We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Havana has to offer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sercotel Caribbean
Ranked #621 of 711 Havana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Can't deny the convenient location but the Prado is seriously noisy. First three nights we were confined to a room so small that we had to climb over the bed to get into the bathroom. No windows and the room smelled strongly of mold. I could not get my suitcase into the room! Front desk staff completely indifferent. Then we were able to move to the room across the hall that at least had a window, but not much cleaner. Really hit and miss at this place. The lady at the lobby bar, the housekeeping staff and (most of the) restaurant staff very friendly. The women at the front desk are rude and dismissive. Definitely NOT the best Havana has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01 & 02 have windows onto the Prado - a VERY busy street - bring earplugs! DO N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

How this got two stars is beyond me. Two rooms had bed bugs. Unlike other hotels the shower had hot water and no cold. Breakfast is an "omelette" or a ham and cheese sandwich. No ham or cheese in the omelette. Beds are OK. Rooms are OK as far as cleanliness. TV's in all the rooms. Staff not that friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Well located on the Prado ,half way between Malecon avenue by the sea and the Capitol, this unsophisticated budget hotel is a bargain on the local market .Service is helpful , bedrooms are good sleeping places. As for the breafast served ithe attached cafeteria, it is rather 'light" by cuban standards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you want a room thats luxurious, and feel like a king/queen - scratch off this one!
If your visiting Havana, need a room to sleep, shower, this is for you!

Booked via a package offered by Sunwing travel, stayed for 7days, front desk staff was pretty nice. Anyone meeting you whether friend, family, etc that is not listed on the invoice must pay $25 per day (regardless if they sleep in your room or not).

Breakfast - Not Advised skip and eat somewhere else - bread isn't very good and choices are not the best, however the coffee is really good here- (Splenda users - bring your own splenda as it's not offered anywhere in Cuba)

Room is ok, had decent beds, comfortable enough to sleep in - the AC is powerful by 6AM I was freezing, TV had Satellite (CNN, Discovery, Children's Channel, Music, BBC, Ecuador and Venezuela, Spain Channels and more a total of 20 channels were offered)

Bathroom was fine - toilet had poor pressure, ask for a bucket or buy one in a corner store fill it up with water and dump in toilet (I am a neat freak with bathroom lol) Shower was good only complaint the hot water was burning hot and not enough pressure for cold water.

In a very centric location Paseo del Prado (on weekends artists sell work) - the very famous obispio is 3 blocks away, el capitolio is close by. The Hotel Parque Central is close (great for WIFI/Computer use)

Housekeeper was extremely kind - Barbara - if you take care of your housekeeper they'll take care of you! $1cuc daily ensured my sheets were changed, towels were changed, toilet paper updated, room smelled fresh when I came back.

The safe was billed at around $2cuc per night,this is worth it, keep your money, passport, travel items, and expensive items , $200+. Nothing was lost/stolen.

I slipped and dislocated my knee outside the hotel, mainly my fault for wearing bad sandals - the staff was caring, they called my room to see how I was - delivered food and water to my room that I ordered.

There is a bar, that sells water $1 , coffee and juice -however I recommend buying the 5L water by the store next to the Parque central for $1.5 and keep in your room (Do Not Drink Tap Water!!!!)

Superb Location and Extremely budget friendly - kind staff - really clean.

There is a Payphone on the second floor, visit an ETECSA office to purchase the calling cards - really cheap for local and international!

Recorded a video of the room:
http://youtu.be/3bxtR7T9Iik

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had the 3 first night in Cuba - La Habana at this hotel, and this is one of my worst hotel experiences ever. At least if you take the price of the room in to consideration.

The hotel looks ok from the outside, and it is fairly close to everything, so I can´t complain about the location, but except from that, it is extremely overprices. The room is a small old thing with a noisy AC. There is a place for you to hang your clothing, and a few laps. It comes with a small safe, but that one comes with a extra fee (2.5 CUC a day).

Bathroom was horrible. If you want a shower you will have to wait for around 5 - 6 min before the water is of a decent temperature.
The toilet was the worst. There is not much water pressure, so you have major problems flushing down after you have been using it.

At the second floor there is a telephone you can use for a charge. We lived at the third floor, and we could hear everything being said when people was calling. There is absolutely no form of sound isolation in the room.

If I can recall correctly we paid 132 € for 3 nights, and it was just a waste.

Room Tip: Simply just avoid this place and choose a private Casa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It is a good starting point in Havana, the rate is cheap and you get what you pay for. Rooms with patio windows, not too much light, small, basic, but the linens were clean. Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast - not too much to choose from, but fulfilling. Hot water all the time, but no light in our bathroom. Safe in room. You want it for its location as it's right on Prado (Paseo de Martí) and it's a good base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel Caribbean is in a really great location, really easy to get the main sites in Havana. The breakfast is good and the coffee is even better - this was the first of many places that I tasted the great Cuban coffee!

Rooms are basic, feel a bit run-down, but do the job and they are clean, a little dark inside. Love the different coloured walls on each level, very tropical!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Paseo Habana
0.8 mi away
Casa Habana - Frankfurt
Casa Habana - Frankfurt
#233 of 711 in Havana
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Natacha
Casa Natacha
#161 of 711 in Havana
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Estancia de Neptuno
La Estancia de Neptuno
#540 of 711 in Havana
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Katy y Humberto
Casa Katy y Humberto
#130 of 711 in Havana
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Colonial 1861
La Colonial 1861
#16 of 711 in Havana
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sercotel Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sercotel Caribbean

Address: Paseo del Prado No 164 | entre Colon y Refugio, Havana, Cuba (Formerly Islazul Hotel Caribbean)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: £49 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sercotel Caribbean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sercotel Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing