We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful, good stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2
Ranked #285 of 696 Havana B&B and Inns
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very helpful, good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Alexis and Mary run a nice Casa Particular in which service is well understood. You are welcomed in the family and may concern the house as yours. Room we had was spacious, clean and did have a comfortable matras, something that is not common in Cuba and you appreciate when crossing the country using casas particulares. Breakfast keeps you fit for the rest of the day, although litte variation. As it is in the middle of old Havana it well situated to visit that part of town. Mary has lots of useful contacts in the country and and is able to organize lots of things. She even traced our left behind toilet bag and had it sent to Havana so we could pick it up on the way back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Dww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexis joidy c, Propietario at Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Google Translation
Hola
Muchas gracias por elegir nuestra casa para su estancia en la Habana, y por dedicarnos un tiempito haciendo su comentario aquí, fue un placer compartir con ustedes algunos momentos y darle algunas informaciones que con mucho gusto lo hacemos, esperamos vuelvan pronto y seguir compartiendo en familia, gracias, Alexis y Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    39
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
62
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were actually transplanted here from Hostal Leonel. As we were the other half of a big group, half of us stayed here for the night and mainly to sleep. We requested to eat breakfast at the other Hostal to rejoin our group. The room my husband and I stayed in was an airconditioned room for two-- spacious, with a nice, clean bathroom. Small drawback was the aircondition was placed low and blows directly on the bed. There was hot water but "okay" water pressure. My daughter went out late with her cousins, so she was given the key to come back and let herself in. They have a common living room with a balcony. The other room, our group occupied was for 3 people, again with a private bathroom, and airconditioned as well. The cost was $30 per person.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexis joidy c, Propietario at Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
hello

thank you very much for your comment, although only our acsa Club went one night is very nice to receive into our acsa, Cuba hope to come back soon and visit us, thanks, alexis and mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We can't judge the house because, despite having booked really months in advance, we could not sleep there. As soon as we arrived from the airport, a man (Alexis?) brought us to a neighboor without giving further explanations. The room we got was really not nice and also a bit smelly. It was really disappointing and we found it unfair since we even wrote the day before leaving to confirm the reservation. Maybe one night is too few for them. We thought Mary was very kind and helpful by e-mail (she even booked a taxi to pick us up from the airport) but unfortunately we had not the pleasure to meet her neither to justify why we got this second class accomodation (for the same price!!).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fughir84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had pre-booked all 4 rooms in the casa but unfortunately, part of our group was delayed for 2 days. I had told Mary that we would make good so she wouldn't lose money. Well, she certainly didn't lose, she gained. First off, when we arrived there were only 3 rooms-the fourth was being renovated. Of those 3 rooms, we took one (the smallest) as the the other 2 were already rented out for the 2 nights our friends were delayed. When the rest of our group arrived 2 days later, all 4 rooms were finally complete and available. That part worked out. However, when we got the final bill, we were charged for 4 rooms and 4 nights. I didn't want her to lose money but I was completely surprised when she charged us for 2 nights for rooms that were already booked plus 2 nights for a room that didn't exist. No problem. In the big picture we were finally all together. We were then reassured that we could stay there one night on our way back from Varadero. Surprise. We showed up and the rooms were all booked. Mary took us around the corner where 2 of us found a nice room but unfortunately our friends were sent to another casa which was further out of the way and not-so-nice. I had read online that this thing happened often so I wasn't too surprised- disappointed yes. On the bright side, the location is great, the rooms are clean and the breakfast was good plus Mary did arrange for a van to get us on our way to Trinidad. On the negative, besides the above, if you're a non-smoker be aware that almost everyone in the family smokes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Ik ben twee weken bij Mary en haar gezin geweest. Ik was op vakantie in Habana. Het was een geweldige tijd, met superlieve mensen. Ik heb mij heel erg thuis gevoelt! Daarnaast is het erg goed gelegen, het eten is lekker en het is er schoon! Ik mis iedereen nu al!

Estoy dos semanas con María y su familia tuvieron. Yo estaba de vacaciones en La Habana. Fue un buen rato con gente fantástica. Me he sentido muy a gusto! También está muy bien ubicado, la comida es deliciosa y está limpio! Echo de menos todo el mundo ya!

I was two weeks with Mary and her family. I was on holiday in Havana. It was a great time with fantastic people. I have felt very much at home! It is also very well located, the food is delicious and it is clean! I miss everyone already!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My 3 friends and I spent 2 nights at Alexis and Mary's casa particular that was in a awesome location to discover habana vieja as well as the rest of the city. The house is very clean and has 2 communicating rooms with a bathroom in between, perfect us being 4 girlfriends. They are both lovely and always have an answer to your problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderful house with my boyfriend where Mary welcomed us wonderfully. She also had sent a man to look for us at the airport! Everything so organised! The casa is located in the heart of Havana vieja and you can go anywhere by foot. The rooms is big with his own bathroom. The casa is located on the 3rd floor of an old building, very typical. When we left, the house, Mary offered us a souvenir, so thoughful of her! Don't hesitate anymore, you won t be disappointed! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexiageneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
5.7 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2

Property: Houses, Alexis and Mary No 1 and No 2
Address: San Juan de Dios # 106, second floor, apartment no 4, between Aguacate and Compostela | Aguacate No 480, first floor, apartment No 1 between Muralla and Teniente Rey, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 696 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homes Alexis and Mary, No1 and No 2, are two beautiful old Colonial houses located in the historical part of Old Havana. It is recommended especially for those who want to know the oldest part of Havana and special for couples, families and young adventurers. The houses are very close to attractions such as La Cabaña, Havana Cathedral, the Church of the Angel, Hotel Sevilla, home of the Bishop of Havana, Bodeguita del Medio, Palacio de los Capitanes Generales (museum), Alejo Carpentier Cultural Center, Museum of Colonial Art, Coffee O'Reilly, El Bosquesito (Cafeteria), El Patio Restaurant, Hotel Mundos Hotel del Tejadillo, Hotel Palacio O'Farrill Havana Capitol, Cafe Paris, Hotel Florida, Bar Monserrate Restaurant La Zaragozana, Restaurant Castillo de Farnes, La Plaza Vieja ... Do not forget to visit us, will be a pleasant experience. We wait for you! We rent six rooms with private bathroom with hot and cold water, Our prices are room for 1 person 30.00 cuc; 1 double bed room for 2 people 35.00 cuc; 1 double bed room for 3 people 40.00 cuc; 1 double bed and 1 staff room for 4 people, 45.00 cuc; 1 double bed and 1 bunk by night, in a colonial beautiful house built in 1940. We have the conditions for our visitors feel comfortable, air conditioning, refrigerator, fan, electricity 110 and 220. Our house is located in the heart of Old Havana, we are surrounded by the main tourist sites in the area such as the Bodeguita del Medio, cathedral, Floridita, museums and squares. Breakfast, dinner, laundry and taxis for airport pickup, 30.00 cuc price, contact us, we expect them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing