We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, character and charm....good staff too!”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great position, character and charm....good staff too!”
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Choosing an Old Havana hotel seemed a lottery....but this IS A GOOD PLACE TO STAY. I've read other reports about staying in the room over the nightclub...and that is exactly the room we had! You are lulled to sleep with the Salsa rhythm...or you were in the nightclub anyway !
Staff here were generally much better than (the more expensive) Hotel Raphael, which we stayed in later in our travels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    256
    209
    75
    75
See reviews for
101
396
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Architecturally, this hotel is beautiful representation of Havana's glorious past. It's located a short distance from Parque Central and is in the World Heritage-listed Old City.

The hotel represented average value, with the positives and negatives as follows:

Positives
Large, attractive room and bathroom.
Attractive, plant-dominated atrium.

Negatives
Front desk staff were inconsistent at best: occasionally not knowing their job (I do speak Spanish, so language was not an issue.) and presenting as disinterested at times.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

This was our first hotel in Havana, and it was one of the best we stayed in - but remember good for Cuba is decidedly average by world standards. The room was a decent size with a lovely colonial feel, a comfortable double bed and a massive bathroom. Staff were friendly, but the food was shocking

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We were booked into this hotel by an independant travel firm specialising in Cuban holidays. It wasn't our first choice but we were assured by the agent that we would not be disappointed and indeed we weren't. The hotel is in 2 parts - the original bit at the front and a newer part at the rear. Our room was in the new part at the rear on the top floor. The room opened out on to the roof garden which proved to be an excellent venue for sitting out and eading our books in the sunshime away from the bustle of the streets below. Previous reviews have noted the noise from the Salsa Bar in the old part of the hotel. Nothing was audible from our room in fact quite the opposite. The location is ideal for exploring old Havana and both restaurants provided decent if not excellent food.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Florida and having called into a few of the bars in the other hotels we were really pleased that we had stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poshbird120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scot in cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way to another resort. We were very tired so did not notice much. However, we returned on our way home and unfortunately were then able to see how this hotel needed a good clean!

If you want to sleep we would not recommend as the noise from a) the bar until 3 a.m. and then outside from 6.00 a.m. was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

As expected in Havana, service is not a great priority for the employees who have a secure job. Complains go into one ear and out the other. First night we had to move hotels, the next they gave us a room with single beds, when we finally got what we wante, it was th night before we had to leave Havana, but that is the sprit.

Otherwise, a charming hotel, great room and an unbeatable location, though a bit noisy.

For th latter part of our trip, we gladly movedto a family house and that was much better!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Brazuca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Florida for 4 nights in Mid November through Voyager Cuba. We were with a couple of friends and on arrival they were given a room with a balcony overlooking Calle Obsibo whereas we were given a nearby room (Could have been room 1 - not sure) also on first floor. It was a large room but looked out over a central area with walls on all sides and the bottom of which was the roof of the salsa bar. We asked if anything else was available but the hotel was full, but we were told that we could change rooms the next day. The room was very noisy that night so we changed the next morning to a lovely room on the second floor with a balcony onto the side street. The staff were very helpful and moved all our luggage for us.

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. We used the hotel bar several times whilst waiting for our friends and although a bit more expensive than the bars outside, it wasn't too bad and the staff were good. Breakfast was good although sometimes the hot selection was a bit dried up. Generally food in Cuba was a bit hit and miss. I think the hurricanes last summer made supplies of fresh fruit and veg hard to come by and we didn't get much of this anywhere.

On our last night in Havana, which was a Saturday, we went into the hotel salsa bar which was great. Although there was a long queue for it outside the hotel, as residents we were allowed in and it was lovely to see locals and tourists dancing together.

All in all I would recommend the hotel if you want to stay somewhere with a bit of character in a great location

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#17 of 79 in Havana
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#16 of 79 in Havana
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#15 of 79 in Havana
1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Gaviota Hotels, Holiday Gems and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Havana
Hotel Florida Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing