot possibly go wrong: you have 3 free shuttles a day to Havana old town, nice pool, excellent beach dotted with coconut trees, you have a lovely, small a la carte restaurants for a really romantic dinner (literally 10 meters from the beach - I dont know any hotel 4 or 5 that you can dine so close to the beach, inhaling the breeze and really living a romantic experience!) I must add that I have stayed in 4 and 5* star and the drinks/food have been about the same or worse quality. I am not saying that this hotel is as good as a 5* but for what you pay, I would definitely suggest you consider this. I had a seaview luch at the buffet (just 20 meters away) with even Spanish red wine! All rooms have partial seaview. Questions welcome ....
p.s. - Not many operators in the UK sell this - I bought this from CubaDirect.co.uk and pay just £25 per night! ... All Inclusive!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovecuba2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

This hotel has a perfect location for those who want to combine beach with history. It's only 25 minutes away from old Havana and there are free shuttle buses 3 times a day. Hotel employees are friendly and smiling except the first receptionist I saw. Their service does not depend on tips. Even if you pay don't give tips, they still serve well. Better to give tips for your heart as they are very low paid.
Rooms are clean and big enough for a comfortable stay. Rooms are also pretty quite, we had no complaint noise. Our rooms a/c was working well, however I heard in some rooms a/c broke down. It's impossible to sleep without it, if you go there in June.
Food is served in a buffet-type restaurant and 2 a-la cart restaurants. Food at the buffet-type restaurant is not the best, but ok. There are plenty of choices but few of them are vegetarian. We tried one of the a-la carte restaurants and the food was better than buffet restaurant. Service was perfect, and dinner environment was very pleasant.
Bar services are also great. There is a least one bar open at all times within the hotel.
There are plenty of activities at the hotel, best of it is the beach. Private beach is very comfortable except weekends where it gets very crowded with the local people.
This hotel is of course not the best hotel, but for the amount you pay, you get a lot more as service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

WELL i just love it u can't go wrong with the staff supper friendly the location great just 25min by bus to HAVANA and they shutll bus 3times a day well the food just ok the basic food well i travel for people see havana i just love it i will go again and again thank u for all stafff

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theiraqixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINDSOR UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We were a group of ten work colleagues and have to admit arriving in the pouring rain and at night did not put the best light on The Atlantico.......but dismiss all the negatives that people have written about the Hotel.........if you have booked to travel to Cuba ,hopefully you will have done some research and realise that this is a poor country and the Cubans are still very much under the Castro thumb!!!!........but this Hotel was the best,yes the rooms are a bit tired but spotlessly cleaned by the maids each day,with lovely towels put on the bed made into flower and swan shapes......yes perhaps the food was much the same on many nights,but you have to remember that the choice us tourists get is miles better than the Cubans get.
The barbecue at lunch time is well worth booking and book you must.Also one lunch time the chef did a PAELLA on the beach with SANGRIA if a bit sweet,it was great.
We did not try the Restaurant that you have to book,so cannot comment on the food from there.
It was one of our groups 40th Birthday whilst we were there and the chefs made a gorgeous cake for the celebration.The management also sent up a bottle of,what would be their Champagne,which was rather like cider,with some chocolates.What a lovely gesture and we appreciated how,for a Cuban Hotel this was very special.
The staff at the Hotel were in most cases fantastic.They were friendly,always with a smile and loved it if you tried a bit of Spanish.
A special mention has to go to the Recreation team.....thanks for all your time David,and input into the Cuban way of life. It would not be right if I did not mention our little AQUA GYM lady,so enthusiastic.....you could hear her dulcit tones calling you to the water!!!!!......those who read this and who have been to this Hotel will know exactly who I mean.Well done team ,we had a blast.
So do yourselves a favour,its a great place,but it is Cuba,so if you want a good holiday on a good budget come here!!!!........if you want Luxury,may I suggest Cuba is not for you.
I shall definitely be back,to see more of Cuba

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RECYCLEONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1290.3 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
59.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Club Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Property: Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Address: Ave de las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Caribe Club Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico Hotel Havana
Gran Caribe Hotel Atlantico
Gran Caribe Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing